We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing”
Review of Medewi Bay Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Medewi Bay Retreat
Tolmie Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“relaxing”
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We had booked this through a special promotion and didn't know what to expect. We had a 2 bedroom villa which was huge and very comfortable. The staff were lovely and and very helpful. The pool was fantastic and we spent many days floating around on the pool toys provided. The beach was a 10 min walk but there were lots of dogs about. Was great to travel around on local bemo and meet the locals. The food was delicious at the restaurant or you could cook in your villa if needed. We had a great stay here for a very cheap price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zaramojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    52
    34
    8
    7
See reviews for
46
61
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2009

This is one holiday I can say I thoroughly enjoyed. I reccomend this place to couples who, would like to stay in a place totally secluded from all the usual Bali hype that you can get tired of so quickly.

The staff is genuinely friendly and caring, they really treat you like family. All credit to the resort manager Mr Alex, who does such a great job.

The restaurant is poolside and very nice with a quaint bar and excellent food. They have a nice massage pavilion by the pool. The masages are reasonably priced and relaxing.

Rooms are very spacious with studio, one bedroom, two bedroom and three bedroom accomodation. The hotel has ten rooms. The pool is cozy and nice, we spent hours wiling away our time here with a can of Bintang Beer.

The hotel arranges for tours around the island at competitive rates, I highly reccomend the snorkeling trip to Menjanin island, its the best you'll ever do in your life.

This hotel is reccomended for people who want a quiet holiday, After seven days here my mental slate was absolutely wiped clean and I felt renewed an refreshed. we will definately go back to this place again. Soon!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank the_moleMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

My patrner and I stayed for a week at the Medewi Bay Retreat, in order to relax and recharge our batteries. We didn't know what to expect but were very impressed when we arrived. We were not looking for a large, busy resort and this was perfect for us. Less than a dozen rooms, which were amazing. Separate living/bedroom areas, large balcony, thatched roof, traditional decoration. Resort was very quiet (all the time), very secluded, we were the only people by the pool for the majority of the time. The staff were fantastic, always genuinely friendly and very attentive. Food was great, served any time of the day and very resonably priced.
The resort is a long way from many things but tours are available from the desk. We liked the resort so much we didn't feel the need to do many tours. We did a snorkelling tour arranged through the resort to the north-west corner of Bali. We have been snorkelling in Thailand & other parts of Bali and this was the best snorkelling we have ever done. We were the only people around, besides our personal tour guide and driver. All the fish just ignore you (unlike being mobbed by hungry fish at places where tourists feed them) and go about their business among the amazing coral.
The beach is a bit of a trek (10 minute slow walk), is black, glittering sand which is beautiful and secluded. The water is not for swimming due to tides and there was a bit of rubbish around but that was the only down side.
We have never been to another resort where we have left feeling so recharged and relaxed.
This resort is not for people who want an active, action packed holdiay but for those who want to laze around the pool, reading a book while drinking lots of the local rum then this is the place for you. Perfect for Honeymooners.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank StephAndRandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2008

My wife and I were searching for a timeshare in Bali and blindly stumbled on this gem. The retreat really is a retreat...far away from the hustle and bustle of any other tourism location in Bali. this was our first stop, and frankly, it utterly spoiled us for the rest of our trip. We loved this place so much that we did not enjoy Ubud or Seminyak afterward.

Medewi Bay Retreat has gorgeous ground and lovely apartments, centered around amazing gardens and a fabulous pool. You walk outside and head 500m toward a dramatic black sand beach, walking along the way through very traditional Balinese Villages.

Before we went, we had read a review of the place somewhere online that said the food was bad and we were nervous, because we also saw that there are no other restaurants around. BUT - someone there must have seen that too, because the restaurant was OUTSTANDING and very cheap. We loved the food and missed it after we left.

And I cannot say enough about the staff. We were really moved by their sweetness and unbelievable warm hospitality. We found nothing like it for the duration of our trip.

I could not recommend this place more highly - it's a steal.

  • Liked — Blend of service and beautiful accommodations
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank sftraveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negara
2.2 mi away
Puri Dajuma Cottages
Puri Dajuma Cottages
#1 of 1 in Pekutatan
342 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sea Medewi Resort & Beach Club
3.1 mi away
Bombora Medewi Wavelodge
Bombora Medewi Wavelodge
#1 of 8 in Jembrana
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kelapa Retreat Bali
Kelapa Retreat Bali
#1 of 3 in Pekutatan
241 reviews
23.6 mi away
Taman Wana Villas and Spa
3.6 mi away
Dikaloha Medewi Surfcamp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medewi Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medewi Bay Retreat

Property: Medewi Bay Retreat
Address: Jl. Ciwa. Br. Pekutatan | Dusun Yeh Kuning, Negara 82929, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Negara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Negara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medewi Bay Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medewi Bay Retreat is a 15-minute drive from The Surfing Medewi Beach in Pekutatan, West Bali. Surrounded by mountains, the ocean and coconut plantations, it offers windsurfing opportunities by the beach and a spectacullar outdoor pool. Each studio or villa offers a private balcony/terrace with garden views. Kitchenware, a minibar and tea/coffee-making facilities are provided in the kitchenette/kitchen. Each comes with a living room and dining area. Medewi Bay Retreat is an hour’s drive from West Bali National Park and a 2-hour ride from Denpasar. Ngurah Rai Airport is a 2.5-hour drive away. The Palms Restaurant serves a selection of Western scenic, Indonesian, Balinese, and Indian cuisine. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medewi Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medewi Bay Retreat Hotel Negara
Medewi Bay Retreat Bali/Negara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing