We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate in privacy without being within concrete walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was our first stay here and our first stay in Bali and i went with a more secluded setting for my wife and I to start our Bali trip. This was magnificent, staff were very friendly and exceptionally helpful and the quality of this experience was amazing.

For those considering on booking ask for room #45 as its right at the end of the row of villas and right in the middle of the path that the monkeys take to come home at night and leave for the morning. We sat outside in the Bali hut at 7am in the morning and watched the monkeys leave for the day as they jumped from tree to tree and then made their way onto our balcony and in and out of our pool for a quick swim. it was amazing and we got some really close up photos, like 1 metre away. then in the afternoon at around 6pm we say again in the same spot and there must have been 20 monkeys come and play and swim on their way home for the day and they stayed for at least 40mins.

Food was great, cocktails were great and the trek we did down the hill, across the river and up the otherside to the temple was excellent (albeit i didnt know it was going to be that far and up so many steps, i recon 500 of them). Well worth it though as you sit at the temple and look back over the Hanging Gardens and reflect on the reason why you chose this as one of the best experiences you can have at a hotel.

Room Tip: See above, room #45 so you can watch the monkeys play
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank trimat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 1,587 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I have traveled all over the world, and we have enjoyed many fine hotels. I must say that we found the Hanging Gardens to be one of our favorites. We stayed for four nights and loved our villa and infinity pool. I took the cooking class and was so impressed with the patience of the chef and our foray into the local market. I not only learned some of the basics of Balinese cooking but also gained some insights into the culture of the local village. My husband and I had dinner at the nearby Hindu temple one night and found the evening to be truly enjoyable, a memory we will have forever. Hanging Gardens is unique not only for its setting but also because of the caring, attentive staff. You will not find a more pleasant, hard-working group of people. This is truly a place worth visiting. If you want to stay right in Ubud, you would sacrifice the uniqueness that the Hanging Gardens offer. You will be about a half hour from downtown Ubud--a small price to pay for the wonderful experience offered by this Orient Express site.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sherry5459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have traveled to 40 countries and YES, Hanging Gardens is one of the BEST hotels I have ever stayed in. Words can't describe it. The villas and infinity pools that hang over the gorge are unbelievable! The grounds with the tram are so unique . We didn't want to leave the hotel! Ask for room #25 - perfect end unit for privacy! The variety/quality of food is wonderful and the spa is superb! The secret dinner at the temple is a MUST! One of the coolest experiences ever! Tea time is a fun experience after a long day. The entire staff from the management, waiters and spa are so welcoming - they all know your name and treat you as a VIP! Please seek out Mae, the guest relations manager. She is warm and lovely, treats you like an old friend and pays close attention to detail. My husband and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary and she made it extra special. Also, Please take time to wander or bike through the villages near by - you will find peace in the rice paddies, temples and the kindness of the villagers.

Room Tip: choose room #25 (end villa) for ultimate privacy and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annburnsesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

What can I say that has not already been said about this world class hotel ? Not much, so I will no doubt repeat what others have said.
Superb hotel in a sensational setting. Service that leaves similar hotels behind and a truly unique location. The food is also some of the best food I have tasted. A glorious 4 days in our villa with infinity pool. We'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the Ubud Hanging Gardens in a Riverside Pool Villa (Room 64) in early Oct on a Luxurylink package. Looking at the pictures of the double-storey infinity pool and the open air spa on the hotel website made us really anticipate the trip, and most of the resort lived up to expectations.

Do note that you are 40mins (by bus) out of Ubud Central and almost 2hrs from the airport at Denpasar. The location of the resort in the village of Payangan is on a extremely steep mountain in the middle of the lush rainforest, with the villas spread out along different rows. We were staying on the same level as the cafe (where afternoon tea takes place) and the spa. The restaurant and bar, pool and library were 3 mins away by funicular.

Upon check-in, we immediately felt a sense of calmness which lasted throughout the stay. The staff are extremely polite, always greeting you (mostly by name) with a warm smile. We were especially impressed by Eka who showed us around the resort,Jumi at the restaurant, Tari (sp?) at the reception and Yumi at the spa.

The villa's 'private' pool is actually not that private and it is more of a wading pool. We could see into our neighbour's pool and our pool had direct line of sight from the cafe, which was fortunately quite far away. We saw that there were complaints about the temperature of the pool, but to us it was definitely bearable once one got over the initial chilliness. We even swam in the morning with mist rolling around the forest opposite.

The rest of the villa is quite nice but I would agree that it is slightly dated, I understand that the resort has been open for 7 years now. Don't worry everything works fine and we slept very well, so actually this is not a compaint but an observation. I would suggest changing the TVs in the rooms to newer models like the LED series though.

We had breakfast every morning in the restaurant and tea in the cafe, and found them to be very pleasant. We also had dinner twice in the restaurant (one of which was inclusive in the package) and also enjoyed ourselves. The presentation of the dishes were surprisingly elaborate and we especially enjoyed the milkshakes and the mocktails (Lemongrass Sprite). Special mention also for the tomyum bisque and the soybean cracker/keropok which were superb.

We also had an enjoyable experience at the spa. The Balinese massage, coconut/rice body scrub and flower bath took place in an open-air pavilion and the masseurs were very professional.

We realised that the main 'complaints' in TA about the resort are about the distance from Ubud and also that some of the staff are rather 'pushy' about recommending additional activities. We did time our excursion to Ubud such that we could take the hotel shuttle there and back. We had dinner at Mozaic one night (highly recommended btw!) and had a private arrangement with a driver to send us back for IDR100,000. The hotel charges USD15 for one-way car service. We also went for the Ayung river rafting which the hotel outsources to Sobek, which is highly recommended. All in all, we did not experience any negative service on these two aspects.

All in all, we will remember the days we spent idling in the pools (both private and the main one) and in the room. We loved our stay at the Hanging Gardens and would recommend it for couples who love slowing down their pace of life on vacation.

Room Tip: Request for a room away from any public facility (e.g. cafe or restaurant) so that you are not distu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kingoasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

After the 2+ hour drive from Jimbaran Bay we were welcomed by the staff at Ubud Hanging Gardens. Each villa has a "private" pool and most face the river valley. Our room had all the necessities and was clean. It does take a while to get around the property since its built into the hillside and there are 2 inclinators to take to get to the lobby (or you can take the steps). We did enjoy tea time with small bites to eat, and a balinese massage at the spa. Our massage room was open to the outside so you could hear nature. The breakfast buffet was nothing special but they did provide a good range of food. We arrived when they opened and the food was all cold :\ Dinner was much better with warm and delicious food. I would not recommend driving the hilly road at night to Ubud for dinner. The hotel does provide bides to ride through the local villages and an hourly shuttle during the day to Ubud Center.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at Ubud Hanging Gardens and we had the most amazing time. It's all about service. This is a very boutique hotel with private villas and as a result the staff was very attentive and anticipated our needs. They helped us with everything that we needed and I feel like we got personalized service (unlike at a large chain hotel). The experience made me fall in love with Bali and I would definitely return here again (even though I avoid going to the same places twice). Oh, breathtaking views in every place of the hotel and very good breakfast and SPA. Just loved, loved the overall experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OlgaFKyiv_Ukraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
6.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 199 in Ubud
1,104 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,291 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.6 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 10 in Payangan
949 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Gardens of Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Gardens of Bali

Address: Desa Buahan, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
#6 Spa Hotel in Payangan
Price Range: $547 - $988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanging Gardens of Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanging Gardens of Bali is a luxurious destination in the heart of the jungle. It is situated near Payangan, a village North of Ubud, whilst the hotel rests in the centre of the magical island of Gods. The enchanting five star luxury resort has 44 private suites and individual villas, each enhanced by its own granite infinity pool, rippling into the jungle below. Each villa is designed with traditional Alang Alang thatched roofs in complete harmony with nature. In 2014, TripAdvisor and Conde Nast Traveller named our Twin-Tiered Cascading Pool as the World's Best Pool and number one honeymoon destination in Bali by Conde Nast Traveller. In 2015 Hanging Gardens of Bali has been awarded: World Luxury Hotels Awards, Seven Star Global Luxury Awards and World Travel Awards as well as other prestigious recognitions, such as the World Luxury Spa Awards and the World Luxury Restaurant Awards. The renowned Garden Restaurant serves innovative Indonesian dishes with Asian flare and Mediterranean delicacies flavoured with the local herbs and spices grown on the land and freshly-caught fish from the Jimbaran Bay. The truly luxurious Spa Collection combines natural, local ingredients and ancient techniques to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energize the soul. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanging Gardens of Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hanging Gardens By Orient-Express Hotel Payangan
Hanging Gardens Ubud
Hanging Gardens Hotel Ubud
Hanging Gardens Of Bali Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing