We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Heaven on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
COMO Shambhala Estate
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This resort/retreat really is the best place we have stayed to date ever.

The location is amazing, the rooms are beautiful, the staff are just truly brilliant and the food is to die for. We stayed for 4 days in April and really wished we could have stayed for longer.

It really is a health retreat designed to rest and rejuvenate...the spa and retreat amenities are excellent and well-run...and this is the kind of place where you don't leave the grounds for the duration of your stay. It's NOT a place to stay if you are planning on exploring Bali/Ubud every day. Honestly, in order to make the most of this place, you need to stay within the premises and take full advantage of the amenities on offer.

There's really not a lot more I can say than repeat and highlight the other great things that the other TripAdvisor contributors here have said about this place.

Hats off to Paul and his team for making our most recent trip to Bali the best ever!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerardWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L L, General Manager at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear MacauGerard,

Warmest greetings from our little paradise in Banjar Begawan.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at COMO Shambhala Estate and for sharing such wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

It is so nice to hear that we have contributed to making your most recent trip to Bali the best ever. We do hope that you will stay with us longer next time so that you can discover more of what the Estate has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Estate soon for more rest and rejuvenation.

Kind regards,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 475 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

We came to Como Shambhala having stayed down the road at the Four Season at Sayan. The service at Four Seasons was exceptional. My wife and I did not think things could get any better but the service and the environment at Como Shambhala Estate is another level higher altogether. We stayed in the amazing Como Shambhala suite in the residence Wanakasa1. The room was intimate, homely and comfortable. Very natural and private. There was an amazing Personal Assistant called Agung. He was a godsend. He organized buggies, restaurant reservations, booked activities and excursions, transport, tourist advice and even checked the weather for us on the other side of the island. We just spent the whole time relaxing and turned up when we needed to. At short notice, he was also able to procure surprise flowers and a cake for my wife's birthday. My wife is gluten free and at every meal, this was noted and freshly baked bread was always available. Choice of two restaurants. Food was high standard and healthy. Spa was amazing. The architecture was zen like and blended in with the surroundings. Peaceful and relaxing. Amazing Como Shambhala signature massage. Best massage I ever had. At airport there was someone to greet and meet us and to carry our luggage, guide us through the airport and fast track us through immigration. What service!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L L, General Manager at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Sam L,

Warmest greetings from COMO Shambhala Estate.

We would like to thank you for sharing such a generous review of your stay at the Estate.

We are so pleased to hear that we were able to exceed you and your wife’s expectations. We’re also happy to hear that you were able to experience the COMO Shambhala Suite at Wanakasa Residence. Meaning ‘Forest in the Mist’ in Sanskrit, the Wanakasa Residence is truly magnificent – I always like to think of the Suites there as luxurious tree houses perched above the Ayung River gorge.

We hope that your wife had a wonderful birthday celebration. Agung, myself and the team at COMO Shambhala Estate very much look forward to welcoming you and your wife back home soon and hopefully to celebrate your birthday in a truly exceptional setting.

Kindest regards,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

On our third visit to the lovely estate, we decided it was our best. The staff, the service, the privacy--all unparalleled. Having brought a couple of first-timers this time, we were finally able to fully express just how gorgeous this estate is. In the past, my mere explanations and photos did not do justice--one must see it to full understand the scope of just how beautiful it is. Now at least we have witnesses to our non-stop bragging about the place. They too agreed, its hard to put into words. A guest may be tempted to simply stay near the solitude of their own pool, but for my wife and I its all about the gorgeous walk through the 20 acre manicured garden (for lack of a better term) down to the amazing Spring Pools. Here, we never tire of the panorama of flora and fauna that surrounds you. Spoil yourself and arrange for your massage to be given in one of the hillside bales. A truly indulgent experience, and when you open your eyes you will be convinced you are still dreaming. Here at home, we continue to dream of the Como Shambhala Estate. Bravo!!

Room Tip: The Terrace Suites at Wanakasa and Titra Ening are our favorites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L L, General Manager at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Wayne D,

Warmest greetings from the Begawan Village in Central Bali.

We would like to thank you for continuing to return to COMO Shambhala Estate - it is always such a pleasure to welcome a familiar face back home. We would also like to thank you for introducing your first timer guests to the Estate.

Without question I would have to agree with you just how special the Spring Pools at Kedara are. Between the pristine air, fresh spring water, gorgeous vistas and a delicious picnic lunch there really is nowhere else you would rather be.

Happy COMO Shambhala Estate dreaming and we look forward to welcoming you back home to the Estate soon but latest next year.

Kindest regards,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We went here in April and stayed for four days three nights. The place was beautiful ....the manager Paul was friendly and very helpful. The check in was never been a hassle. The room was beautiful and it has its own terrace facing lush green, I felt in love with the place right then. It is almost magical to wake up and see the nature around you. The landscape is immaculate yet appears very natural n not looking too "groomed".

One thing I would also commend is the the food quality. It is excellent quality, healthy and yet very delicious. All the food was sourced locally, freshly made . Before I came I thought I am going to be eating like a rabbit due to healthy concept ....but I was wrong. We were always so looking forward to try new menu and to discover.. Every meal was a reward.
Other than that we tried the spa and the hydro therapy. .it is good for people who are not flexible, it is easy to follow n relaxing. ....
In this place you can spend a week and don't get tired of it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnimaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L L, General Manager at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear AnimaBella,

Warmest greetings from COMO Shambhala Estate at Banjar Begawan.

It was such a pleasure to meet you during your stay with us at the Estate.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and and so glad that you were able to enjoy our delicious COMO cuisine and did not have to feel like a rabbit and very excited to learn that you were able to experience the treatments at COMO Shambhala as well as our Hydrotherapy treatments. I am a big advocate of our Hydrotherapy Circuit Instruction as well as the personalized one-on-one Joint Mobilizing Massage Hydrotherapy treatment. I find it so interesting how water has mechanical effects and how our nervous system reacts to the pressure exerted by moving water.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Estate on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back home sometime in the near future.

Kind regards,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The last few days of our honeymoon were spent here at The Estate and it was an experience that we will never forget. We stayed in The Bayugita Residence with it's own private garden jacuzzi, outdoor bathroom and an infinity pool to beat all others.
The private, in residence dinning was just perfect for two newly weds with the magical sounds of the forest all around and a deep sense of peaceful calmness - it is hard to capture in words just what an incredible experience The Como Shambhala Estate is. You just have to see it for yourself.
The naturally beautiful setting is matched by incredibly attentive staff, delicious food and stunning accommodation. Pack your trainers as the Estate walk early in the morning is a must and the pilates and yoga studios "encourage" you to a healthier start to your day - bliss.

Room Tip: The Bayugite Residence is stunning and in our opinion the nicest of all the residences, with a beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian13100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L L, General Manager at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Gillian13100,

Warmest greetings from COMO Shambhala Estate and the island of the God's.

Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us. We are pleased to learn that your experience at the Estate has contributed to an unforgettable honeymoon.

Meaning ‘Windsong’ in Sanskrit, the Bayugita Residence combines the simple lines of Balinese tradition with details from colonial Java. I’m glad to hear that you had a delightful experience at our COMO Shambhala Suite in the Bayugita Residence. With beautiful vistas, a private Jacuzzi and outdoor bathroom area, it has become the favourite of many of our guests.

We hope to welcome you back home to the little Paradise in the near future to celebrate with us another special occasion.

Kindest regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Your mind will be blown. Just do it, everyone should experience the magic of this place... every part of my experience here was unparalleled in all my travels to date.

Mika & Dika- the most amazing personal assistants
Santi- Exceeded our expectations in helping us plan an amazing retreat for our group
Paul (GM)- Popped in to say hi during every dinner, and to make sure all was well. Very nice touch.
Erika (F&B Manager)- Personally served our group and ensured every meal was perfect (and they were)- exceptional

You guys are the best at what you do, and deserve all the accolades you have gotten thus far. Why isn't CSE #1 ranked in Bali on Trip Advisor? I'm baffled.

Thank you to all the amazing staff, and to all the people who had a hand in creating this one of a kind place on earth. The rooms, villas and residences are all mind blowing-ly beautiful, seamlessly and elegantly blended in with its pristine grounds.

Top notch- don't hesitate...book your stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yoga_chikitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L L, General Manager at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear yoga_chikitsa,

Thank you for your most generous and uplifting review of COMO Shambhala Estate.

It was such a pleasure to have you and your group staying with us at the Estate. I am delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time and that our team was able to deliver to your expectations.

It makes it much easier when you are passionate of what we believe and are doing and having the privilege to leave in Paradise and being surrounded by such beautiful nature!

All of us at the Estate look forward to welcoming you back home for another truly memorable retreat in the coming year.

Kindest regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went to Como Shambala as two couples, running away from the stress associated with Corporate lives. The place did not disappoint. Starting with the airport visa experience to the day we left the hotel staff did everything possible to accommodate us. The resort does not do justice to the beauty of the place. I also encourage you to walk the property 9 hectares in total. The steep stairs will make you break a sweat but will reveal the most enchanting vistas and relaxation spots which feel as if you are the first human that ever came to the spot (disclosure I’m a sucker for “manicured nature”). I always say that when something goes wrong is when you can truly see the commitment to customer service. On our last dinner in the hotel we ran into the issue of a waitress with poor language skills - although I’d say that her English is far better than my Balinese and I was in her country. This resulted in a series of minor incidents, which we thought would tarnish our feelings about the place. But, once more senior staff realized what had taken place they immediately took corrective action; even adjusted our bill accordingly which we were not expecting.

The only aspect that I suggest the hotel should improve is the concierge service. Not sure how the others concierges are but ours was pretty much useless to us. We didn’t need someone to say hello every morning (everyone else did that) we needed someone to find out what we wanted to do during our stay (in/outside the CS Estate) and assist us by making arrangements accordingly. The hotel taxi service is also pretty up there. Nice cars, uniformed staff but about USD35.00/hr. We got the same service (no uniform if that matters to you) for USD35-40/day from a driver from the city. Not that I encourage you to leave CS Estate a lot during your visit, but now you know.

Do go! I doubt you’ll be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Bayu Gita 2 and 3 - BG2 is more private. That way each couple had some privacy - i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L L, General Manager at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Boris M,

Thank you for your sharing your experience with us at COMO Shambhala Estate on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you were able to find refuge from the corporate world at the Estate. We are very fortunate to be located in an environment that is still so pristine - amongst the jungle of the Begawan Village and right by the Ayung River. I’m glad you had the chance to explore the property through our Estate Walk. As well as getting a good a work out, the walk really allows you to explore every corner of the property.

Thank you for your feedback regarding our personal assistant service. As well as the activities and services offered within the Estate, we do encourage guests to explore physical and cultural activities around the island. Our Activities Manager, Mark Chaves, and our team of Guides are readily available to offer suggestions and recommendations for things to do and see around Ubud, the surrounding villages and the island as a whole. They are also able to create tailored tours which caters to your particular needs and interests. Please do accept our apology if this was not communicated to you during your stay with us. We will most definitely look into ensuring that our personal assistants are more proactive in communicating to our guests.

Thank you again for your review and valuable feedback, and we look forward to welcome you back to the Estate in the near future.


Kindest regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
4.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 199 in Ubud
1,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 10 in Payangan
949 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Hanging Gardens of Bali
#6 of 10 in Payangan
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
3.1 mi away
COMO Uma Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud
#13 of 199 in Ubud
1,440 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Shambhala Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Shambhala Estate

Address: Banjar Begawan, Desa Melinggih Kelod | Payangan, Ubud, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#2 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range: $534 - $964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Shambhala Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Shambhala Estate is a residential health retreat with luxury villa-style accommodations near Ubud, Bali. This ‘Retreat for Change’ is a place to relax and improve wellbeing. State-of-the-art wellness facilities include a Vitality pool, private treatment areas beside the River Ayung, a climbing wall, gym, Pilates studio and yoga pavilion. The Estate’s Resident Experts, who all support the 360-degree approach to wellness, include a Yoga Master, Ayurvedic Doctor and guides for outdoor activities, with nutritional menus by COMO Shambhala Cuisine. The range of suites and villas, perched above the Balinese jungle, suits independent guests, couples, or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your COMO Shambhala Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Como Shambhala Estate Hotel Payangan
COMO Shambhala Estate Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing