We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb experience”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to take a break from seminyak. The hotel, rooms, service and scenery are all superb. One struggles to think what they could do better. I especially liked the individual pool villas, which provide pure relaxation in absolute privacy. Staff go out of their way to be helpful. Travellers should realize that there is not much to do around the hotel, but there are plenty of tours to keep oneself occupied. Overall a wonderful experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank micha_roch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    251
    131
    58
    41
See reviews for
143
1,039
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We may be biased because we got engaged while staying at this beautiful hotel but it is one of the most fabulous places we have ever stayed. The location is just wonderful, about 20 minutes outside Ubud in the jungle, you can't help but relax the moment you arrive. The villas are massive and we loved the private infinity pool. The restaurant is wonderful, with a varied menu and exemplary service, in fact the service throughout, from every single member of the team, was brilliant and really made our stay. We were greeted by name by most members of staff and everyone we came across was unfailingly friendly and could not do enough to ensure we enjoyed our time in Ubud. We highly recommend the romantic dinner in the Hindu temple across the valley, which was made particularly special by the excellent service we had from our chef for the evening. The spa is also fantastic and provided the most relaxing location for a massage imaginable. One tiny niggle is that the complimentary toiletries in the villa lacked the luxury factor you expect from a hotel of this quality (with the exception of the lovely Balinese soaps).

Room Tip: Villas higher up the valley have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greentraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed there for one afternoon. Had a great lunch on the lower terrace, excellent steak but greasy pizza. Service is a bit slow as they only have one kitchen. Enjoyed a typical balinese dance presentation and jumped in the beautiful infinity pool. Atmosphere is amazing, you instantly relax and feel the weight of nature with all its sounds, jungle plants and trees. There is a gorge torrent running below the hotel and small monkeys chill around the gardens.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Interstellar55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent the last few days of our holiday at this lovely hotel in the jungle just outside of Ubud. The service was outstanding as was the meal experiences. We watched as another couple was escorted to a private floating deck on the pool and were envious that we could not also have that experience, but unfortunately we left the next day. The rooms are large and the pools as beautiful as on the website.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top have an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

we spend 3 nites in there. Hotel is hiding in the montains. our room was at the top of the hill, had the best view over the temple accros.

I think may be because of the hotel in right in the middle of the montain, so it is very moist within the hotel. The 1st nite, the beding was a bit damp and smells wired. I had red itch next morning. Then they ve changed the beding next day.

we never got a chance to use the pool, because it was a bit cold. but it was very nice and clean pool.

the hotel only have one place to eat, but the view is great as well.

staffs are nice and PRO.

And it is about 30mins to get in the ubud city.

Room Tip: Room 10 11 can with better view, but as it close to the cableway so it can be noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny_pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, and this was the place where our honeymoon ended. It was nice to wake up early morning and take a bath in your personal swimming pool right under your feet. food of indian taste & market nearby made it easier to get back to india after 15 days long honeymoon.

Room Tip: take a room with the personal swimming pool...the higher you are nicer is view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SinghiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Exceptional, breathtaking, fantastic, and even more... My English vocabulary is missing the words to describe this hotel...
The service is exemplary, every details are so well-considered and we just had a wonderful time. Definitely in the top 3 hotels I have ever stayed at. I strongly recommend it - perfect place to relax and escape from the busy- crowded center of Ubud

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pcandolfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
6.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#8 of 198 in Ubud
1,034 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 9 in Payangan
826 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Payangan
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 198 in Ubud
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Gardens of Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Gardens of Bali

Property: Hanging Gardens of Bali
Address: Desa Buahan, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#6 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanging Gardens of Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanging Gardens of Bali is a luxurious destination in the heart of the jungle. It is situated near Payangan, a village North of Ubud, whilst the hotel rests in the centre of the magical island of Gods. The enchanting five star luxury resort has 44 private suites and individual villas, each enhanced by its own granite infinity pool, rippling into the jungle below. Each villa is designed with traditional Alang Alang thatched roofs in complete harmony with nature. In 2014, TripAdvisor and Conde Nast Traveller named our Twin-Tiered Cascading Pool as the World's Best Pool and number one honeymoon destination in Bali by Conde Nast Traveller. In 2015 Hanging Gardens of Bali has been awarded: World Luxury Hotels Awards, Seven Star Global Luxury Awards and World Travel Awards as well as other prestigious recognitions, such as the World Luxury Spa Awards and the World Luxury Restaurant Awards. The renowned Garden Restaurant serves innovative Indonesian dishes with Asian flare and Mediterranean delicacies flavoured with the local herbs and spices grown on the land and freshly-caught fish from the Jimbaran Bay. The truly luxurious Spa Collection combines natural, local ingredients and ancient techniques to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energize the soul. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanging Gardens of Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hanging Gardens By Orient-Express Hotel Payangan
Hanging Gardens Ubud
Hanging Gardens Hotel Ubud
Hanging Gardens Of Bali Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing