We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You wont regret this!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Karangsari Guest House
Ranked #9 of 26 Munduk B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You wont regret this!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My only regret was that I didnt stay here longer.
What a friendly village
My hosts were delightful, the room and bathroom were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purvis-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    52
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
67
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in one of their 6 new rooms at 200,000rp (Apr 2012)
The room was absolutely beautiful and very clean, nice balcony, nice bathroom fittings.
Our double room was interconnecting with the twin room next door so perfect for families.
It's a lovely temperature in the mountains, no need for aircon, we had the blanket on the bed and it was like being at home ! The bed was really comfortable and even had a mattress topper.
The garden is beautiful too, a horticulturalists delight and they have a swing for children (and a little girl in the family to play with).

The family were delightful and really helpful, Putu organized a driver to take us to see all the sights we wanted one day, he also a car to take us on to our next area.
Breakfast was lovely in the garden restaurant with views of the hills opposite.
They also do very nice reasonably priced lunch and dinner but only Indonesian dishes and no small snacks.

Only downside was the noise, most places in Munduk are built along the road and there is a fair bit of traffic, also there were dogs barking in the evenings and chickens crowing at dawn.
We are light sleepers and needed to go to bed early as we were woken early, this is how the Balinese live so need to be like them.

The homestay is at one end of the town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wizardwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The room was clean, tidy, had hot water and bug nets on the bed.
The food was pretty good, breakfast was provided and was also ok.
Staff were helpful and polite.
Think it was reasonably new.
The price was excellent but I think it is a quiet season as there were very few other visitors around town.
Would def stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim_499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

We looked for a nice guest house in munduk and thought that the ones in the lonely planet where too expensive! The first one that pops up in Google is this lovely guest house!!

The service is great, the rooms are clean and the view is just amazing!!

The price is rather low and therefore an excellent value! We paid 300000 rp for the deluxe room with a great view!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielvNorren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is a very affordable accommodation placed in the heart of the village of Munduk. We were pleasantly surprised really, it had all the home comforts that you want in a hotel room, the little touches, like a moquito net, a side light, bins and hooks and such like. The owners were incredibly friendly and welcoming and they do really make you feel like family asking every morning how you are, how you slept, what you are up to etc. The views are spectacular and the food is very very tasty too - great combo. A couple of negatives, the walls really are like paper, it's like your neightbours are in the same room as you, and the water in the showers had good pressure but fluctuated between hot and cold a bit. But you can't grumble really for the price.

In terms of things to do in the town we went to the waterfalls and a walk between the two lake - great for a couple of days stay on your travels!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frothychocy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The rooms are nice and clean with a great view to the valley (sunset included). The restaurant in the beautiful garden serves excellent food (also vegetarian) and all this to a very fair price. The owners are kind and helpful - I can really not imagine a better place to stay in Munduk.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uschnikowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Very friendly, helpful owners. Nice views, peaceful setting.
They currently charge 250.000 for the new rooms which have a nice bathroom (very high standard), nice Balinese furniture and a balcony with views over the ricefields. They charge 150.000 for the older rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leanne_trvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munduk hotels
0.3 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 26 in Munduk
358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puri Lumbung Cottages
Puri Lumbung Cottages
#2 of 22 in Munduk
581 reviews
1.8 mi away
Atres Villa Homestay
Atres Villa Homestay
#4 of 26 in Munduk
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Dua Bintang
Villa Dua Bintang
#1 of 22 in Munduk
171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Melanting Cottages & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Puri Alam Bali Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karangsari Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karangsari Guest House

Property: Karangsari Guest House
Address: Jalan Kayu Putih | Banjar County, Munduk 80612, Indonesia (Formerly Karangsari Homestay)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Munduk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Munduk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Karangsari Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house is located at the west end of the small village of Munduk with scenic views over the hillsides, covered with rice fields, fruit trees and jungle. From Munduk, you can start many hikes and treks, from short walks to waterfalls up to long treks to lakes or the biggest Banyan Tree in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Karangsari Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karangsari Guest House Munduk, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing