We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to stay ONLY if you are in the main building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Karangsari Guest House
Ranked #9 of 28 Munduk B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June 2013. The first night, there was some confusion with the rooms and we ended up having to stay at the lower building (not the one beside the desk or with the gardens, but the one lower down another ramp/flight of stairs). This room was not great. It was tiny with barely enough room to walk around the bed. It also had a moldy smell, and a funny line of ants going in and out. The washroom was also dark and dingy.

The next night, we were moved up to the main building. This room was actually quite nice! Smelled clean, balcony etc. If we had just stayed here, I would have rave reviews.

The staff was also not great. Although kind and perfectly friendly, they were not very helpful in terms of trekking maps or arranging transportation elsewhere. We asked about prices for transport and they never got back to us. We ended up walking up to the Aditya homestay and arranged our transportation there, as they were more helpful. Their hiking map was also FAR more detailed and far better than the one at Karangsari! My advice is that regardless, go grap this map from Aditya.

Frankly, although the upper room was pretty, Aditya was nicer for better value. If you can, stay there.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building ($5 more/night). The other rooms in the lower building are not nice at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 132 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Karangsari is a guesthouse located in Munduk. Munduk is a very small mountain village with not much to do except hiking or exploring Bali by motorcycle.
Karangsari is perfectly located with stunning views on the valley of Munduk. For 20 euro's a room this place is a bargain! The staff is very helpful and eager to help. The rooms are good value, only negative point was that our rooms were located next to the busy road but during the night the noise was bearable!

I've also checked the other places in Munduk but Karangsari was defintly the best place to stay for our budget!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The staff is very friendly. That's the best part of this place. The rooms are not nice: white tiles in an unattractive building close to the road, what makes it quite noisy beacause of the traffic. The breakfast is really very poor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankw597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The location is good, but considering that the area is very small that's not saying much.
The property is very pretty, however the room I had was disappointing. My room was way down back behind the main building. There was only one small window and no circulation whatsoever.
While the room itself was clean, the bathroom seemed as if it hasn't been finished and was quite dirty.
The food was decent at the restaurant however a little more expensive than elsewhere in Bali.
The staff spoke a little English, but not much. The map I was given to the waterfalls and rice paddies was very hard to understand and we found later that there was a MUCH easier way to get there.
Wifi was only available up by the restaurant (I'm sure the rooms up there were able to access).
Overall it wasn't anything impressive and compared to other places in Bali it was just too much money for what they were offering.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaleyS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Karangsari for two nights and were absolutely charmed. We had a lovely upstairs room with a cute balcony which was perfect for watching lightening storms and beautiful sunsets. The room was immaculate and really beautiful with a four poster bed that was exceptionally comfortable. Munduk is very small so obviously the location is perfect and near to everything.

The staff were very welcoming and helpful! We asked Kuri for directions to the Bayan hot springs and he spent half an hour drawing a detailed map for us (I do not recommend driving independently to them despite our trusty map as it was very difficult even though Kuri had written on it in Balinese: "please help us find the intersection for the hot springs" which was very smart!). Also, every time it rained there were umbrelas placed outside our door which was very thoughtful. We could not have asked for better service!

Although breakfast could not be served in a better location with an exceptional view, we were very disappointed with just having toast. We inquired about whether we could buy additional items like eggs but this was lost in translation. A big recommendation would be to offer your guests the option of purchasing more for breakfast for those with bigger appetites. Our days were disorganized because we had to eat lunch shortly after breakfast. To be fair though, they did offer us two servings of toast.

Overall this place is a peaceful, beautiful, mountain retreat and is a wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NikiandJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I travelled all over Bali for a month. I went to munduk for the trecking. Munduk is a remote small village. A single row of poor shops on a steep bluff between two deep gorges. To walk on either direction involves a very steep descent of perhaps 1,000 feet ! Every step down, means a step up later.
There are 2 issues. 1 is the noise. It is the noisiest place on the planet. Every child from the age of about 6 has a motorbike to get to school, and there are thousands of them. They go to school at about 6 am, and return any time after 11 am. Everywhere you walk, however remote, you are never more than 15 seconds from a motorbike. The noise is everywhere. 2. The Lorries and 4x4s. These also drive throughout the remote plantations. You are forever having to get out of their way. I wanted peace and tranquillity. To walk anywhere involves steep climbs up and down the deep gorges. The waterfall is hard to find but is worth it.
The hotel is perfect. The rooms beautifully appointed. The view across the valley spectacular. The staff want to do anything they can to help. Breakfast on the garden pavilion is perfect. I stayed 5 days and had dinner there twice. Both meals were excellent. The owner and his student son speak some English.
As I say perfect hotel, but there must be more interesting places than munduk. Compared with ubud, it is a non starter.
Too steep and not peaceful enough.

Room Tip: There are presently 6 rooms. 3 on top of 3. They are all perfect, but the top floor rooms have a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jeffrey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our two night stay in a second floor room was awesome. Amazing sunsets, lovely staff (especially Kuri) and very decent meals.
We were even surprised by a pineapple pancake with a candle for my partners birthday.
Would def. recommend if interested in Munduk.
Our only critisism was the family staying at the apartment with a crying child that screamed all night.
Tips:
Watch the dogs on the waterfall walk, and walk inside the roots of the Bunyan Tree - it's a must.
Take a jumper - its much colder in the mountains.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikkideee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munduk hotels
0.3 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 28 in Munduk
385 reviews
1.8 mi away
Atres Villa Homestay
Atres Villa Homestay
#4 of 28 in Munduk
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aris Homestay and Warung Made
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Puri Alam Bali Bungalows
1.4 mi away
Puri Sunset Homestay
Puri Sunset Homestay
#19 of 28 in Munduk
11 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Homestay
One Homestay
#10 of 28 in Munduk
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karangsari Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karangsari Guest House

Address: Jalan Kayu Putih | Banjar County, Munduk 80612, Indonesia (Formerly Karangsari Homestay)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Munduk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Munduk
Price Range: $15 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Karangsari Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house is located at the west end of the small village of Munduk with scenic views over the hillsides, covered with rice fields, fruit trees and jungle. From Munduk, you can start many hikes and treks, from short walks to waterfalls up to long treks to lakes or the biggest Banyan Tree in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Karangsari Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karangsari Guest House Munduk, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing