We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like nothing else in bali”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melanting Cottages & Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 28 Munduk B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 16, 2013

elevated chalets, all made of clove wood with terrace overlooking jungle forrest and in the distance you can see the sea. beautiful grounds, much cooler than the rest of bali because of the elevation. hospital staff, very very quiet. you only hear the birds and the crickets. looks like where lord of the rings was filmed. well worth the drive through the fog!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fzblanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2016

thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 115 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

It locates on the upper end of the main road, kinda away from the center of the village, which makes it a quiet place, though its always peaceful in Munduk.
The cottage is nice, big room, big shower room, big balcony to chill out, though the view from the balcony is so so.
Staff are friendly and helpful. they have umbrellas for guests during rainy season. When we arrived, the place was pretty empty, then we requested to see more rooms to decide which one to choose to stay, staff were very patient.
The food was ok, a bit pricy.
Its near one of the waterfalls, following the sign out of the front office and a trail in the back of the compound leads to the waterfall, takes about 15mins by walk. Walking along the trail was kinda fun, but the waterfall was not that great, for me at least...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beingonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2016

thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Melanting cottages is a place I will ever remeber as a smell of paradise. Old rice granaries have been transformed in cottages distributed in a clove plantation. From there, you have a spendid view on the valley with a few rice terraces in the distance. As we were here for Kuningan an hinduist fest , the roads were decorated with "penjors" which are finely decorated bamboo trunks with corns and palm leaves woven.

Munduk is a quiet place to discover the inner Bali with its forests, its rice terraces, its hinduist temples.

The major incovenience is that Munduk is limited to a single steep main road so that it is quite difficult to have a quiet walk (except the one to the waterfall).

Don' hesitate to ask for an additionnal blanket as the nights are cold.

Wifi access is available in good conditions from the restaurant or from the entrance lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papidesalpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2016

thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We choose this hotel on previous reviews and it didnt let us down.

The view is to die for it was amazing.Bit worried with no pool or a/c but it gets very cold compared to the rest of bali so you dont need a/c and i dont think the girls would have touched the pool if there was one as to cold.

I loved the location to experience the real bali, i went across the road and had a bintang at the local shop and watched the locals do there thing it was a good experience. Never did the walk to the waterfall as our driver had taken us im sure on a longer trek to the waterfall.

Loved the view waking in morning to watching the locals climbing bamboo ladders to collect tobacco from the trees you dont get this sort of stuff from staying in kuta/legian.

highly recommend for a taste of the real Bali.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jas0n_buckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2016

thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

A lovely place, we will definitely be back! We stayed two nights at Melanting Cottages Munduk and we loved it from the first moment. The cottages are set in wonderful surroundings, we loved to have an afternoon coffee on our balcony and to have a look over the valley. The kids loved the short trip to the waterfall which is about 15 minutes from the cottages. The whole place is spotless clean and the staff are lovely! Thank you very much, we are looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mavejuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2016

thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I really enjoyed our two nights in these simple cute cottages. They are in an excellent location with a beautiful waterfall only an easy 10 minute stroll. The food although not outstanding was fine. The fresh strawberry juice was delicious. The whole place s immaculate. The first night was really cold. We had 2 blankets and I still ended up putting on a jumper 1/2 way through the night. Would love to return to Munduk and further explore.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saltydog42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2016

thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

After being over-heated in Tuban, we moved on to the Melanting Cottages in the mountains of Munduk where it was much cooler and it did rain some. They picked us up on time in Tuban and on the way to the hotel we were able to stop to see the Ulun Danu Temple / Bratan (which was one of the temples on our must-visit list).
The wooden cottages are quite large, plenty of room to spread out your suitcases. The bath was also spacious with an indoor sink and large counter plus a shower and toilet room open to a private outdoor garden surrounded by a stone wall. There was plenty of hot water. We saw very few insects, which was a plus.
It was not in close walking distance to town, but they set up transportation for us when ever it was needed. Their restaurant is very good for all meals. The staff was terrific and meet all of our needs. We were even given a discount on the price of our cottage because it was the low season which made it very affordable.
We wanted to hike around Lamblingan Lake, so they set up our transportation with a great driver that waited for us. You will need hiking shoes if you want to experience this. We really enjoyed the dugout canoe ride at the end. We also visited the Bhuddist temple and the hot springs for another day trip. If you want to get off the tourist path and cool down in the mountains, I would highly recommend this hotel but be sure and bring some long warmer clothes during the cooler rainy season.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2016

thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munduk hotels
0.8 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 28 in Munduk
386 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lesong Hotel and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Bali Rahayu Homestay
Bali Rahayu Homestay
#3 of 22 in Munduk
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Atres Villa Homestay
Atres Villa Homestay
#4 of 28 in Munduk
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Dua Bintang
Villa Dua Bintang
#1 of 22 in Munduk
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puri Lumbung Cottages
Puri Lumbung Cottages
#2 of 22 in Munduk
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melanting Cottages & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melanting Cottages & Restaurant

Address: Desa Munduk, Munduk, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Munduk
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Munduk
Price Range: $25 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Melanting Cottages & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Melanting Cottages & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melanting Cottages & Restaurant Munduk, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing