We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, I question the value for money...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taman Wana Villas and Spa
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, I question the value for money...”
Reviewed December 12, 2010

First off, I must be clear... we only came here to have a look, having read about the hotel. We stayed for a drink in the restaurant and had a quick look round. We did not spend the night.

The setting is lovely - very beautiful, but very, very isolated!

When we first arrived, the gentleman at reception didn't understand we just wanted a drink, so we found the restaurant ourselves.

The waitress spoke very halting English, but was very pleasant.

Quite a few of the items we tried to order off the beverage list were unavailable, including a lot of the juices.

I used the toilet facilities by the swimming pool - not clean, flush not working, smelt not clean, there was a cheap bottle of handsoap by the washbasin but no towels, so you left with wet hands, also no garbage bin in the bathroom area.

The swimming pool water was not at all clean and looked very murky.

The views from the rooms are spectacular, and from a brief glimpse inthrough the windows the rooms looked very nice.

For the prices quoted for rooms, I'm not sure it would work out at value for money. However, the setting is spectacular and for one night - if you have your own transport, I think it might be nice to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FCR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    21
    7
    6
    8
See reviews for
12
51
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. Altough this place is quite expensive and in that way quiet, it is a very good place to stay a couple of nights. The rooms are fabulous and the balcony are really fantastic. We had a blue lagoon villa and those balcony's are overlooking the mountain and lake. We were with four persons and they simply placed 2 extra beds in the room at no extra charge. Also the swimmingpool is very nice, with a poolbar and a fantastic view on the mountains. We only had one bad experience with the food. My meat was not OK. This can happen in restaurants with a low turnover due to low occupancy. But of coarse this was not allowed to happen as I could have become sick of this, spoiling my holiday. But they corrected it instantly, and I received many appologies. After we left the hotel I found out that my pre-payment was not taken into account at check-out. After a phonecall they brought the cash-refund personally to Lovina. That's proper service! But the main attractions of this hotel are the environment (views) and the very nice villas.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElKrieko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Taman Wana looks great: beautifully designed villas, where special attention has gone out to designing the interior. The villas have nice balconies either overlooking the lagoon or rice fields (in the rainy season). Nothing wrong there.

However...the service and the food are very poor: the staff cannot speak English well, many products were out of stock and the menu features only a small selection of very, very standard Indonesian recipes. The problem is that the terrific design and atmosphere of the villas are severely brought down by this - therefore my neutral/average rating. Too bad!! If this would be changed I'd give it an Excellent rating.

  • Liked — Scenery, design, interior
  • Disliked — Food, Service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank arnidepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

This hotel is very isolated, it is 2 kms from Palasari, village of little interest. There is a big catholic church and we were told the village is Christian, it appears quite well-off and middle-class. As the area is not touristically developed, there are no restaurants, no taxis, no shops. Having stayed at Ubud previously, we had to call the hotel to ask them to come and pick us up ($60) as nobody in Ubud knew where it was or was willing to drive the 2h 1/2 - 3 hours to get there.
The rooms are beautifully done, the bed is comfortable, look rather like a cabin in a luxury sailboat. Bathrooms could do with a better ventilation as the humidity of the shower stays and it ends up stinking. Don't know how well it will age. Staff could barely speak English (with the notable exception of a lovely, smiling young woman at the restaurant). The biggest failure of this place is the restaurant (but seeing the review for December, maybe they have changed the cook), it was the worst we had in Bali. It was pathetic to start with and quickly became depressing, especially since there is no other option but to eat there.. Prices are of course high but the quality is not there, it is completely tasteless. "indonesian" food had no spices, one dish was vaguely Chinese, another one supposed to be Thai-inspired and there are "European Specialities". As an appetizer, everyone gets a basket of garlic bread - just what one goes to Bali for...! We told the operations manager the first evening that we had been disappointed with our meal as it had been tasteless. Next day, we got extra chili powder on all our dishes ! We thought we would catch up on breakfast and even that they could not get right., toast and eggs they can handle but forget about the rest. On the website, we had seen there were many activities, such as treks in Bali National Park, no prices were indicated.
We took the "trek" tour to Bali Barat at $ 75/head. Expensive but having come this far for the park, we thought it would be silly not to do it. We were driven (by two people who stayed at the entrance of the park and waited for us) to pick up a Park Ranger (Yuli) who was very friendly, informative and happy to show his "domain" to tourists because they understand the need for preservation. He had a camera with a very lens and as we strolled (no trekking!) through the mangrove, evergreen and monsoon forest, he pointed out numerous animals and plants. We crossed several other rangers leading small groups but no one had one of these long lens and frankly they would not have seen much without them. We were driven back after about 2 1/2 hours and served a (bad) lunch. The ranger was extremely nice but we are talking about a gentle stoll through some woods, not a trek and the outing is nowhere near worth the $ 270 it cost for the 3 of us (taxes included). If they charged $ 100/car (for up to 4-5 people) and did away with the useless lunch, they would still make a very handsome profit. After this we did not do any other outing. Having booked - and paid - for 4 nights, we left after the 3rd. This hotel is Bali-owned and run and we would have liked to say positive things about it but our experience was not good. If you want to see the national Park, Pemuteran is probably a better base.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — the restaurant
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roudoudou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2007

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel in the past, and re-visited it this Christmas/New Year (06-07).

We have been visiting Bali since the early 80s and this hotel is located in probably the only area of the island (the west) which remains virtually untouched by mass tourism. Yet, it also has this stunning, very 21st century, hotel.

On a hillside location, with spectacular views over the surrounding rain forest and a huge lagoon, the rooms (villas really) feature traditional 'Alang-Alang' roofs and the hotel is influenced by classic Balinese design.

Yet the 21 century appears in the form of satellite TVs, DVD players, mini-bars, private balconies in every room and a stunning 'borrowed-scenery' swimming pool.A cdouple fo the villas also have their own pools.

There's open-air and indoor restaurants serving Balinese and 'Western' food; cooked and served beautifully.

The staff (all locals) are friendly and efficient.

A real get-away-from-it-all place to relax.

But, and this was one of the things that, to me, makes Taman Wana, very special, is the way the owners have tried to make the hotel environmentally and ecologically-friendly (and apparently have just received an award from the Indonesian government for doing so).

Perhaps more importantly, in an area where there is relatively high unemployment, money from the hotel goes into a variety of grass-roots projects involving the surrounding villages and villagers.

Not cheap, rooms/vilas start at around US$250 a night (but that's the rack rate and 'deals' can be done, particularly in the rainy season). But worth every penny.

  • Liked — Views and size of rooms and balconies
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Grade99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negara
23.6 mi away
Medewi Bay Retreat
Medewi Bay Retreat
#1 of 4 in Negara
150 reviews
9.8 mi away
NusaBay Menjangan by WHM
NusaBay Menjangan by WHM
#2 of 4 in West Bali National Park
93 reviews
17.3 mi away
Sea Medewi Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Mimpi Resort Menjangan
Mimpi Resort Menjangan
#2 of 3 in Banyuwedang
337 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Menjangan
The Menjangan
#1 of 4 in West Bali National Park
674 reviews
10.6 mi away
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taman Wana Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taman Wana Villas and Spa

Property: Taman Wana Villas and Spa
Address: Jalan Taman Wana No. 1, Palasari | Melaya, Negara 82252, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Negara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Negara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taman Wana Villas and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mountainside retreat located on the edge of the Palasari Reservoir, near The West Bali National Park, 90 kilometers from Ngurah Rai international airport. Built on 8 hectares or 20 acres of naturally landscaped rain forest land, overlooking the reservoir, lagoon, mountainous valley, terraced paddy fields and distance Java sea. Each room is surrounded by naturally landscaped tropical rain forest with 180 degree view from large glass window. Entrance to the villa courtyard is over a suspended wooden bridge that enhances the feel of a unique architectural design achievement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taman Wana Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Wana Villas Hotel Negara
Taman Wana Villas And Spa Bali/Negara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing