We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
COMO Shambhala Estate
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Retreat”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great location, facilities, friendly staff etc etc.

Not so great for the lone travellers as its a huge estate so you rarely see other guests to mingle.

Ideal for a couple wanting to chill out on their own ...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    38
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
33
216
67
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We spent an amazing five days at Como to detox and take some time to recharge the batteries. We were not disappointed. An amazing experience. Fabulous staff, nothing was too much trouble.

We chose to endure the five day raw detox, two days of juicing only followed by raw menu for the remaining three days. The food was absolutely amazing. The variety of delicious dishes that they concocted from just vegetables and fruit was incredible. We lost weight and felt incredible at the end of our detox! It was very strange to be sitting down to dinner in a restaurant and not have any wine or champagne! We made it and felt so much better for it!

We partook of all the activities available, yoga, pilates, meditation, acupuncture, massage, lymphatic drainage, facials, aqua therapy. All performed by very efficient and knowledgable staff.

We had a fantastic two bedroom villa with a large lap pool with the most spectacular view ! There are many stairs to get down to the room but it is well worth it.

Planning to go again this year and want to return twice a year in the future.

Room Tip: Two bedroom villas gorgeous, with lap pool and outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astylishlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

i went to como shambhala in late april for their well being program for 6 days. the property is amazing, situated right next to the river so we could hear running river all the time. there is a perfect combination between activities and relaxation. we stayed in the resort for 6 days and didn't feel bored for one single moment. our personal assistant, TinTon, made our stay perfect. he is attentive, detail oriented, courteous and very friendly. Our holiday would not have been so perfect if it wasn't for him. the estate is great for different kinds of visitors, solos, couples, friends and family. i would love to come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fannyzqw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

So this hotel is absolutely stunning! Customer service is great and the setting is gorgeous. The highlight of my trip was the massage in the special cabin facing the river and the scenery. Not only it was ABSOLUTELY beautiful place but also, the BEST massage I’ve had!! (Note: I am a spa fanatic and I have at least 1-2 massages every time I travel). Highly recommend to spend the money in getting a massage here if you decide to stay here. If you want the private cabin with the view, just be mindful of the many steps to get there!!! (It is worth the effort though!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank facchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is an amazing property, the setting is breathtaking and is enhanced by beautiful accommodation and facilities. A perfect combination of relaxation and sufficient activities to allow you to ease into a different state. Spa treatments are wonderful and the personal assistants at the ready to coordinate every element of your stay. The first time we have been so busy relaxing we have needed a PA. A well thought out menu supports the experience and if I had one minor criticism it would be the coffee - I guess if you are the there for a wellness program that isn't an issue.
This is truly a special place and we can't wait to return

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoLevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Incredibly beautiful location, exceptional professional yet friendly service, michelin star healthy food, real personal assistant service, stellar spa. Como Shambala proves that it can be done in terms of what they say the can deliver. Pure relaxation and rejuvenation. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

It was our first trip to Bali and we were looking for some quite place for practicing yoga, some sport activities and relaxation after noise and anxiety of a big city.Como Shambala gives us much more.From the first second of our arrival they take care about us as we were those absent children who came back home.We stayed at Wasudara villa and it was most private villa in my travel experience.We have real hindu temple right near and actually i would say this villa have very good position exept the view ( you can see just a peace of rice field,but resort is hidden in the jungle,so you can enjoy jungle view from restaurant area or choose another villa).We book"Be active" program and was very happy with it. Our personal assistant Karti care about schedule and improved it according to our wishes.The best ever restaurant you can imagine!!! Great choice of bio products and best compilation of them i have ever tried in all kind of european health retreats and clinics.The food is unbelievable,haute cuisine,tasty and healthy! And you don't have to be strong enough,because everybody eating the same way and nobody asking you if you want wight bread, or beer ..or whatever is bad ( but they have of course fish and meat too).All kind of fruits and veggies ( what is not common in Bali).
We we so happy to find a great yoga teacher.Try even if you never did it before , its a pleasure to practice with native yogi. Budi.we miss you and your smile! Me personally was very happy also that resort has perfect pilates equipment and very professional trainer.Amy was very kind and attentively care about my injury,so on my way back home i find out a letter from her with personal training system!Spa was very good too.And we have nice trekking around the aria.But the person who broke our hurts was our driver Rana. Every time i saw his smile i was thinking about my favorite personage in Shantaram. Rana's smile is full of real love and real hospitality.He invite us to his house introduce to his family and later brought to real hindu ceremony.It was Balinese life,covered from us by all this tourists attractions and agencies .We fell in love with this people this place and keeping there smiles in our memory.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
0.2 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 9 in Payangan
826 reviews
4.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#8 of 198 in Ubud
1,033 reviews
5.4 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Payangan
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
COMO Uma Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud
#13 of 198 in Ubud
1,343 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hanging Gardens of Bali
2.4 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Shambhala Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Shambhala Estate

Property: COMO Shambhala Estate
Address: Banjar Begawan, Desa Melinggih Kelod | Payangan, Ubud, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
#2 Spa Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Shambhala Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Shambhala Estate is a residential health retreat with luxury villa-style accommodations near Ubud, Bali. This ‘Retreat for Change’ is a place to relax and improve wellbeing. State-of-the-art wellness facilities include a Vitality pool, private treatment areas beside the River Ayung, a climbing wall, gym, Pilates studio and yoga pavilion. The Estate’s Resident Experts, who all support the 360-degree approach to wellness, include a Yoga Master, Ayurvedic Doctor and guides for outdoor activities, with nutritional menus by COMO Shambhala Cuisine. The range of suites and villas, perched above the Balinese jungle, suits independent guests, couples, or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your COMO Shambhala Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Como Shambhala Estate Hotel Payangan
COMO Shambhala Estate Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing