We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A highlight of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puri Lumbung Cottages
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Munduk
Certificate of Excellence
Grono, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Puri Lumbung and found it an unusual and enjoyable experience. The setting, in the hills among the rice fields with flowers and ponds everywhere, was gorgeous. With only two full days at our disposal, we managed to do 7 activities. Putu, our guide for two treks, was knowledgeable and a fascinating person, The private cooking lesson was a high point, and Crista was a brilliant teacher! After 'helping' to cook a delicious four-course meal of our own choosing, we were served it at the restaurant for our dinner. We tried to eat Indonesian dishes all the time and found the food very good. We would recommend the Indonesian breakfast rather than the continental. The atmosphere was special, with a partnership with the local people which included Balinese dancing classes for the children of the village as well as hotel and restaurant training for the young people. We had great massages and a lovely session learning to play the bamboo galengan instruments. Only two criticisms concerning the room. The first was that instead of a double bed we had twin beds pushed together with the bedding tightly tucked in between them. And the second is that they had put everything in the room to make early morning coffee or tea except a hot water kettle. They would bring you hot water, but as the distances are relatively long and there is no phone in the room it was a llittle complicated. On the other hand, although we had to pay for a Wifi connection, it worked perfectly and it was only £3 for 24 hours. We would definitely go back and try some of the other enticing activity offers.

Room Tip: We had a comfortable upstairs room with bath and big balcony in a brick and wood villa, appeared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mesolcina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    252
    76
    19
    7
See reviews for
109
320
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
haarlem
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We ordered a taxi to Jembaran (500.000 Rp) through the reception, so we ended up in a 20 year old Mitsubishi van with no airco and a driver who got lost every time. Unfortunately he was to proud to ask directions, after five hours he dropped us at a pizzeria and drove away without us. The hotel staff was quite nice actually.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anneeyefilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
195 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We enjoyed lovely massages, Balinese dances, great food, beautiful views, a waterfall hike, and cool weather at this Bali mountain retreat. Bathrooms in our 14A cottage were downstairs--bring a flashlight. Loved the deck where we looked out over a rice field and down to the valley below. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast buffet was very tasty. Dinner also delicious. We especially enjoyed the traditional dance and entertainment provided by local dancers. Wish I had time to take the floral arranging and cooking classes--Make those reservations in advance! The traditional doors on our deck were beautiful. Loved the fresh floral arrangement in our room. Recommend bringing a flashlight. The cicadas sing up the sun and also at sunset until about 7ish. They are loud, but once the sun goes down, the go quiet again. Loved the hike to the waterfall. Bring plenty mosquito spray. They also offer morning yoga. It's quite a nice spot. Beds have nets and mosquito repellent supplies.

Room Tip: Cottages 14A & B share a balcony, so perhaps a good choice if traveling with friends or children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripTalkHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Yes two nights was very good but that was long enough. The food was of a good standard nice fresh breakfast, evening meals very tasty but pricey you are better of down in the village.All four of us had a massage and thought they were very professional good value.
Our one big mistake was to except a two bedroomed villa instead of the two seperate ones booked because it meant one couple was stuck in a very small room with an even smaller bathroom with a balcony just big enough for two chairs with no view at all, probably designed for families.Our friends upstairs were fine with their large balcony with stupendous views down the valley.
All that said now we know! we would return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornish871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Munduk Puri Lumbung Cottage is very nice. Liked the individual cottages most with views of the mountains and a nice little balcony sitting area. Warning, most (maybe all) cottages have the bedroom upstairs (pretty much a one room affair) and the bathroom-shower downstairs. The buffett breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, etc.

I thought the charge for the drinks at the onsite bar was on the high side given that the clientele are almost a captive audience but then again alcoholic drinks in Bali are generally expensive. Also, I’m always disappointed when places like this charge for their wi-fi access. I paid anyway but couldn’t get online. They willingly refunded the charge. We did the walk to the two waterfalls on our own. Also did a guided 6 hour hike. We hired the guide through the Cottages and found the guide to be very good–well worth the price of about $60. It was quite hot that day and we were glad we started out at 7 am rather than the 8:30 start time that apparently most tourists choose.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Munduk is such a spectacular location. Our room overlooked the valley to the north and had a wonderful vista of mountains, forest and rice paddies. Our room was clean with a mosquito net over the bed and mosquito repellent supplies. The balcony was the perfect perch to enjoy the view. The bathroom was adjacent to the room on a shared hallway/stairwell to the room below us. Unfortunately, I couldn't have a bath as the plug kept on leaking (a push down contraption). There is a restaurant onsite which serves up tasty food and there is plenty of options for activities....for a (large US dollars) price. Saying that, our guided 3 hour walk around the rice paddies, forest and Munduk falls was the highlight of our stay. Overall I thought this 'resort' was vastly overpriced for the room amenities (no kettle, but tea and coffee in the room, no phone - so a long trip to get hot water to make said coffee). Saying that I should have bargained harder over the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKJ1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I spent two nights here in January of 2013 and really enjoyed my stay. Munduk is a pleasant small village that does not feel touristy at all. I will return next year.

Positives:
- My room (Number 25) had a great view down the mountain to the Northern coast of Bali and the volcanoes of Java in the distance.
- The staff was very friendly.
- The food in the restaurant was good.
- Good massage in the spa.
- Enjoyed the happy hour at the sunset bar.
- Several small temples on the property make you really feel like you're in Bali.

Negatives:
- My room did not have AC, but this was not really needed at night since it cools off quite a bit.
- The rooms are near some rice fields, so there is a chance of some pests entering the rooms. The hotel provides a plastic storage container for anything that smells like food to keep the mice out. I saw geckos and large spiders in the room. This might be alarming to some, but they did not bother me and they keep the numbers of mosquitoes, ants, and other insects down.
- The wireless internet signal was a bit weak in my room.
- There were several new cottages under construction, so there was some noise during the day, but it was not excessive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munduk
5.8 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 26 in Munduk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Dua Bintang
Villa Dua Bintang
#1 of 22 in Munduk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Atres Villa Homestay
Atres Villa Homestay
#4 of 26 in Munduk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.8 mi away
Munduk Moding Plantation
1.2 mi away
Bali Rahayu Homestay
Bali Rahayu Homestay
#3 of 22 in Munduk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Lumbung Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Lumbung Cottages

Property: Puri Lumbung Cottages
Address: Munduk Village | Banjar District, Munduk 81152, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Munduk
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Munduk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Lumbung Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Puri Lumbung Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Lumbung Cottages Hotel Munduk
Puri Lumbung Cottages Munduk, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing