We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Bali honeymoon retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The perfect Bali honeymoon retreat”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon and were so pleased with our choice!

We had initially been a little worried about the distance outside of Ubud but this really wasnt an issue due to the free shuttle service and the number of activities you can plan from the hotel. On arrival we were struck by how beautiful the hotel is, and how proud all of the staff are of it. We were given lovely arrival drinks and shown around, before being taken to our room. The bath was prefilled with petals and every detail had been thought of for us.

The view from the room (and from basically everywhere in this hotel it seemed) was stunning. We stayed in a panoramic deluxe villa, and our view from bed was of our private infinity pool, the canopy of trees beyond and the beautiful temple across the valley. We even saw a monkey walking along the edge of our infinity pool from the bedroom!

When we arrived, I want very well, but the staff were so attentive and helpful, getting medications for me, driving us around when I wasnt up to walking and generally taking extremely good care of us. All the food was delicious and the atmosphere in the restaurant perfectly relaxed and intimate without being too intimidatingly quiet. And taking the funicular to tea lent a quirky edge which we loved. Not quite so sure how much they enjoyed me singing " Funiculi Funicula" every time we got on it, but no-one seemed to mind too much.

We would (and have already) highly recommend this hotel for honeymooners/couples. Would also particularly recommend the cooking lesson they can arrange for you, which is excellent value for money and just a short walk away in an idylllic garden with a lovely pool.

All in all, a lovely hotel with excellent staff and a stuning location.

Room Tip: We loved our panoramic deluxe villa. We would recommend trying o get a room as high up (close to rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RBarlow85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,027
    248
    131
    57
    41
See reviews for
140
1,033
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Having stayed at the W Hotel Seminyak we were hoping for a bit of a change in our second hotel. They are worlds apart. Hanging Gardens is like something out of a historical novel. Everthing about it is quirky. We loved the novelty of the funicular (hillside lift) and our panoramic pool villa was really lovely. The bathrooms are a little dated but as its an older property that's to be expected. Everything was spotlessly clean and we really liked the outdoor bathtub which we used a few times. The light in the bathroom is not sufficient for applying makeup though and the lit up magnifying mirror is nothing short of scary! We found our pool too cold to use which was disappointing. We woke up one morning to find a monkey washing himself in it though which was very exciting for us (probably less so for the monkey:) Eating in the restaurant was a delight. The food was excellent especially the Baba Guling (roast suckling pig) and the desserts were to die for. The food is reasonably priced to such good quality which helps make up for the coast of wine in Bali. The spa is definitely worth a visit. So restful with the sound of the river. The staff in the hotel were amazing, so smily and welcoming. We loved Yumi in the spa and Wiki in the restaurant especially. The walk to the temple is worth the fairly steep walk ( very slippery in the wet too) We were treated to a long chat with the holy man.
The hotel being 30 minutes on scary narrow roads from Ubud is a minor irritation. We stayed three nights which I think is sufficient.

Room Tip: We had villa 51 which is near the restaurant and bar, handy when the funicular breaks down. Almost c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elsie18a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Definitely worth every cent! The air is so crisp, atmosphere is relaxed and the view from our villa (Panoramic View Deluxe Pool Villa) was magnificent. I would recommend it for honeymooners and lovers. Not a place for families unless the children are a quiet bunch who will not disturb the peace. Very friendly and warm staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KARENANNECHOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have never felt like royalty nor have I since, when we went to Ubud Hanging Gardens. This was somewhere I wish to visit again. It is situated in a secluded moutainside, which is great, getting away from the hustle and bustle of bali. This is not somewhere i would recomend if you want to be in the heart of ubud though.
It is for those that want complete peace and tranquility.
We had our own heated (though we did have to ask to switch it on) infinity pool which was to die for and the room was exotic. The thing I loved about our room was the fact that everytime you left your room, someone discretely comes in and rearranges your room into a completely different art form. The drapes and the bedding is remade and a little card with a qoute. Everything is done with perfection. Don't stress though they are thoughtful of your belongings.I loved it. Felt like the secret garden.
The Restaurant: OH MY GOD, best food ever. I have never tasted perfection like this. We also were lucky enough to have the dinner for two and the temple 5 courses and desert followed by a blessing and foot massage. Perfect place for couples, especially for proposals or anniversarys. I would suggest to the males out there if you wan to impress or to have a romatic gesture. Consider doing the temple dinner. You will never forget it.

Room Tip: Try the highest ones more privacy and to the right of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank triploverBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We went here to enjoy the view while having our afternoon teas.
Service was excellent.
Tried the unique tram/elevator.
This place hard to find and the sign its kind of small from the main street.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhendTsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I'm sure the resort doesn't need another review saying the same things : the resort is perfect, the food is delicious, the staff are super friendly, personable and helpful, we had the best time in our lives during our stay there, we didn't want to leave, we were SO sad leaving the resort, everything was just incomparable after those 3 amazing days and 2 incredible nights we had there, everything was just a "downgrade" after Ubud 'Heaven' Gardens!!

But I'm still here, writing it! Because I'd sincerely like to tell you guys, if you're thinking of booking a room in this resort, don't!!! Don't just 'thinking about it', but just DO it! Book it! Minimum 3 nights... (I learn from my mistake... 2 nights didn't just cut it!)

Pictures don't do enough justice. The resort is much more beautiful than that.

Don't sweat about small stuff.... Bugs: Remember to close the door! I guess its the same applies to uour own house... Close the windows, close the door, dont let the bugs in. Mosquitos: Wear the mosquitos repellent, the whole time. For prevention and no worries. Its in a tropical 'jungle' (more like hilly foresty village) Expensive prices: It's still cheaper (or if not the same) as the prices in where you're from. You can't always expect to pay 80cents a meal, just because it's in 3rd world country. The finishing touches are up to a high standard. Monkeys: Watch out at around 2-4PM... They're moving from one tree to another (what a silly sentence, ha!) - looking for food. Don't feed them! As cute as they look. They're still wild animals.

The only thing though, it is far from Ubud city centre. If you haven't been to Ubud, and would like to explore the city centre (Monkey Forest, cheap spas, traditional dance performances, bars...), then you'll prolly need to stay more than 3 nights!
3 nights to just stay in the resort and be amazed (you'll feel like hugging the floor, the staff, the trees, the infinity pool, the bed, the sun beds, the lift, the library, the bathroom, ...), then another 2 nights to explore Ubud city centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lilandy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Hotels don;t come more unique and beautiful than this one.
The location on the side of a jungle hill, overlooking the valley and a temple are breathtaking. I had a Panoramic Villa and could have past the entire day away just looking at the view.
The restaurant is very good, although a bit pricey. Then again I did the most expenisve thing they had which was the Secret Temple dinner. It was very nice and very romantic. Not often you can have dinner setup just for two people at a jungle temple surrounded by candlelights. Followed by blessings from a local Holyman and then foot massages by the river. Major brownie points.
It's quite far from Ubud as some of the other reviews have noted. About 30 mins at least. The shuttle stopped at 5:30pm which is a little silly, but taxis are pleantiful and cost about $12.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave_O_the_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
6.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,021 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,080 reviews
3.1 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Payangan
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 9 in Payangan
814 reviews
7.0 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 198 in Ubud
1,849 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Gardens of Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Gardens of Bali

Property: Hanging Gardens of Bali
Address: Desa Buahan, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#6 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanging Gardens of Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanging Gardens of Bali is a luxurious destination in the heart of the jungle. It is situated near Payangan, a village North of Ubud, whilst the hotel rests in the centre of the magical island of Gods. The enchanting five star luxury resort has 44 private suites and individual villas, each enhanced by its own granite infinity pool, rippling into the jungle below. Each villa is designed with traditional Alang Alang thatched roofs in complete harmony with nature. In 2014, TripAdvisor and Conde Nast Traveller named our Twin-Tiered Cascading Pool as the World's Best Pool and number one honeymoon destination in Bali by Conde Nast Traveller. In 2015 Hanging Gardens of Bali has been awarded: World Luxury Hotels Awards, Seven Star Global Luxury Awards and World Travel Awards as well as other prestigious recognitions, such as the World Luxury Spa Awards and the World Luxury Restaurant Awards. The renowned Garden Restaurant serves innovative Indonesian dishes with Asian flare and Mediterranean delicacies flavoured with the local herbs and spices grown on the land and freshly-caught fish from the Jimbaran Bay. The truly luxurious Spa Collection combines natural, local ingredients and ancient techniques to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energize the soul. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanging Gardens of Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hanging Gardens By Orient-Express Hotel Payangan
Hanging Gardens Ubud
Hanging Gardens Hotel Ubud
Hanging Gardens Of Bali Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing