We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoy your favorites and a few unusual items for Sunday Brunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ophelia's Restaurant & Inn

Ophelia's Restaurant & Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Ophelia's Restaurant & Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 249 Restaurants in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: E Maple Ave
Description: Overlooking the historic Independence Square, Ophelia's offers an infusion of cultural flavors in an eclectic American menu. The steaks, seafood, duck, and lamb are a few of our guest's favorite items. Layers of flavors contribute to all of the dishes we serve. You will find the atmosphere casual, yet romantic at the same time. Ophelia's in Independence is truly a gem off the beaten path.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
148 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Enjoy your favorites and a few unusual items for Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This brunch has all the breakfast items you are looking for (eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, fruit); but it also includes other items that give you a chance to get out of your comfort zone. The smoky plum tomato salad dressing was great, as was the Thai soup. The omelet and waffle station, round out the options. I would be surprised if you could not find something you love among their options. The walnut cake was a great finale.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JLCLJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    41
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
326 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a great place to eat. The staff is excellent and the menu provides a good variety. We liked eating here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike_B52033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not One of My Favorites Anymore”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our salad and soup took forever to get to our table. I ordered the wedge salad - it is 4 leaves of romaine with a very thin blue cheese dressing on it - definately not a wedge and my husband had the soup of the day - it was apparent it had sat under a heat lamp for awhile. As soon as our soup and salad were delivered, they brought our entree's!!!!!! We said to send it back and give us time to eat our first courses. I ordered a Scallop small plate which was really good and worth $14. My husband ordered the Braised Rib special and it should have been a small plate. It was good/tiny but certainly not worth $24. All in all, we will not be going back any time soon!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great staff, great food, great place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

The staff was incredibly nice and helpful on both occasions that I ate there. I enjoyed my eggs Benedict (Hollandaise sauce could have had a bit more flavor) but overall it was delish and the party I was with enjoyed their brunch immensely!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AVHolliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful Easter brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Easter brunch was wonderful, the choices extensive, breakfast items, lots of good salads, tasty vegetable choices, four different main course items, ham, lamb, fish and chicken, fruit, great desserts. Loved the bread pudding and the huge chocolate fountain. We thought it was a very good value. Only complaint would be fish and chicken a little overcooked. Everything else was so good it didn't matter. We have eaten here several times over the years and always enjoy it. Would definitely do brunch again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clbbchlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ophelia's Restaurant & Inn also viewed

Independence, MO
Independence, MO
 

Been to Ophelia's Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing