We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kopi Luwak with a view ”

Golden Valley-breeze ECO CAFe 1
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Munduk
Description: For those who love quietness, simplicity, vibration of serenity and empowerment, "Golden Valley-breeze ECO CAFe 1" is the place to be. This legal Farmers' Cooperative is located just 20 m right in front of the breezing waterfall. The partly thatch-roofed 2 storied bamboo & wooden Restaurant & coffee shop with large sized balcony where you can have your unique experience to have our finest quality stuff. The icy cold beer, fresh fruits juices, the finest quality coffee LUWAK from the truly wild civets prepared individually on each table with the fancy balancing syphone, or any other espresso-based coffee (cappuccino, latte, mocha etc) Freshly cooked local food either (vegan-vegetarian-the meaty) is served here. There is a new coffee shop near by and seems to imitate us, in order to avoid to come to 'the wrong place' please remember that we are on the right side when you face to the waterfall, the 'batik' covered menu written in English & French. Nowhere but here farmers serve buyers.
Restaurant details
Description: For those who love quietness, simplicity, vibration of serenity and empowerment, "Golden Valley-breeze ECO CAFe 1" is the place to be. This legal Farmers' Cooperative is located just 20 m right in front of the breezing waterfall. The partly thatch-roofed 2 storied bamboo & wooden Restaurant & coffee shop with large sized balcony where you can have your unique experience to have our finest quality stuff. The icy cold beer, fresh fruits juices, the finest quality coffee LUWAK from the truly wild civets prepared individually on each table with the fancy balancing syphone, or any other espresso-based coffee (cappuccino, latte, mocha etc) Freshly cooked local food either (vegan-vegetarian-the meaty) is served here. There is a new coffee shop near by and seems to imitate us, in order to avoid to come to 'the wrong place' please remember that we are on the right side when you face to the waterfall, the 'batik' covered menu written in English & French. Nowhere but here farmers serve buyers.
Reviewed August 27, 2015 via mobile

Ideal place to have a halfway break on a hike to the different waterfalls in Munduk. The views are superb. The brewing process is a thing of beauty.
As the coffee is not collected from caged animals, you can enjoy the kopi Luwak without the bitter aftertaste.
The people working there are also friendly and you can enjoy some food there as well.
How to find: After the big waterfall you should return on your steps and when you pass by the ticket office you take a left and a bit further you should find several signs.

Date of visit: August 2015
1  Thank JKFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyomanBudiArtama, Owner at Golden Valley-breeze ECO CAFe 1, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2015

Dear JKFD,

It was a pleasure to have you at our 'warung' Eco Café, the thatch roofed-café in Golden Valley of Tutub Coffee plantation & Civets sanctuary. We are so happy since all our guests who tried our coffee said the coffee was still the smoothest one (compared to those they tried somewhere else in Bali) We sellect, sort and proccess the beans carefully and we are completed with authenticity guarantee. Most veggie cooked are freshly picked up from the farm around the area.

Thanks a lots for taking your precious time either for visiting/supporting us as well as for sharing your kind review of the Eco Café.
We are waiting forward your next coming to us in near future

Warmest Regards
Eco Café Munduk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 231 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2015

Nice place to relax. Great hike from Munduk. Excellent food and friendly owner. Good place to try a Kopi Luwak.

Date of visit: August 2015
1  Thank Joost_Roos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2015

Stumbled across this cafe on trek to waterfall. Real gem. Stuck on side of hill overlooking stunning and lush plantation. Sells Luwak coffee (look it up) plus teas and hot chocolate. Run by charming owner.

Date of visit: August 2015
1  Thank AmandaH774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyomanBudiArtama, Owner at Golden Valley-breeze ECO CAFe 1, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2015

Dear Amanda H.

Thank you very much for taking your time either for visiting (supporting) us, Eco Café Munduk a farmers' co-op and reviewing what you experienced at our cafe. We have been trying our best to produce, offer and maintain our the premium quality product for our costumers.
Once again, Thank a lots for supporting the sustainable civet coffee that also means your participation will make the possibility of torturing civets for producing civets coffee can be minimalized. We do hope to see you again next time.
We do encourage coffee lovers to stop buying the (so called) civet coffee that we do not know how it was produced !

Regards
eco cafe Munduk Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2015 via mobile

Took the extra walk to visit the waterfall (called Golden Valley I think??) and drop in on the cafe.
The draw for me was the chance to finally try the Luwak coffee without feeling lousy about the poor civets I had seen in cages in numerous places in Bali.
The coffee did not disappoint (Luwak coffee goes for 50k rupiah which seems to be the norm in Munduk but is half the price of it in a place like Ubud) and the owner was very happy to chat about the cooperative that he works with and the ecologically friendly way that they gather rather than farm the civet scat used to make it.
The waterfall is also quite impressive, just a few minutes further along. Added bonus is you will likely be the only one there as opposed to the 'Mundak waterfall' which can be crowded by guided tours.

Date of visit: August 2015
2  Thank RhysMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2015

We stumbled upon this place after hiking the waterfalls in Munduk area. I highly recommend Eco Cafe as your post-hike stop! We were the only customers and enjoyed a respite after hiking for hours. We had delicious (flavorful!) soup here, which comes in big bowls with lots of veggies, followed by Luwak coffee. I don't know if this is the best coffee in the world, but if you're going to try it anywhere, do it here. Certainly as coffee goes, coffee here was very good. At least nobody tortures animals to get it, and the proceeds go to a poor farming community.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank roxette521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyomanBudiArtama, Pemilik at Golden Valley-breeze ECO CAFe 1, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2015

Dear Roxette

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to come to Eco Café, the that roofed-café in the hectares of coffee plantation and civets sanctuary, as well as for sharing your kind review of ours. We are committed not to cage civets for sustainable coffee production, as one of the results is our coffee was 'published' for 2 pages in a luxurious magazine of Australia called Slow Living.
Once again, thanks a lots for being 'our partner' in running a real sustainable farming system.
We are waiting forward your next coming in the future !

Best Regards
Eco Café Munduk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Valley-breeze ECO CAFe 1 also viewed

 

Been to Golden Valley-breeze ECO CAFe 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2020 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.