We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class
Open today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
42
1
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional market balinese cooking vegetables and fruits wonderful teacher family home satay balinese compound family compound pancakes picked up from our hotel insight ingredients nyoman customs culture skills ubud
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 44 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I booked this through Bali traditional tours, wow what can we say , we met the amazing Nyoman at the market just 5 minutes from his home and instantly felt like we had known him for years so super jolly and chatty we spent time walking around the market , he showed us all local foods explaining everything to us along the way we learnt so much , then we were welcomed into his home we couldn't believe how amazing it was and how much we were made to feel like part of the family, we walked around met family members, even met their pet monkey they had rescued, we sat and enjoyed their coffee and the began the cooking , there was just us 2 which was fantastic, we chopped and prepared all the ingredients that has been all peeled and measured out for us and began to cook, it was absolutely brilliant we chatted and laughed and learnt along the way Nyoman was the perfect teacher helping us and explaining everything , we plated up and sat round the table and the food was out of this world nicest meal we had had in Bali so far , we met his lovely wife and sons , we didn't want the class to end , he welcomed us back if we were to visit Bali again he was so friendly and genuine .

Couldn't say enough good things about our experience , a must whilst your in Bali for a true balanise authentic cooking experience.

Thanks again Olivia and james

Thank livduffy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kDongDing, Owner at KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Dear Olivia and James,

We would like to thank you, for referring our Cooking Class to you and Thank you too for Bali traditional tours.. We are happy to provide our service and experienced to you.
It is our wish that you are bringing home a thousand beautiful memories and the recipe of Balinese food. It gives us true happiness to see your smiling faces.
We wish your experience Bali as an unforgettable journey destination.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again once you are in Bali.

Regards
Kdongding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile

I have been traveling through Bali for almost two months and this has to be one of my favorite experiences so far. It is not just a cooking class, it is so much more. You get to a full culture experience. I have learned more from them than I have from anyone else. They will pick you up and drop you off from where you are staying! They were so kind and hands down the nicest people in the Ubud area. It was my boyfriends birthday and they went out of their way to make a cake and make us feel welcomed. I really love these guys!! If you are looking for a unique experience in Bali, you honestly need to do this!

Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kDongDing, Owner at KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Dear Julia,

We would like to thank you, for referring our Cooking Class to you. We are happy to provide our service and experienced to you.
It is our wish that you are bringing home a thousand beautiful memories and the recipe of Balinese food. It gives us true happiness to see your smiling faces.
We wish your experience Bali as an unforgettable journey destination.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again once you are in Bali.

Regards
Kdongding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile

What an amazing way to spend my last day in Bali! This was definitely the best cooking classes I have ever done. I really enjoyed the tour of the markets in the morning and understanding more about the vegetables and fruits grown in Bali. A lot of the ingredients we also used in our cooking. I loved how friendly Apples and Mr Black were and that I got to prepared and cooked food with them in their family home and meet some of their family. I'm vegetarian so i was so happy that I got to cook Balinese vegetarian food and it was so so tasty! I would totally recommend you to do this cooking classes - I was definitely one of my highlights of Bali.

Thank Grimmerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kDongDing, Owner at KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Dear Grimmerl ,

We would like to thank you, for referring our Cooking Class to you. We are happy to provide our service and experienced to you.
It is our wish that you are bringing home a thousand beautiful memories and the recipe of Balinese food. It gives us true happiness to see your smiling faces.
We wish your experience Bali as an unforgettable journey destination.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again once you are in Bali.

Regards
Kdongding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

What a special experience! Unlike most (if not all) cooking classes in Bali, with Kdongding you get to cook ALL of the 5 dishes yourself, in your own stove and cooking station. Because of this, you can then easily remake it at home, bc you've done everything! :) All of the menu is traditional Balinese food. You also do an extensive tour of a traditional market.

The classes take place inside Wayan and Nyoman's family complex, which means you also get to learn the structure of a traditional Balinese family complex. The cooking space is impeccably clean, spacious and fresh...and of course, everyone is warm and friendly, and they try to make it as enjoyable as possible! HIGHLY recommended.

Thank Nomad230471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kDongDing, Owner at KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Dear Mr/Mrs/Ms,

We would like to thank you, for referring our Cooking Class to you. We are happy to provide our service and experienced to you.
It is our wish that you are bringing home a thousand beautiful memories and the recipe of Balinese food. It gives us true happiness to see your smiling faces.
We wish your experience Bali as an unforgettable journey destination.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again once you are in Bali.

Regards
Kdongding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017 via mobile

You can't tell to have been in Bali if you don't spend some days in Ubud!!but you can't say to have visit Ubud if you haven't cooked real balinese food with nyoman in his family house!the best balinese food of our holiday (And cooked by ourselves!!) And before the class we have had a tour in a traditional market to know all the ingredients of the recipes! But above all you will feel like a part of the nyomang family!i really suggest this cooking class experience..you will love it!it's not a turistic stuff ..is the real Bali!Makasi two neyman!!!

Thank Nicoletta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kDongDing, Owner at KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Dear Nicoletta,

We would like to thank you, for referring our Cooking Class to you. We are happy to provide our service and experienced to you.
It is our wish that you are bringing home a thousand beautiful memories and the recipe of Balinese food. It gives us true happiness to see your smiling faces.
We wish your experience Bali as an unforgettable journey destination.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again once you are in Bali.

Regards
Kdongding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews