We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Totally out of this world"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jiwa Klusa Luxury Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jiwa Klusa Luxury Villa
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Totally out of this world"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived on Sunday 1st. September. From the moment we were collected from the airport by Putu, with ice cold water and face cloths for the drive to Jiwa Klusa, we were greeted with the warmest of welcomes by the staff, and taken to our Luxurious Villa with breathtaking views, our own private plunge pool, lush gardens and private kabana, we felt like we had arrived in heaven. Our spacious spa bathroom with semi out door shower, king size bed with glorious soft white bed linen, a TV ( rarely watched) and coffee making facilities homemade biscuits (delish) we drew the drapes back to the most beautiful backdrop of colour you could ever imagine to see. Sat in our lovely comfortable arm chairs sipping tea whilst the air conditioner worked it's wonderful magic. From there we went to have our free 30 minute foot massage, which turned into another 60 minute full body massage, before returning to our villa for a cocktail and swim in our pristine, sparkling fresh spring water plunge pool! Did I mention the restaurant! OMGosh the food is amazing!! Eddie the chef is a total genius! We ate nowhere else for the 10 days we holidayed. The breakfast a total feast of fresh seasonal fruits, eggs, sausages, tomatoes, bacon, croissants, raisin buns and a toast that is so soft yet thick and smothered in the lightest of honey syrups you have ever tasted!!! Freshly brewed coffee and a pot of tea for everyone's liking. Dinner in the evenings is a work of art! Your taste buds danced with each and every mouthful of food!! EXQUISITE. On our final evening we had dinner at our villa, the staff set us a table out in our garden, when we opened our doors to our villa we were greeted with hundreds of candles lighting the way to our table, and our pool had been covered in red flower petals with floating heart shaped flower arrangements and candles all around the perimeter of the pool and gardens. It was a breathtaking scene, like being in a movie, only better!!! There is nothing you could want for, all the staff are truly amazing, you do not lift a finger to do anything other than sightsee, relax, eat, drink, and swim, The car was always ready, pristine clean with chilled water on hand for yet another guided tour, or just to be dropped off in Ubud for a wander, then as planned picked up precisely on time each and every time! In our life time ( 60years) we have never been treated as wonderfully anywhere else. We felt like a king and queen. Nothing was a trouble. The ambience of Jiwa Klusa is unforgettable! The facilities are first class! It is truly an experience of a life time. Will definitely be returning in the very near future. We cannot thankyou enough. Ms. Pamela.

Room Tip: As mentioned we had a private one bedroom villa with our own pool, however the other villa's we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ella054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    27
    6
    7
    9
See reviews for
11
73
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nantes, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at jiwa klusa in September for our honeymoon. We loved to be The bedroom was perfect with a nice waking vue on the private swimming pool! Very nice jaccuzzi also. We've a free massage for our arrival. My wife enjoyed the yoga. Excellent restaurant and very nice cook. We have gone to the market and cooked with him. It's 15min drive from Ubud but it's really easy with the shuttle and the road passed near magnificent rice fields.
We found that this hotel is really good to relax. Very kind staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouchot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Staying in Jiwa Klusa is a great experience... The villa is new and clean. the staffs are friendly and accommodating. good value...Spa was great on the top of rice field. The room are luxurious, spacious and the atmosphere is amazing. Free shuttle to Ubud,drive only 15 minutes and the drivers on hand to drive you for exploring your day in Ubud centre.
Breakfast is awesome with a range of local and western choices. Unfortunately we didn't have dinner there which we would have loved to as the menu looked delicious.
The staff are very helpful and arranged our daily tours and transfers, nothing was too difficult.
Overall it was a pleasure to stay there and we would not hesitate recommending the villas to anyone.

Room Tip: For the ultimate experience, choose the villas with the private plunge pool and gavebo
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed at Jiwa Klusa for 7 nights in August. It's a great spot. Only recently open, everything is beautifully presented, from the luxurious bedrooms to the delicious food in the restaurant. We were a little tentative at first as there weren't many tripadvisor reviews, but thankfully we went anyway and were glad we did.

Staff were very friendly and attentive. The location is nestled in the rice fields, roughly 20 mins outside of Ubud. A free shuttle takes you into Ubud and picks up regularly so getting in and out is no problem.

There is lots to do, we tried rice field trekking, the Balinese cookery course, visiting the local elephant park for a ride on the Sumatran Elephants and a visit to the Monkey park. A bike tour is always great fun and the temple visits are nice and peaceful. Nice pool too and if you have pool villa, you even have your own little pool and private walled garden.

One of the staff accompanied us into a local ceremony that happens once every 5 years (a village cremation) which was very interesting to see how the local people keep their traditions.

All in all we had a very enjoyable stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hey_funboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

A great spot to unplug and relax. 20-25 minutes from the centre of ubud, overlooking a rice field and close to local villages. There is a free shuttle service to ubud and drivers on hand to drive you wherever you would like to go for a fee. The individual villas/rooms are luxurious, spacious and well equipped. Immaculately maintained by the friendly staff.

Suitable for couples wanting to relax and unwind, there are some steep steps so perhaps not suitable for children. Not suitable for those seeking lively nightlife/ entertainment.

The staff are friendly, the food is good, especially the breakfast. Would recommend the cooking lesson, the walking tour of the rice paddies to the holy water temple- reasonable fitness and good mobility required here- and the spa for some pampering.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel is located quite distantly from the center of Ubud. If you are not looking for quietness, you dont want to stay here. The hotel also has only 6 rooms.
The room layout is weird, the tv set is beside the bed!?!! It is spacious but not so functional.
The bathroom is very nice - love it!
And lastly the spa is fantastic - magnificent view of rice field and competent therapist. We got special price as well from the hotel - good value for money!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Jiwa Klusa is a brand new hotel in the middle of the rice terraces, 20 minutes from Ubud (by car or motobike). We stayed there 5 nights and we fully enjoyed our stay (we were the 2nd guest to stay at the hotel)! I have to say that eveything was just perfect: very nice staff, free welcome massage at the Spa, wonderful brand new villa (huge bathroom, rooms are clenead twice a day) and very nice restaurant and good breakfast. There is a free shuttle that can take you to Ubud whenever you want. The swimming pool is also very nice. We particularly appreciate the location since the hotel is located in a peaceful area close to little villages and there is less less traffic. We higlhy recommend this place that is now ready to welcome a lot a new guests!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen0885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
1.9 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
4.1 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#27 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jiwa Klusa Luxury Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jiwa Klusa Luxury Villa

Property: Jiwa Klusa Luxury Villa
Address: Desa Kelusa | Payangan Ubud, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jiwa Klusa Luxury Villa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name Jiwaklusa comes from the Balinese word 'jiwa' meaning soul and this is combined with the name of the surrounding village. Therefore, the property is the soul of Kelusa village, a place with positive energy where guests can come to recharge on a physical and spiritual level. Kelusa is known for a holy grey stone that is displayed in a local temple. The name of the village actually derives from this piece of stone as 'klau' refers to the colour grey and 'se' means white. It is believed that the revered priest, Rsi Markandya, passed through the village many centuries ago on a spiritual journey. There he saw this particular stone turn red and start to vibrate thus moving him to name the temple Hyang Api (God of Fire). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Jiwa Klusa Luxury Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jiwa Klusa Luxury Villa Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing