We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All elitist superlatives apply.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
COMO Shambhala Estate
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“All elitist superlatives apply.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

All elitist superlatives apply: sublime, gorgeous, exquisite. It should come as no surprise that it's crazy expensive. Yes, you can get a massage cheaper in Ubud. But what you're paying for at Como is the whole package: an excellent massage in an incredibly well designed environment where literally everything (including the toilet bowls) are pretty.
If you're willing to pay for it then go for it, and let it take you away. The rooms are not rooms, they are villas. You will feel like a rock star here. We did the yoga and mediation classes and those were excellent and accessible. The food was outstanding, not only healthy but very delicious.
Our only complaint was the 'upselling'. The staff never stopped asking us if we wanted more: dessert? more drink? massage? -- even after we declined. It seems they should find a classier way to do this.

Room Tip: I think they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L L, General Manager at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Lauren R,

Greetings from COMO Shambhala Estate at Banjar Begawan.

It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed our Yoga and Pranayama Meditation classes as well as our COMO Shambhala Cuisine during your stay at the Estate. We’re also very happy to hear that you had a delightful experience at our COMO Shambhala spa. I hope that you were able to experience a massage in one of our treatment pavilions by the spring pools at Kedara, our Water Garden. The open-air treatment rooms with views of the Ayung gorge truly takes the experience to another level.

Thank you for sharing your feedback in regards to our team’s manner of communication. We highly appreciate your input and will be sure to review this further with our team.

I hope to welcome you back to the Estate in the not too distant future.


Kindest regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    38
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
29
213
65
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
389 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I am staying currently at the Uma Ubud,the Shambhala Estate's sister hotel (also by Com see my review). I visited the Shambhala estate today for Sunday brunch and what an experience it was.
The hotel is simply stunning built as it is on the top and side of a gorge. The views are breath taking and the site itself is just stunning You really have to see it to appreciate it (and I am sure that we only scratched the surface with our post prandial wander). Being built on the side of the gorge does seem to mean a trek from the lower rooms but golf buggies are available at reception to help the infirm and the obese it appears.
The estate is large and I think there are more rooms than at the Uma so probably it is not quite as intimate and personal as the Uma although the staff, as at the Uma, are a delight and polite to a fault.
The brunch was staggering and those who read my reviews will see that I have reviewed a number of Brummy brunch spots, as well as those in London well this knocks a UK brunch into a cocked hat! Not a buffet but proper sit down with each dish cooked freshly for you there were about 50 to choose from each being just enough for two people.
Just perfect and nicely balanced I could not fault it and with a bottle of wine a sweet plate and coffee a lovely way to while away a few hours on a Sunday afternoon.
Was it expensive? In a word yes but then again luxury usually does cost and compared with the Chedi in Oman this was a walk in the park!

Room Tip: We visited for brunch but stay near the top as the walk looks steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L L, General Manager at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Nick W,

Thank you for your wonderful review of COMO Shambhala Estate, in particular of our Sunday brunch at glow.

Accompanied by the sounds of gamelan orchestra and traditional Balinese dancers, the Sunday brunch is quite a special occasion at the Estate. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the atmosphere and the cuisine. I hope you were able to try my personal favourite from the Sunday brunch menu - the Spiced buckwheat crepes with orange scented ricotta, grapes, sultanas, pine nuts & raw cacao sauce - just to die for!

We are so pleased that you were able to experience both Paradieses of COMO Hotels and Resorts’ properties in Bali and we hope we will get a chance to welcome you back home to The Estate and Uma Ubud in the near future.


Kind regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Before I start, I would like to say that I wasn't keen to come here. I am not the type of person who can relax easily and I'm not a health fanatic. However, the property was highly recommended by friends and although the price was/is expensive, it truly is a 5star plus total experience. We would absolutely recommend this experience to anyone who needs to unwind, be pampered, treated in a professional and warm atmosphere and who loves food!
Our whole experience here has been perfect- even when we had a problem with our booking and we were getting stressed, the Manager assured us there was NO problem and all was fixed! This was all done in a blink of an eye and without us having to get involved.
Service like this in today's market is rare.
This property, it's staff and management truly understand what hospitality is and they deliver it with a smile.
There was/is nothing to complain about except perhaps, the lack of a cookbook to purchase with Comoshambalah recipes.
We stayed in a basic room which was lovely and shared a lap pool with 3 other rooms but there are pools everywhere here and staff who find you wherever you are!
I could go on and on but I won't- check out the website and believe what you see. This magnificent property and its wonderful team have created a truly relaxing Garden of Eden.
We shall return... Helmelbourne

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L L, General Manager at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear helMelbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your delightful experience at COMO Shambhala Estate on TripAdvisor.

We are so pleased to know that we were able to provide an ideal environment for you to unwind and relax. We are also so glad to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations with regards to service quality.

You will be happy to learn that COMO Hotels and Resorts’ Group Executive Chef, Amanda Gale, is currently in the process of publishing a cook book. We will be sure to let you know once it is available at COMO Shambhala Estate.

The whole COMO Shambhala family look forward to welcoming you back home to the Estate again soon.


Kindest regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Great place to get away! The estate Is truly amazing- pools, waterfalls, trails, yoga, and great food! Staff was very friendly and accommodating, and was also easy to take day trips from here! Very expensive, but undoubtedly a great place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L L, General Manager at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear NMH16,

Warmest greetings from Begawan Village.

Thank you for your kind review of COMO Shambhala Estate.

We are delighted to hear that you were able to experience so much during your stay with us – from our spring pools, the waterfall, the Estate walk, yoga and the cuisine at our restaurants, glow and Kudus House. We are also so pleased to learn that the Estate’s location was a convenient starting point for your day trips.

We look forward to welcoming you back home to the Estate in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Me and my husband joined for a 5 -night detox program during our Chinese New Year holiday at the COMO Shambhala Estate. Our original goal was just to evade from the massive amount of tourists leaving China, and the result turned out to be excellent!

It honestly took a very long time for us to reach the resort from Shanghai. By the time we sat in our room it already passed midnight. I was generally satisfied with the room: bigger than I thought, shower has amazing water flow and pressure, and I got a small bunch of flowers next to our bed. The comfort ness of the bed was fine but I felt the pillows could be a little softer.

The next day we met with our program advisor to discuss personal requirements. We then started our treatment on the same day with " clean food" just to ease our way in to the hard-core juice-only diet later. The food they have there was excellent even for someone as picky as me: fresh, healthy and in big variety. It turned out this " clean food" menu didn't help at all to decrease our appetite because I wanted to try every dish on the menu.

Other than focusing so much on the food you can easily busy yourself by doing different kinds of activities. We mostly did yoga , Pilates and walking around the beautiful area. We rode bikes to the main road once but it was a mistake because the empty at night roads turned bustling busy during day times. It wasn't fun when we had to endure noise under the scorching sun. The worst part was on the way back it was endless uphill ride. We were so late in the end for our massage appointment we had to pay a big van to bring us back. I guess what I'm trying to say is that staying within the resort is more than enough for us. It's so beautifully full of green you really don't need to look for anywhere else.

When our trip was closing to an end we felt physically revitalized but so much calmer and peaceful in our minds. I learnt that living a healthy life doesn't need super-science and can be done on your own. I'm very thankful to have been to COMO for this important trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirKimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L L, General Manager at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear SirKimmi,

Thank you for your review of COMO Shambhala Estate.

We are so pleased to hear that you were able to find peace at COMO Shambhala Estate. We're also very glad to learn that you enjoyed our COMO Shambhala Cuisine. Developed by COMO's Group Executive Chef, Amanda Gale, COMO Shambhala Cuisine is designed to maximize personal performance, increase concentration and energy and calibrate blood-sugar levels. Chef Amanda is currently in the process of writing a cook book - we will be sure to keep you informed once it has been published so you will be able to continue enjoying our cuisine in your own home.

We highly appreciate your feedback about the bicycling trip. We will be sure to discuss this with our Activities Team to find alternate routes that are more secluded.

We would like to thank you for your stay with us and hope we will get the chance to welcome you back to the Estate in the near future.


Kindest regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pereybere
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

thank you for this days in como it was the best days we spent in bali. at the beginning we thought something is different in this place something is not right but everything was right. the food was excellent i changed to vegetarian i did not know that you can cook so well with vegetables. we ate once in ubud and got a schok that and questioned us why we go away from this very god food in como..the nutritian coach Anna was really helpful with her tips for loosing weight we lost already two kilos.
the personal assistance by Martini (very helpful and patient with all our demands)
was really a new experience in assistance and helping.
the spa was very good all the therapies from highest standard.
the yoga the aqua gym the pilates all very professional and very nice and helpful. we learned from everybody something new which we remember and brought home.
thank you for this experience we will come back keep this track this is the future in holidays

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L L, General Manager at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Andreas R,

We are the ones who would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and furthermore for taking your time to write this wonderful review of the Estate.

At COMO Shambhala Estate, we aim to help individuals find a sense of peace through the continuous process of learning and rebalancing, aided by special environments, specific knowledge and healing therapies. We believe that this proactive approach, and commitment to the process of life-long learning, allows guests to make changes to their lives, supported and inspired by specialist staff. We cannot be happier to learn that this was achieved during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back home to the Estate in the near future.


Kindest regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have recommended to most of my friends and saying how relaxing i was during the stay at Como Shambhala estate. Due to the stress having in the city, shambhala gave me peace and quietness, and most importantly, special thanks to Eka, my personal assistance during the stay.
Food is nice. Environment is nice. People are nice. I'd love to come back! =)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borealisaurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L L, General Manager at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear borealisaurora,

Greetings from Banjar Begawan!

Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased to learn that COMO Shambhala Estate became your sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of city life and that you have recommended the Estate to your friends.

We will be sure to relay your message to Eka, and we hope that we might welcome you back home to COMO Shambhala Estate very soon for some more rejuvination and peace and quiet .


Kindest regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
4.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 9 in Payangan
811 reviews
5.4 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Payangan
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 198 in Ubud
1,847 reviews
3.1 mi away
COMO Uma Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud
#14 of 198 in Ubud
1,323 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Shambhala Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Shambhala Estate

Property: COMO Shambhala Estate
Address: Banjar Begawan, Desa Melinggih Kelod | Payangan, Ubud, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#2 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Shambhala Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Shambhala Estate is a residential health retreat with luxury villa-style accommodations near Ubud, Bali. This ‘Retreat for Change’ is a place to relax and improve wellbeing. State-of-the-art wellness facilities include a Vitality pool, private treatment areas beside the River Ayung, a climbing wall, gym, Pilates studio and yoga pavilion. The Estate’s Resident Experts, who all support the 360-degree approach to wellness, include a Yoga Master, Ayurvedic Doctor and guides for outdoor activities, with nutritional menus by COMO Shambhala Cuisine. The range of suites and villas, perched above the Balinese jungle, suits independent guests, couples, or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your COMO Shambhala Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Como Shambhala Estate Hotel Payangan
COMO Shambhala Estate Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing