We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri-la...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
COMO Shambhala Estate
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Como Shambala is a real shangri-la not far from Ubud, in the rice fields and jungles. You can feel yourself alone and relax. Wellness hotel in everything, great staff, food! Don't forget to visit spa with oil treatment and aqua therapy!:) and highly recommend to taste the cinnamon porridge on the breakfast and all lunch-dinner menu (if you are in love with chocolate - you mast taste "three way of chocolate")! Many thanks to Arjana and Bayu! I were TOO happy in Como together with my husband!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 482 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2010

I went to Como Shambhala wanting to rest, relax and renew, and I wasn't disappointed. The staff provide a genuinely warm and nurturing environment. They will happily organise as many activities in your day as you want, or give you the space to rest and explore on your own. I stayed at the resort for 6 days and only made two trips outside as I really enjoyed doing the complimentary yoga, pilates and hydrotherapy classes.

Highlights - great room with semi-private pool (I was upgraded to a Terrace Suite), beautiful serene location, delicious healthy food, great choice of juices, experienced instructors for yoga, pilates etc

Things to know - there's lots of stairs and slopes to walk up and down, so don't go if you can't manage that especially in the heat and humidity. As you would expect at a 5 star resort, meals are expensive compared to what you pay in a restaurant in Ubud. Unlike most other hotels in the area they do not provide a complimentary shuttle to go into Ubud. Hiring the hotel car is expensive, so ask your PA to book a taxi instead.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea_Girl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

The Estate is huge - gorgeous gardens a priviledge to stay there. We went there for Easter as a short mini health break. We both had consultations with the staff at the start - I liked who I met, but didn't really feel like I got any nuggets of tips. The rooms are fabulous - we were ungraded as we had previously stayed at other Como resorts. Rooms are huge, although not so modern, but they do have newer villas. Food prescribed for me was vegetarian and it was made to look and taste wonderful, although if I was staying longer I would prefer the normal menu which is still healthy. Alot of stairs on this property, which killed my knees. Overall though amazing - good steam, variable massage (Japanese man fantastic), great food and absolutely amazing surroundings. Yoga and pool also recommended. Would definitely stay again because it is so beautiful and relaxing, but would choose a room closer (for the knees and more modern) and go with the "normal menu". Very romantic and relaxing after stressful work environment. Service very good.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ionise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

I did extensive research on the web before selecting this hotel. Having been to Bali twice previously overt the last 15 years, i was keen not to go back to areas I had stayed in before ie. Nusa Dua and Kuta. The purpose of this trip was to completely unwind over the Easter break, without kids and spoil ourselves. This place is amazing. The service and facilities are sensational and the rooms were wonderful. We were upgraded twice over a 4 night stay and ended up in a villa all to ourselves. At a minimum, I would select to stay in the treehouse suite ... it is definitely worth it. The food quality was first class as well .... healthy and very tasty. I will plan to make it an annual pilgrimage now ( if i can afford it ). If you are going to Bali and want to stay in Ubud ( which I'd recommend as a change from Jimbaran bay and Nusa Dua etc ... if you want to relax and be pampered ), then look no further.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

This is my favourite ever retreat ever- bar none. It is such a feast for the senses - beautiful lush tropical and remote surrounds, attention to detail, gorgeous healthy food that nourishes your body + pilates/yoga/tai chi to ground your soul. We stay at the Fire residence - in the Estate Suite - with luxurious yet simple furnishings, natural materials and indoor/outdoor bathroom it is an entirely delicious haven. The generous room + connecting residence [common area/pool] alone is hard to leave... but a wander through the grounds opens the heart to a bounty of natural splendour. An in-house picnic down by the river/ponds is a must.

Yes, it is remote, so if you are after a holiday filled with cafe culture you may want to look elsewhere. Ubud itself is seriously fruity... so be warned that there are lots of kaftan wearing yogi's about + this is the Bali epicentre of natural culture - galleries, organic's etc. Here, I doubt you will want to venture much outside of the confines of the estate... especially when armed with a good book and a thirst for introspection. Seminyak: way more sophisticated that Ubud with an abundant of boutiques and galleries is only an hours drive away for day trips. Personally, I recommend it for personal escapes, romantic interludes, and short injections of peace and tranquillity.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateHockly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Firstly, at the CSE, be prepared to never leave the resort. It's in the middle of the Begawan Giri bush, and you won't need to drive out for anything!

The room was great - each room is part of a residence, and you share a pool with only a few other rooms. The only thing I didn't like about the room was the wooden toilet seats. It reminded me of cruise ship toilets. Some rooms have their own bale, which is a really nice touch to lie out and read. However, if lying amongst bugs and other creatures of the insect world is not your thing, you might not need this option.

It's extremely peaceful everywhere in the resort - the pathways in and out of your residence are quite dark - so you will have to watch your step and watch out for frogs.

The Spa is probably one of the best in Bali. There are spa pavilions built into the cliff, although the trek to these pavilions is not for the unfit. Walking up the uneven path back to the main resort grounds and residences can be quite tiring as it is very steep.

There are 2 restaurants on the estate grounds - Glow & Kudus House. Glow offers a health menu, while Kudus House offers indonesian food. Generally I found the food mediocre and a bit bland, but if you are looking for a place with extensive health options, then the CSE will certainly be able to cater to your gastronomical needs.

In a nutshell, the CSE is THE perfect getaway for those looking for the ultimate health & wellness getaway. You will feel completely refreshed after your stay!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myWei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Begawan Giri for a 3 day "Rejuvination Package" (incl. all meals, 3 spa treatments, transfers, etc) from 14 January this year. We were thoroughly enchanted with this romantic and secluded retreat at the edge of a rainforest and overlooking the Ayung River valley.The bridge access to the resort has now been repaired.
Our suite / pavilion was a separate "garden' room (most basic accomodation) - part of the Uma Bona house / compound at the very end of the resort. It had an entry verandah with large day bed and outdoor dining table for 2. The very large bedroom with high raking ceilings had a huge central 4-poster bed with muslin drapes.
This opened into a large bathroom with vanity basin and claw-foot bath (windows each side opened up to the views). Beyond was the outdoor screened shower and outdoor screened toilet. The wide sliding doors opposite the bed could be completely opened to the rainforest views and a large outdoor deck with 2 recliners. A few steps down lead to a 25 metre infinity-edge swimming pool with waterfall. This was shared between 3 other garden pavilions - but although we were aware of neighbours occassionally we had the pool to ourselves each time we used it. There was a TV in the room but we preferred to watch the squirrels leaping from tree to tree.
Privacy is paramount - guests seem to stay in their rooms until participating in activities. Many guests appeared to order room service meals. A shame, because the food in the Glow Restauant was fantastic - based on 'raw food' principles. It was fresh with lots of salads - but not strictly vegetarian with tuna, prawns & steak also. The Wagyu beef was sensational - like butter! Breakfasts are extensive and taken in the adjacent Kudos Restaurant - a relocated 18th century Javaneses pavilion. Both restaurants open to the jungle like treehouses.
Our personal assistant, Adhi, was efficient, friendly and very pleasant without being servile or imposing. He was available at all times to transport us up / down the only road from our room to the main facilities. However, unless it rained (occassionally) we preferred to walk. All of the staff were tremendous and friendly.
There is a schedule of 4 free activities per day e.g. yoga, pilates, tours, aquarobics, etc. We found yoga classes with Dr D and Christina particularly enjoyable.
The spa treatments were sublime with a strong recommendation to try the 2-hour salt scrub / massage. This was provided to my wife and I by 2 female staff in a private pavilion hanging over the river valley half-way down the hill. Afterwards we were so relaxed we followed the sacred waterfall down to the river where a number of pools had been dammed. We were able to swim naturally, under the waterfall in privacy. A number bale pavilion with towels are dotted about the jungle.
This retreat is like heaven (or like heaven should be) and perfect for anniversary (like ours) or other special occasion. It is not cheap but the value is apparent during your stay. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank stevegloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
4.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 200 in Ubud
1,119 reviews
25 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
2.7 mi away
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Hanging Gardens of Bali
#6 of 10 in Payangan
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
COMO Uma Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud
#14 of 200 in Ubud
1,455 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Shambhala Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Shambhala Estate

Address: Banjar Begawan, Desa Melinggih Kelod, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#2 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range: $490 - $1,158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Shambhala Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Shambhala Estate is a residential health retreat with luxury villa-style accommodations near Ubud, Bali. This ‘Retreat for Change’ is a place to relax and improve wellbeing. State-of-the-art wellness facilities include a Vitality pool, private treatment areas beside the River Ayung, a climbing wall, gym, Pilates studio and yoga pavilion. The Estate’s Resident Experts, who all support the 360-degree approach to wellness, include a Yoga Master, Ayurvedic Doctor and guides for outdoor activities, with nutritional menus by COMO Shambhala Cuisine. The range of suites and villas, perched above the Balinese jungle, suits independent guests, couples, or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your COMO Shambhala Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Como Shambhala Estate Hotel Payangan
COMO Shambhala Estate Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing