We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do Authentic local experience”

KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class
Ranked #5 of 16 things to do in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: K'DongDing Balinese Cooking Class is presented for those people with keen interests in authentic Balinese food and culture. Learn to cook well-known local dishes in a relaxed and friendly environment. Small classes (only 4-12 people) are held in a traditional open kitchen, and led by certified Balinese cooks, making for a highly personalized and rewarding experience.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed November 28, 2016 via mobile

We attended the local market to see the various ingredients.

Followed by being welcomed into the family compound by Twinky the cutest dog.

The cooking school is well set up. We cooked a great menu with a few additions for food we'd inquired about.

The food was delicious and plentiful (we couldn't eat all of it).

Thanks to our wonderful chefs.

Thank Maranne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kDongDing, Owner at KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Dear Marrane,

We would like to thank you, for referring our Cooking Class to you. We are happy to provide our service and experienced to you.
It is our wish that you are bringing home a thousand beautiful memories and the recipe of Balinese food. It gives us true happiness to see your smiling faces.
We wish your experience Bali as an unforgettable journey destination.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again once you are in Bali.

Regards
Kdongding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"traditional market"
in 3 reviews
"real balinese food"
in 2 reviews
"cooking demonstration"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful teacher"
in 2 reviews
"family home"
in 3 reviews
"satay"
in 2 reviews
"balinese dishes"
in 2 reviews
"balinese compound"
in 2 reviews
"family compound"
in 3 reviews
"picked up from our hotel"
in 2 reviews
"insight"
in 4 reviews
"ingredients"
in 6 reviews
"nyoman"
in 7 reviews
"customs"
in 2 reviews
"skills"
in 2 reviews
"school"
in 2 reviews
"ubud"
in 8 reviews
Filter

35 - 39 of 48 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

This was a really great day out... Got to see the local market... Really helpful tour guide who was great fun, excellent spoken English as he had worked on cruise ships, enjoyed making some local dishes in the town in a local housing area, in a well equipped garden kitchen.
Via tours link to this supplier who we booked through, maybe book direct?

Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kDongDing, Owner at KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Dear Daniel,

We would like to thank you, for referring our Cooking Class to you. We are happy to provide our service and experienced to you.
It is our wish that you are bringing home a thousand beautiful memories and the recipe of Balinese food. It gives us true happiness to see your smiling faces.
We wish your experience Bali as an unforgettable journey destination.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again once you are in Bali.

Regards
Kdongding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

If you really want to get in on Balinese culture and food, this is the way to do it. Nothing but glowing remarks for this cooking class and the experience all in all. We were picked up from our hotel by our "guy for the day" Dhono! Right away we smelt the pride for his country pouring out of him. He even stopped to a rice field on the way to give us a little lesson on the ins and outs of rice fields and the labour behind it. His enthusiasm was through the roof. I imagine him as an excellent tour guide. Back on the road and the first stop was the market. Dhono gave us a little tour around the market, telling us about all the local foods and even giving us a taste here and there with the vendor's approval of course. Off to the cooking class we go and we were so excited that it was in a family's traditional Balinese compound. I was dying to get inside one since we first drove passed them, and it was everything I expected and more. Family living side by side with their own beautiful temple. The class was set up really professionally and organized to the T. We had the best time, great laughs and the food turned out delicious as well! We left with a certificate, recipes, and most importantly full! Suksma Dhono!

Thank xtkst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kDongDing, Owner at KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Dear Mr/Mrs/Ms,

We would like to thank you, for referring our Cooking Class to you. We are happy to provide our service and experienced to you.
It is our wish that you are bringing home a thousand beautiful memories and the recipe of Balinese food. It gives us true happiness to see your smiling faces.
We wish your experience Bali as an unforgettable journey destination.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again once you are in Bali.

Regards
Kdongding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

This was a really great experience. Visiting the market first was a wonderful way to learn about local Balinese fruits and vegetables as well as getting a small taste of local life. The cooking class afterwards was amazing we made ourselves a banquet for lunch all of which was very good thanks to our wonderful teacher - I Dhono - his enthusiasm was infectious and I will definitely cook these recipes again at home. Throughly recommended.

Thank cctechOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kDongDing, Owner at KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Dear Mr/Mrs/Ms,

We would like to thank you, for referring our Cooking Class to you. We are happy to provide our service and experienced to you.
It is our wish that you are bringing home a thousand beautiful memories and the recipe of Balinese food. It gives us true happiness to see your smiling faces.
We wish your experience Bali as an unforgettable journey destination.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again once you are in Bali.

Regards
Kdongding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile

A fantastic experience. Cooked and ate a 5 course Balinese meal.
Dhono our teacher made it a lot of fun. Now to go home and repeat the meal for friends.

Thank mikeofadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kDongDing, Manager at KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2016

Dear Mikeofadelaide,
We would like to Thank you , for your candid comments, we are happy to provide our service to you and we are feeling so happy to hearing that you are enjoyed your cooking lesson with us in Bali. It gives us true happiness to see your smiling faces.
I wish your experience Bali as an unforgettable journey destination.

Thank you for your kindness and cooperation, we will use your criticism to render better services to my next client.

we do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again once you are in Bali.

Best Regards

Kdongding cooking class team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class also viewed

 

Been to KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing