We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful shelter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meme Surung Homestay
Ranked #21 of 28 Munduk B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2013

In quiet balinese mountains, this homestay is perfect to relax, wander through rice fields and forests, walk along lakes, enjoy the mild climate and watch the sunset over the sea in the distance. Very nice rooms in tidy bungalows, helpful service by young folks (trainees), low prices, that's the excellent cocktail of this nice homestay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPhilippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 66 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here as part of an organised tour do this was not my choice. It has been though one of my favourite places in Bali. Clean, great view, nice people, really good Balinese food. One of the guys also work as guide and the day after we arrived we had an unforgettable but tough walk through the ric plantations to get to a faboulous waterfall. Just a lovely staying, in a simple but authentic place sorrounded by friendly and lovely people.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alecaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed for two nights in Meme Surung Homestay. It is a nice family hotel, with a great view, good rooms with nice place to relax, sit, gooed mosquito net. You can use the bar in Puri Lumbung Cottages, about 20 minutes walk uphill. Puri Lumbung and Meme Surung belong together.


Halfway to Puri Lumbung is a great relaxed restaurant, perfect food, free wifi. I forgot the name.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reynoldino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Accommodations were basic. Clean, mosquito net, simple adequate bathroom. Terrace with 2 chairs and table was nice, but non-existent view due to heavy growth of trees directly in front.

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We had an issue with loud plumbing (honking noise proceeded after each toilet flush), however the staff immediately resolved much to our surprise.

Breakfast was also nice - served in a somewhat scenic part of the 'resort'. Basic fruit, eggs and toast, coffee/teal deal.

The only downside was the treacherous route to our room. We visited in low season, ergo cobblestone pathway was wet, mossy and slippery. If you're backpacking it won't be an issue. But if you are rolling a suitcase along a fairly long windy uneven path with a 2 sets of stairs, most difficult!

Often i find these cheaper accommodations to be high on customer service, but the rooms itself are basic. Overall, you get what you pay for. The Hilton it is not, but has it's own unique charm.

P.S. If i were to do this trip all over again, i would spend the extra $ for a more comfortable stay with more modern amenities.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Munduk is a very small, lightly touristed hill town on a narrow ridge between two beautiful valleys. It can be wet during the rainy season, but in good weather it provides glorious views and nice hillside hikes with numerous waterfalls. The drive to get there has wonderful valley and lake views.

Meme Surung Homestay is a great value. It is located in the center of Munduk, providing better access to shops and small restaurants than the fancier and much more expensive resorts outside of town.

It has two very nice modern bungalows (numbers 4 and 5) and several older, darker, more traditional rooms. Trees block the view from the bungalow patios (probably planted to prevent hillside erosion), but the open air dining area has a nice view over the valley.

The modern bungalows are large, with very high ceilings, a double and a single bed (each with romantic mosquito netting), and a small bathroom with shower (no tub). Hot water is excellent.

The only drawback to the two modern bungalows is that the bathrooms share an attic space, so one’s neighbors are clearly audible (hopefully the management will block this off).

The room rate was less than 30 USD per night, and reservations can be made and paid online through Expedia.


The staff were very friendly and helpful during my
visit. They even let me use their PC for internet access when my tablet did not work well. They can arrange hiking guides (recommended since trails are not marked) and transportation.

The rate included a nice hot breakfast (eggs, fruit, toast). When I left very early on my last day, the staff was kind enough to prepare a breakfast for me the night before, and served it in my room. I did not even have to ask for this extra service.

I used the Ubud tourist shuttle to get to Munduk (about 15 USD, does not run every day depending on demand) and a public minivan to get back to Denpasar and then Sanur (about 3.50 plus 3.50 USD).

The southbound public minivans run through Munduk very early (5-6 am) and also (I am told) at mid-day. Simply flag one down as it passes through town and ask the driver his destination.

One can hire a car and driver for about 50 USD, but I was told that they take the main highway with no detours for sightseeing and no photo stops, so that option seemed no better than the public van.

I would happily stay at Meme Surung again if the modern bungalows are available. Because of a very wet rainy season in March 2012, I did not get to do any major hikes, so I look forward to going back to Munduk sometime. It certainly is less crowded and more natural than Ubud.

If Meme Surung's two modern bungalows are not available, next door is Guru Ratna, with smaller rooms but good views.

Room Tip: The two modern bungalows (#4 and #5) are the best. The traditional (historic Dutch) rooms appeared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank efsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The hotels is very nice and food is good but the entire compound does not belong to them and the local family who lives also on the compound has a few rosters(cocks) who start to tell you that it is time to get up at 3AM. Could not sleep afterwards!
price is fair
we decided then to go a few meters further down to : Karang Sari..also good and nice food, friendly owners...and no Rosters!

Room Tip: If you still decide to stay, take a room in the back!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenjamineOberoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

We found meme surung totally great value! Yes it's simple but we thought the people were very friendly, the breakfast was lovely and the room was clean (considering you're in the mountains!) plus the views surrounding are gorgeous. Munduk itself is very quiet with not much for tourists in the way of eating, but we found a lovely local warung 'warung kita' with a little balcony eating area where we ate delicious nasi goreng for 12000rp (1 euro) every day for lunch! We'd definitely recommend Meme for a simple mountain village get away!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayleyandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munduk
6 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 25 in Lovina Beach
842 reviews
2 mi away
Atres Villa Homestay
Atres Villa Homestay
#4 of 28 in Munduk
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manah Liang Bungalow
Manah Liang Bungalow
#25 of 28 in Munduk
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Guru Ratna Homestay
Guru Ratna Homestay
#6 of 22 in Munduk
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puri Sunny Hotel
Puri Sunny Hotel
#14 of 28 in Munduk
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Dua Bintang
Villa Dua Bintang
#1 of 22 in Munduk
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meme Surung Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meme Surung Homestay

Address: Jalan Kayu Putih | Munduk Village, Munduk, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Munduk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Munduk
Price Range: $25 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Meme Surung Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those visitors wishing to experience living in the Balinese home. Meme Surung featuring a combination of Dutch and Malay architecture, located at a quiet spot, off the road and up a hill in the middle of the village of Munduk about 1 km bellow Puri Lumbung Cottages. Meme Surung has 9 rooms with large bedrooms and attached bathrooms. A long veranda extends in front of the rooms, with views of mountains and tropical gardens. A small restaurant, overlooking the scenery serves guests staying at the homestay. Meme Surung can accommodate families, single and double occupancy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meme Surung Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meme Surung Homestay Munduk, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing