We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the Fried Avocado”
Review of On the Border

On the Border
Ranked #115 of 251 Restaurants in Independence
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: The spirit of sharing Border-Style food lives on today at On The Border.
Restaurant details
Description: The spirit of sharing Border-Style food lives on today at On The Border.
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
186 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Get the Fried Avocado”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

On the Border is still like fast food and fake Mexican, but it's still very good fast food. The fried avocado is wonderful. The soup was salty, but the burrito was good even though I thought it was all a little salty for my diet. But there is something for everyone, and the service is good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryfrances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    19
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good.”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I always enjoy Tex Mex food. There are plenty of options in independence but I always like on the border. The wait staff is always energetic and attentive you always leave happy.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strafford, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“ok - good meal”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

great ambience - great wait staff - loved our waitress - food was good - not too loud - able to carry on a conversation

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bates City Missouri
Level Contributor
189 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We recently visited for their advertised "all you can eat taco" special for $8.99. Your choice of taco meat, chicken or pork.
I started with one pork and one chicken soft shell. First plates comes with rice and your choice of beans. Retried or black. The pork meat was shredded. VERY SALTY, burned my tongue. Couldn't eat it. The chicken was shredded as well that had been simmered in a broth. They obviously forgot to drain the chicken as my plate was full of the broth. Rice was decent. Black beans were good but plain.
My husband ordered for the hard shell taco meat (assumed it was beef) not sure. He said they were just ok. He then ordered two pork. After a couple bites he was done. We had tried years ago when they first opened. Wasn't impressed. Not much has changed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Paleo-ish upon request”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Trying to adhere to a more Paleo influence in my diet. I walked to the restaurant from my hotel. I ordered a wonderful steak fajita dinner....Baja style I think. It had red bell peppers, onions, squash and zucchini. I asked if I could have extra guacamole and veggies instead of refried beans, tortillas, sour cream, and rice. She brought out the plates with tons of fantastic veggies listed above and 3 big dollops of guacamole. It was wonderful!!!

Beware however...the Margarita menu does not have prices. I knew I wanted a top shelf margarita though so I did not ask. It was $9.99!!!! OMG!! It was a good margarita, but geez it was not 10 dollars good!!

Aside from the shock of the liquor price it was a very enjoyable experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Taboodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border also viewed

Independence, MO
Independence, MO
 

Been to On the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing