We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountain magic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of One Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
One Homestay
Ranked #7 of 26 Munduk B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Mountain magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed based on reviews and were not disappointed!The rooms are basic but all you need for $8aud per night. A great base for walks to rice terraces or nearby waterfalls, or to just admire the amazing view and watch the clouds come across. Breakfast is a traditional Balinese delight made by the owner's aunt and not to be missed!Don't forget to have a chat to him, he has a wealth of knowledge!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brileeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    29
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
66
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We've just finished a 4 month trip that we started in Munduk with Kadek and his family. One Homestay is probably the best budget option we came across. Don't expect so much from the rooms. If luxury accommodation is what you're after, then look elsewhere. But Kadek has come up with a winning philosophy - if you provide somewhere that is clean and cheap, and you throw in the very best customer service, people will come. He also makes delicious food at very reasonable prices - we didn't eat anywhere else during our 3 night stay.

Kadek can help you out with anything during your stay. A friend of his took us on a good-value driving tour, his brother took me out trekking for a few hours and his sister runs cooking classes out of the home downstairs. Kadek even gave us some remedies when my girlfriend got sick!

And if you're not into cooking or trekking, you can just sit out on the balcony, sip on a Bintang and take in the amazing mountain views!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Nice homestay with great views. The owner is very friendly and helpful. He arranged for us his brother to be our guide for trekking for a great price. The room was very basic but that was expected. We stayed here for one night and enjoyed it. Munduk itself is small but when trekking, you get to see more off Bali then just the touristic stuff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steef80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in June 2012 and loved it. The room was very basic but adequate and the bathroom likewise. The linen was clean. The food was very traditional and really delicious.
We did a trek through the surrounding countryside. This was very informative and picturesque- seeing vanilla, cloves, cocoa etc growing was interesting. I had an inhouse massage following the trek and would recommend it. We would use One Homestay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This homestay was recommended to me by a traveller I'd met in Malaysia. He was so convincing that I had to go and see for myself. Kadek and his family exceed one's expectations. They made me feel like family and I would have stayed longer if I had the time. They cooked the most delicious balinese food for me (off the menu) for very fair prices and upon request they served me real Balinese breakfasts. The family offers many activities like a cooking class and hiking and I'm convinced that that adds to the whole experience. The rooms are simple but very clean and have a great view on the valley. If you visit Bali this is the ONE homestay!

Room Tip: The homestay is a bit off the main road, so more quite in comparison to other ones along the main ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlijnemijntje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were welcomed by Kadek when we first arrived and he was a fount of information about the area and seems to be related to everyone in Munduk! A really lovely host, quite apart from the magnificent views and unbeatable sunsets. He is also a wonderful cook. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elfy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

People here are really nice, rooms are simple but clean, the view is nice too.
We toke cooking lesson and it was a great moment!
This place is really peaceful.
There is also a good restaurant.
And to conclude, it is budget friendly!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judemars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munduk hotels
0.0 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 26 in Munduk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atres Villa Homestay
Atres Villa Homestay
#4 of 26 in Munduk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puri Lumbung Cottages
Puri Lumbung Cottages
#2 of 21 in Munduk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Karangsari Guest House
Karangsari Guest House
#8 of 26 in Munduk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bali Rahayu Homestay
Bali Rahayu Homestay
#3 of 21 in Munduk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Dua Bintang
Villa Dua Bintang
#1 of 21 in Munduk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Homestay

Property: One Homestay
Address: Selawu Street, Munduk 81152, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Munduk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Munduk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your One Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One Homestay Munduk, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing