We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Emergency stop... Peacefull stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Heart Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Heart Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Independence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Emergency stop... Peacefull stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I were driving through Kansas City and needed a place to stay. We ended up having to show up quite late but Melanie was so accommodating and helpful that our quick stay turned out to be the most relaxing part of our trip. We had a beautiful room, our own bathroom, wonderful robes!!!! And the breakfast was incredible the next morning... Glad to have discovered this place. We're in our mid-20's so we're looking forward to several more years to frequent this place. Native to Phoenix, but whenever we're in that part of the country Silver Heart Inn will be our place to stay!

Room Tip: Try to get there earlier as the courtyard is a great place to hang out, as well as the city around h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverheartinn, Owner at Silver Heart Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
So delighted to hear that we became the respite that you needed. A bit of pampering can do wonders, don't you agree? A comfy bed with soothing sheets and comforter, spa robes, and a hearty breakfast can restore even the weariest of travelers. We are glad that you found us too! We look forward to seeing you many times over the coming years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    17
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
84
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Amazing! My boyfriend and I were on a cross country trip and we stopped and stayed at the Silver Heart Inn for a relaxing time and change from hotels and the road. The rooms and charming and have everything you need with an unbelievably comfortable bed. Owners keep the house even with its age to its full potential while retaining all the historic charm. If you love history too too this place has it. When you go ask the owners about the history behind the house, defiantly different but very interesting. In the morning at breakfast, I actually have trouble eating out because of my health and allergies limit me from so much ism considered almost vegan with few acceptations as and can note at other foods as well and even with that the owner talked with me and made a home made breakfast that she discussed before and with me to make sure I got the best experience possible. I highly recommend this place it is comfy, cozy, delicious breakfast, and the owners are so sweet. My parents actually have already made a reservation there for when the travel to see me and the Silver Heart Inn is even kind enough toilet them bring my dog.
THUMBS UP :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverheartinn, Owner at Silver Heart Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Yes, yes, you need to come back and do all the fun things that you didn't have time to do while you where here! Or you can just stay in and relax in our peaceful inn. We love to pamper our guests with special attention to details. I always try to let the guests know what we will be having in case we need to cater to a unique request. Thanks for recommending us to family and friends, that is the greatest compliment we could have from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

The Silver Heart Inn Bed and Breakfast was truly our life saver for our wedding! I can not put into words how wonderful this family is! They went above and beyond for us days before we arrived and till the time we checked out! They make us feel right at home! The Bed and Breakfast was two minutes away from our venue and with out them our wedding would not have been what it was! Our bed was super comfy and breakfast was beyond delicious!!! It was a wonderful place to stay!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverheartinn, Owner at Silver Heart Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Above and beyond was the only option! A wedding day should bliss. Happily, we were able to attend to the details so that the focus should be where it must be. We were so glad to be of service to both the wedding party and the bride and groom. We wish you many happy, long years together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Silver Heart Inn, Bed and Breakfast, is a wonderful place to stay. The neighborhood is very nice and just a short walk to downtown. They are only 20 minutes from downtown KC and 10 minutes to Kauffman and Arrowhead stadiums.
The breakfast was beyond wonderful each morning and there are a lot of hole-in-wall places to eat in Independence, MO.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yates1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverheartinn, Owner at Silver Heart Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
All those hole in the wall places are some of our favorite places to eat, and send our guests to when they ask for fantastic recommendations! Many are located within a nice little walk from our front door, on the historic Independence "Square". Our family often takes our evening walk there just for a bite to eat or fun activities that are offered there. Our easy access to both attractions, and sporting events is definitely what folks like about our location. Come stay with us the next time you come to take in a Royals or Chiefs game.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We were on an extended trip out west and stopped in Independence for the historical attractions. We found Silver Heart Inn on TripAdvisor and we were thrilled with our experience there. The first night we stayed in the Margery Stone Room. It was so elegant! The bed was very comfortable. Melanie has snacks in the rooms for late night hunger attacks and right outside the door was a Keurig coffee maker. My husband was able to have his favorite Chai Tea.The next morning we ate a delicious gourmet breakfast that Melanie prepared. Her sweet 10 year old daughter Lindsey assisted in serving us and we truly enjoyed that!! After a full day of sightseeing in Independence, we decided we needed to stay another night. I called Melanie and asked if we could come back - and I requested the Beach Cottage since I knew it had a washer and dryer. Melanie obliged and we were able to do our laundry. The Beach Cottage is literally that - a cottage. It has a living room, kitchen, bedroom, bathroom and laundry room. We loved it!!! The next morning after our second gourmet breakfast we headed west again. Refreshed and stocked with clean clothes!! We highly recommend Silver Heart Inn!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed at the Silver Heart Inn for two nights last week. Melanie (our hostess) was very helpful with dinner recommendations, and the stay was both relaxing and informative. Independence has just enough historical sights to fill a couple of days, and it was a very short trip into Kansas City for additional museums, etc. If you are coming to see the Harry S Truman sights (highly recommended), you can't find a better place to stay than right here. Very easy to find and just a few short blocks from Independence square. Only possible downside is that there were no king beds available, but we fit just fine in a queen! Very soft and comfy robes provided.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmoaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

I am doing a bike and train trip around the US and the stop here was a little treat after camping for 4 nights. The room was excellent, the breakfast was delicious but it was the personal service that makes me rave about this place. I was experiencing phone issues and Melanie, the Innkeeper, drove me to the store and then was kind enough to drop me at a book store! Now that is service. I would definitely recommend them to anyone going to Independence or Kansaa City.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tammij65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
1.0 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#2 of 18 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
5.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Independence
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Truman Inn
BEST WESTERN Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#3 of 18 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Heart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Heart Inn

Property: Silver Heart Inn
Address: 1114 S Noland Rd, Independence, MO 64050-4560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Heart Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1850's Antebellum home in historic Independence, Missouri. Close to Kansas City attractions and events. Handicapped accessible. Take a moment to step back to an elegant time with all the modern amenities. Lovely garden courtyard for relaxation. Secluded cottage also available on property. Small wedding and events venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Silver Heart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing