We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of Silver Heart Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Heart Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Independence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Silver Heart Inn B&B. Location is great to see the local attractions in Independence, including Truman's home and the Truman Presidential Museum and Library. Restaurants are exceptional in the area: we especially enjoyed the Courthouse Exchange and Orphelia. At the recommendation of our hosts we ventured into Kansas City on Saturday morning (about a 20 min drive) and toured the Steamboat Arabia (this is not to be missed!) and the Hallmark Museum -- both were great recommendations. We appreciated the snacks in the room and the bottled water and pop in a frig in the hallway -- and my husband enjoyed the Keurig that was in the hallway for guests to use. We could not have been more comfortable! B'fasts were "just right" in terms of quantity and exceptional in quality. Our room was quite large -- the bathroom/shower with two sinks was two steps out of the room door. Our hosts were lovely -- and though we usually do not return to places we have been before (so that we can see new places!), I would gladly return here for a few days of r&r.

Room Tip: The Margery Stone room is on the front of the house -- so some traffic, but this did not bother us a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverheartinn, Owner at Silver Heart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

We enjoyed your visit just as much as you did! It's true that there are just so many things to do here in the Kansas City area! We are located close to them all.

Thank you for mentioning many of our lovely amenities, very thoughtfully presented for your use, comfort, and enjoyment. When guests make suggestions of what they like, we listen. We have recently added soft luxury spa robes to every room for our guests to use. One of our guests mentioned in passing that it would be nice. We agreed.

Thank you so very much for your lovely review and sharing us with the Trip Advisor family who may be traveling to the Independence/ Kansas City area.

We wish you happy travels and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 149 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

My husband and I spent two nights in the Shirley Gamble Room. We stayed over the Veterans Day holiday. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was very nice too. Melanie and Perry were very friendly and welcoming. Melanie's breakfasts were filling and delicious! Melanie was wonderful about accommodating my dietary restrictions. The inn is located near a lot of attractions and restaurants. We had such a nice and relaxing time. We highly recommend this inn to others. We will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessLea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverheartinn, Owner at Silver Heart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

We couldn't be more pleased to hear that you had a fantastic experience. The Shirley Gamble Room is a favorite with its romantic bed, spicy exotic wallpaper, and charming fireplace. As a Kansas City area bed and breakfast, we are close to many attractions.

We look forward to your return...Come as a guest, leave as a friend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here on our 13th anniversary. Great place, the owners have done a great job making this historic site a comfortable place to stay. We really enjoyed staying in the beach cottage, and also taking a tour of the house. We were impressed with the wallpaper that was accented by an artist many years ago, yet it looked quite vibrant today.

The hosts are great people, they met us as soon as we showed up, and were always ready to do whatever we needed without hesitation. We enjoyed every minute of our stay here.

Room Tip: The beach cottage is very private. The rooms in the house mean you won't need to go out in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverheartinn, Owner at Silver Heart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Every guest receives the "Royal Treatment" with attention to details and personal care. Our reputation has been built on it!

We are so very happy to hear how you enjoyed your stay with us. The cottage is secluded and an easy walk through the back gate, across the yard. Thank you for recommending both the house and cottage rooms to our future guests. That's the fun part of a bed and breakfast. You can try different rooms each time.

Previous guests have enjoyed them all. We do notice that some have their favorites after a while though. Isn't that nice, coming to your favorite room? Getting away to somewhere comfortable and familiar even when you travel, we call that "going to your happy place."

We look forward to seeing which room you try next. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We decided to visit Independence on our way south. We wanted a location close to the tourist attractions and this lovely B and B fit the bill. Melanie was an excellent hostess who went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable. She offered suggestions on what to see and where to dine that were spot on. Breakfast and our room were above expectations. As we live in the country we did have some trouble getting used to the city noises. This is the only reason I didn't give sleep quality a 5.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverheartinn, Owner at Silver Heart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Whether you are just passing through for one night or having a leisurely stay, I am happy to hear that we offered comfort and rest while you were our guests. It's true that the city offers a different experience than a country inn. There are many things to see in do here in Independence that perhaps you would like to take the time to discover should you be able to plan a longer stay next time. That's one of the things that makes B&Bs so delightful. Other guests have shared that they found even a brief overnight stay a welcome break from the long journey. Easy access from I-70 makes us an idea location. I also cook a nice hearty breakfast to fill you up before getting on the road, with guests often commenting that they did not need lunch! We hope to host you again on your return trip. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

From the first contact with the Inn's owners, Melanie and Perry, to the time when we had to say farewell, our association was a lovely connection with these amazing hosts. Our stay could not have been more pleasing. If we could rate The Silver Heart Inn B&B higher, we would happily do so! The breakfast was incredible, the ambiance amazing with every detail thought of to make every moment perfect! You feel the warmth and experience the hospitality throughout your entire stay! We look forward to our next visit with delightful anticipation!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverheartinn, Owner at Silver Heart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed all the time that you were here. It's exciting to hear that you have enjoyed our ever changing seasonal menus. We will be switching over to our Winter menu at the beginning of December. Each guest is an honored guest! Every detail is attended to so that your stay will be extraordinary. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I recently had an out of town job in Kansas City, MO. I was fortunate enough to have the outstanding experience of staying at The Silver Heart Inn B&B. It is a charming old house and Melanie and her family are outstanding! The breakfast's are amazing to say the least! They rival what you would expect from a five star restaurant. I was pleasantly surprised by their knowledge of the area and willingness to not only suggest tours and sites to see, but to actually personally take me downtown and show me around Independence. They offer a truly one of a kind experience!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHofstadter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverheartinn, Owner at Silver Heart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Your review is just so very nice. Perry and I truly love Independence, it's history, our Square and Englewood. We just enjoy sharing what a treasure this little gem of a city it is! We are also looking to your future visit when you can return for a pleasure trip and have time to take in all that the city of Independence has to offer. Plan on a full week! Other guests have told us that they had such a great time and still didn't get everything done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just spending one night at this immaculate B&B demonstrates why they are already #1 in ratings. Loved hearing (when asked) Melanie and Perry's love story that led to the dream for this B&B. The bed was so very comfortable and the linens were beautiful. How thoughtful to be asked where we would like to sit in the dining room for breakfast - a table for two or to sit with other guests? There were packaged treats in the bedroom and a small refrigerator with complimentary beverages in the common area. The seasonal breakfast was truly gourmet. I do hope Melanie considers writing a cookbook with her favorite recipes - I'm ready to order my copy! Everything about her indicates that she truly loves her family, sharing their historic home, and serving others in a creative style. It is obvious that she and Perry make a great team as B&B owners. Sweet daughter, Lindsay, is already in training by helping serve breakfast! Our brief visit was a memory-maker!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverheartinn, Owner at Silver Heart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

I hardly know what to say except a very humble thank you. You have truly captured our passion for all that we do. There is a "heart" in this Inn for a reason.

Our other guests have shared your enthusiasm for our seasonal delights, but none have suggested a cookbook! Perhaps on your next visit, you might check the gift shop and see if we have put something together. It is something that I promise to give some thought to as I continue to add more dishes for the seasons ahead. It is so much fun cooking for our guests. Please come back soon, we are looking forward to your next visit with much anticipation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
1.0 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#3 of 18 in Independence
252 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
505 reviews
3.7 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
282 reviews
5.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Heart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Heart Inn

Address: 1114 S Noland Rd, Independence, MO 64050-4560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Independence
Price Range: $119 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Heart Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1850's Antebellum home in historic Independence, Missouri. Close to Kansas City attractions and events. Handicapped accessible. Take a moment to step back to an elegant time with all the modern amenities. Lovely garden courtyard for relaxation. Spa tub for relaxation. Museums, culture, jazz, arts, sporting events nearby. Secluded cottage also available on property. Small wedding and events venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Silver Heart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing