We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay in Independence.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good stay in Independence.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

My 12 year old son and I spent two nights here while visiting to tour the Truman Library and WWI museum. The hotel is in a good location for visiting the Independence area. There are a number of restaurants within an easy drive and a mall close by.

The hotel staff were friendly and the hot and cold breakfast was perfectly adequate.

The pool and hot tub area were clean and the workout room was also clean and well kept.

I wish Marriott would use a higher grade of toilet paper. :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank chimera22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our area and have a good experience at our hotel. I hope you will stay with us when you visit our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    38
    32
    15
    9
See reviews for
48
27
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I was very pleased with this hotel. I stayed with 6 other guests in 2 rooms, and let me tell you, the rooms are great! I love that the rooms that we had had a microwave and fridge. I also enjoyed the breakfast. I liked that they had a lot of different choices, including premade oatmeal. The pool was large and that made it easier to accommodate more people. I found it interesting that the whirlpool was taken out to make the pool larger. The service was absolutely excellent! The front desk brought towels whenever needed in the pool area and they were very kind. I especially want to thank Kim at the front desk, Elaine the general manager, and Kenneth in the breakfast room for their exceptional service. Thanks so much!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JPK2wx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for the great review. It is always nice to hear from our guests; especially with such kind words. It is nice to know you made it home safe and sound. We look forward to seeing your when you are in our area in the future. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Had a comfortable stay at a reasonable price. Nothing to complain about. Some one else objected to the internet speed but I had no problems. This was a business trip and this hotel met my expectations. Pretty good location with a nice restaurant within walking distance and fast food places 10 minutes away. I give it a high recommendation as I forgot a gold necklace in my room and the hotel cleaning staff turned it over to management and it was handed back to me without a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimpatjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. There is definitely a variety of restaurant options within minutes of our hotel and I am glad you enjoyed 54th Street Grill and Bar. I hope you will choose our hotel when traveling to the Independence area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in a lot if Marriott properties and this is the first time that I have been disappointed. The hot tub was not in working order, which was fine. Although some of us was hoping to use it. When we got to our rooms, they were very hot. I turned the heat off & turned the air on. After several hours & turning the air down to 60 degrees, it was still hot & we had to open the window. Keep in mind, this was in January. But, to top it off. The next morning at breakfast, the dining room attendant was very rude & looked like he may have just been working in the garden. Don't get me wrong. All jobs are important but this guy didn't seem to have any pride in his job. He looked like he just crawled out of bed & slept in the dirty clothes that he wore to work. The only hot food was eggs & biscuits & gravy. When there was no gravy & one of us asked if there was going to be more, he was very rude. They had bananas as well but they looked like they had been there for a week & were black. I'm sorry to say that I don't think we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
I am extremely sorry we did not live up to the standards you deserve, and we expect from our hotel. My maintenance engineer has been notified concerning the heat unit in the room you stayed. I have dealt with the person in our breakfast, and sincerely apologize for his appearance and attitude. These are NOT acceptable at this hotel. I hope you will give us aother chance when you are in the Independence area.

Elaine Rose, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buhler, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were in town for a last minute family emergency, so we had not previously planned for a hotel stay. We were referred here from an employee at the Quick Trip. We came in late in the evening. Rachel at the front desk was so helpful, cheerful and polite! She helped us get checked in and explained everything very well. The room was clean, and well organized. There was no "smell" in the room as one of the reviewers stated. It smelled like..well like a clean room! We requested no room service as we didn't think we would be there too terribly long. When we realized we needed yet another night they were happy to oblige, and everything was taken care of for us. The continental breakfast is exactly that. A CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST. Those of you reviewers need to understand what that is. I have stayed in Motels/Hotels before that offered Continental Breakfast which only consisted of dry cereal and maybe some rolls. This was beyond that, Waffles, sausage, fresh fruit, muffins, etc. The staff was keeping up with the guest's in for breakfast and everything was kept picked up and clean. Always had fresh hot coffee for the guests! In my opinion, if you want more than this then you need to find your self a Waffle House. Since getting home, I have read these other reviews, and In MY OPINION they must be very spoiled people! Chemical smell? WHERE? WERE YOU SLEEPING IN THE POOL ROOM? Homeless people?...WHERE? We never did see any homeless people anywhere in or around that area, during the day or night. DATED?.....WHERE? My husband and I were very pleased with every aspect of this Hotel. As I stated to the day clerk when checking out, IF FOR ANY REASON WE NEED TO BE BACK IN INDEPENDENCE WE WILL BE STAYING HERE!
This Hotel is clean, parking area/doors are very well lit. We are from a small mid Kansas farming town of @ 2500 people. I NEVER felt worried about going to and from the building to the car. I felt very safe, so .....Oh and to address reviewer carraig....Internet? ...Yep you guessed it....Didn't have a problem with ours! I just don't understand some people...They have to have something to complain about.. Most of all these reviews don't even come close to what we experienced with this hotel and staff. I'm sorry. but you all sound like spoiled brats who have to have everything just so so. If you want that then STAY HOME!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinnKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We strive to take care of our guests and give them an experience that makes them want to return. I am extremely glad we fulfilled our promsie to you. We look forward to your future visits to Independence. Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great location. Unfortunately the below average internet, single elevator, and dated rooms leave a lot to be desired. If you are used to high Marriott standards, this hotel will disappoint.

This hotel is just down the street from the Independence Mall and less than a 10min walk to a number of big box stores including the nicest theater in the area. It is in a quiet area away from the criminal areas of Independence. We actually live in the area and only stayed here for a kid-free night away from the house. As a local you can trust me that the location is awesome. If you have specific questions, please use the "ask reviewer a question' feature below the review and I'll do what I can to answer questions about the area.

Unfortunately, that is the only thing that is awesome. Of note, the hotel was sold out when we stayed which probably affected the quality of our stay.

Pros:
- Friendly staff
- (Pro or Con) Bed was VERY soft. Too soft for myself and my pregnant wife, as it hurt our backs, but I know that many people like a super soft bed.

Concerns:
- Internet tested on speedtest.net was only a 1mb connection. This is very slow compared to most hotels I stay at.
- Single small elevator shared between housekeeping, staff, and customers can make hotel waits very long.
- Hot breakfast provided, but we chose to eat elsewhere because the staff was not keeping up with the mess and there was food on every empty table and on the floor.
- Our room looked and smelled dated. Not unpleasant, but must like a visit to Grandma's house.
- The plumbing in the shower made a screeching noise whenever the shower was running. The front desk promised to look into it.

Overall the staff was nice, and the location was perfect. Unfortunately the hotel is desperately in need of an additional elevator and a full renovation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyHerAway_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. I am glad our staff service, cleanliness, and location were assets for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
138 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

To begin with the hotel doesn't show up on two different GPS Systems. The hotel did not answer the phone for 2 hours. The rooms had a very bad chemical smell to them. Homeless people sleeping in the parking lot. Not a safe Hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rd400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. I sincerely apologize that the phone was not answered. I have written a personal response so I can get further information. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Independence hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Truman Inn
BEST WESTERN Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#6 of 18 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence

Property: Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence
Address: 18700 East 37th Terrace, Independence, MO 64057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Independence
Fairfield Independence
Independence Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing