We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Kansas City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Independence Kansas City
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We stayed here on a business trip to Kansas City. The location is excellent, easy off, easy on to I-70 with many restaurants, convenience shopping and gas stations located at the same exit. The parking lot is fairly secure and kept broom clean. The lobby is small, the check in was easy, the staff is very friendly. As stated in other reviews there is no elevator however the design of the hotel makes the walkup easy. The room was well laid out so though it is not a large room it has a spacious feel. The room and linens were very clean. The mattress was in very good condition, perhaps fairly new. The bathroom is a bit cramped but clean and in working order. There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room. The coffee pot in room is one of those "pod" type but the coffee downstairs is good. The doughnuts are made by a local baker and are very good. Otherwise the breakfast has juice, bagels, bread, oatmeal, cereals and fruit. The price was right $39.95 for 2 on weekdays, though the weekend price is stupid at $47.95 a night. BEWARE they have that irritating safe fee of $1.50 plus tax per night. That fee should be illegal. And that is the reason I probably won't stay there again. It is underhanded to charge a silly fee in addition to the room rate, greedy, greedy, greedy. However if you can live with that this is very good economy lodging.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fenderrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 474 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2009

We arrived late after a long day of driving. The spacious, clean room was great. There was a free continental breakfast, though it was pretty crowded.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank codhollandaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed at the Super 8 because we have found the chain reliable. This Super 8 was conveniently located off a main thoroughfare behind an eatery. The check-in person was not at the desk, but eating in the breakfast room when we arrived. Our room was located up on the third floor. We found NO ELEVATOR. We hauled our luggage up several flights of stairs and through doors that opened towards us making the trip difficult. We cannot recommend this place to people who travel with more than a light carry-on....
Our corner room on the top floor was quiet though, with functioning central air and a screened window that opened to the outside.The room furnishings were old, but clean. The shower, toilet and sink were in good working order as were the electric fixtures. Wireless internet was easily accessed.The morning breakfast offerings were healthy and filling. Fresh coffee was made while during the 20 minutes we sat there. The price was reasonable.
Again, our recommendation is that unless you specifically request a first floor room, be prepared to the big stair climb.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaporK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

I stay here so ofter they know our names before we even get to the front desk. I would not stay at any other hotel in Independence Kansas. The rooms are clean, and the staff are VERY nice and friendly. Just like staying with family. The pool is clean and so inviting and refreshing. Have a son living in this town and this is the only place I will stay, not even at my son's house, like the quietness of the hotel. Have never been awakened by noise. Always feel very safe and secure.

If you need a place to stay while in Independence, stay here. Don;t waste your money on the others. Also, close to everything in town.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yankokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Nice place looks like the hotel got a face lift on the outside. The place looks better than the picture on the website. I had an associate staying there on business. The staff treated him great. The rooms were nice, clean and quite.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Webstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Booked this motel for a trip to see the Red Sox play @ Royals Stadium. We had one room for 2 nights. When we arrived the room smelled like cat urine and needed a paint job. The pool is small, yet nice if the motel is not full. The lobby was very dirty and the laundry room\breakfast room needed a good cleaning too. The location is perfect for easy access to the game. I suppose that is the reason they do not take care of their motel.

If you can stand the bad carpet and smell, this is a good location. You get what you pay for

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maddmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

The air conditioning in the room was turned up so high that the room was frigid when we arrived. We never did get it set to provide a comfortable temperature throughout the night. The hallways smelled terrible. The room was clean and as advertised. The bathroom is small. Rooms needed more sound insulation. We got to listen to a crying dog and outside noise most of the evening. Breakfast included Krispy Kreme donuts, which was a plus but the other selections were limited. There was no fruit besides green bananas.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank jpec-Caravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
0.1 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Independence
Days Inn Independence
#16 of 18 in Independence
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Kansas City I-70 East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Independence-Kansas City
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
282 reviews
3.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Independence Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Independence Kansas City

Address: 4032 S Lynn Ct Dr, Independence, MO 64055-3360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: $62 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Independence Kansas City 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Independence Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Independence
Super Eight Independence
Super 8 Kansas City
Independence Super 8
Independence Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing