We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Beautiful location, geared for groups."”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atres Villa Homestay
Ranked #4 of 26 Munduk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“"Beautiful location, geared for groups."”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Gusti and the lads are all very friendly, but I felt a little isolated when I first arrived, as I had to ask a lot of questions about meal times, drinking water and the basic running of the place which I thought could have been explained better. I think they may be geared towards groups more so than solo travellers, as there were several groups already there who by all accounts were having a ball. This place (and area) is very popular with French people. It is a beautiful location, with many opportunities for hiking and touring the surrounding hills and villages. It is a lot cooler here than on the coast, and I didn't see any mossies or half starved dogs which seem to be everywhere else in Bali. The communal meals were traditional and very good, but the set meal times (8am b/fast, 1-2pm lunch and 8pm dinner) have to be worked around. My elevated room was very nice with an excellent bed and pillows, but I found the downstairs bathroom to be a pain. I would definitely not like to be stricken with a dose of Bali Belly and have to negotiate the narrow, spiral staircase in the middle of the night! There was also nowhere to hang towels, clothes etc, so I found myself having to store things on top of the toilet lid while I was having a shower. I suggested to Gusti to put some hooks on the back of the door at least, and he said he would get onto it. Jono took me to a nearby waterfall after b/fast, and we had to shelter at the village bath on the way back when we got caught in a downpour, but I enjoyed the walk and the company very much. I also had a good talk with Cardek on my last night, and was impressed about how happy all the lads working here are. Gusti has big plans for the Atres Villa, and I wish him well!

Room Tip: See if they have a room with bathroom on the same level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VintageWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    70
    16
    13
    2
See reviews for
55
105
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

As soon as we got to Atres villa we received a warm welcome from everyone. Gusti and Gero are amazing people and the boys working there are all nice. They will do everything possible to make you feel at home. Meals are included and taken on shared tables where you can meet other travelers and share tips. Tours offer great value and diversity. The Kawa Ijen is tiring but beautifull. Outstanding sunset.
Thank you Gusti for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saconick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We had a wonderful room! Very nice decorated and very spacious! The area is authentic and people are super friendly! You can hire a scooter and explore the area or book one of the tours at the homestay. The food is really good and really Indonesian! Good place to relax and enjoy the balinesian life!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosefromholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Great stay in general - we were here 2 nights.
You are immediately part of the family, under the lead of Gusti (organises all the trips) & Gero (does all the cooking)
You pay 400K IDR for 1 night, with private bathroom and including breakfast (great pancakes), lunch and dinner. All kinds of trips can be taken , ranging from Jatiluwih, to Java, to a coquefight in the neighbourhood to waterfall visits to learning to cook the local dishes.
You feel at home for the time you spend there.
Also well maintained pool. Pay attention, the bungalows have a 'flying roof', although not so many insects, some will be found in the room, such as a geko :-) but this gives the cooling at night.

Good alternative for staying in the Munduk itself (as Atres villa is in a small village next to Munduk, namely Banyuatis).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DVE012345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Maur-des-Fosses, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2011

If you want to enjoy the real Bali, being far from the touristic zones, this is the place to go! Here, you feel like at home with some friends! We learned how to cook with the wife of Gusti, she brings us to a kind of baptism celebration where she was invited, etc... Gusti took care of us as if we were friends coming to visit him; we make some wonderful treks in the rice fields. During the evening, we went with them to a football TV game which was taking place in the middle of the village. In summary, here you really taste the balinese life! I strongly advice that you test it, you will love it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oriannaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noosa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Very disapponted when we arrived - had been given the (I would say emergency accommodation that they give when they are ful). All the french people staying there, amounting to 18 or so all got the lovely timber huts and we ended up with the old concrete grotty house style accommodation down by the stream. Stream was fine but nowhere to sit outside and had very funny looks when we had to sit under someone elses accommodation by the pool as there was no seating around the pool. All in all a very disappointing time and we left the next morning. Lovely people but more suited to French visitors than English speaking. Had a beautiful walk in rice paddies the afternoon we arrived. I do not like writing a review like this but was probably very mislead by other peoples reviews of it being so wonderful and just want people to know about the accommodation options and also at least a 2 hour drive (which was fine). Just not for us.

Room Tip: Make sure what accommodatin you are getting. No choice of food, off course you are staying at a hom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wannago58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Français à New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very warm place in the middle of ricefields, superb landscape with no tourists around, Gusti and his family will welcome you in charming bungalows and will take care of you by proposing many excursions during the day, making you very good balisian meals during your stay, and all that for a very cheap price!
Really intimate place for peaceful moments and a better discovering of real Bali.
Definitly a place to stop by during your trip to Bali.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munduk
5.7 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
779 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 26 in Munduk
354 reviews
2.3 mi away
Puri Lumbung Cottages
Puri Lumbung Cottages
#2 of 22 in Munduk
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Villa Dua Bintang
Villa Dua Bintang
#1 of 22 in Munduk
169 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lesong Hotel and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Bali Rahayu Homestay
Bali Rahayu Homestay
#3 of 22 in Munduk
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atres Villa Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atres Villa Homestay

Property: Atres Villa Homestay
Address: Banjar Kelod | Banyuatis Village, Munduk 81152, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Munduk
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Munduk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atres Villa Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Bali with a Bali family This little paradise amidst the rice field consist of 4 wooden bungalow and 3 unit villa which each unit able to accommodate 4 guests all fully equipped in the middle of a beautifull rice field, its coconut, cloves and other tropical trees. The Banyuatis village and the surrounding area with its unique nature and very agreeable temperatures is extremely suitable for all kinds of outdoor activities. Walking, rice field hiking,stunning water fall, jungle trekking,dagout canoe in pristine lake, and all sorts of traditional cultural site-seeing. Experiencing traditional village life, visiting coffee, avocado and spice plantations such as clove,cacao,etc Your host at Atres family villa will take a pleasure in organizing various nature trekk and tours, showing you the nature and plantation of his island. On you return of exursion our restaurant will concoct a typical local dish. In short this is a jewel that we are inviting you to discover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Atres Villa Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atres Villa Homestay Hotel Munduk
Atres Villa Homestay Munduk, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing