We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful House”

Harry S Truman National Historic Site
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: President Harry S Truman took America from its traditional isolationism into the age of international involvement. Despite his power, he never forgot where he came from. Today, visitors can experience the surroundings Truman knew as a young man of modest ambition through his political career and final years as a former president.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful House”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful house where Bess and Harry Truman lived. It was Bess' family home and the home they returned to after the end of his presidency. The Park Ranger who guided our tour was very nice and had answers to all of our questions.

The home really showed the practical side of the Trumans, where the choice was to "make do and mend" rather that replace. The nails in the tear in the linoleum kitchen floor exemplified this attitude.

The upstairs is not available for tours as the strairs themselves are too fragile for the number of visitors each year, but there is plenty to see downstairs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TwoTravelers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    87
    26
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good visit”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I didn't realize that the Truman House was not part of the Library and Museum. I had just been to the Eisenhower Presidential Library the day before so I was expecting everything to be in the same spot and that I only had to park once, The Visitors Center is 5 blocks from the house so you need to keep that in mind when you are planning. The movie was excellent and it allows enough time to get to the house, either by car or walking. Because the house is in a residential neighborhood parking at the house is street parking and is limited so if you have the time walk.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KPNBTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Wonderful Presidential Museum”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have visited this museum several times. The exhibits are always changing and it is a very interesting place to spend a few hours. History galore. Truman made some difficult decisions during his presidency. I always enjoy my visits here.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A good stop!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Our family visited the Truman sites on our recent vacation. This was an interesting stop. You certainly get a feel for how the Trumans lived after they left the White House. President Truman's last car is still parked in the garage. Mark was our tour guide and he was interesting and entertaining.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Virginia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
“Get to Know the real President & Mrs Truman”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you want a real insight into Harry and Bess Truman, you need to visit the Truman Home on Delaware Street in Independence. Before visiting the home, visitors must stop and obtain a ticket from the Visitors Center located on Main Street a few block away. Once you have your ticket, you can proceed to the house for a guided tour by a very friendly and knowledgeable ranger. The Ranger who conducted out tour was one of the best I have had, he was friendly, and seem to really like what he was doing and interacting with visitors. When I last visited the Truman Home in 2010 it was undergoing extensive renovations and was closed. This time the home was open and we entered the house through the back porch and kitchen. The small kitchen is maintained just as it was when President and Mrs. Truman returned here after living in the White House. If you ever doubted that President Truman was tight with the dollar, look no further than the Kitchen where he tacked down the linoleum rather than replace it. All of the furniture in the home belonged to the Truman’s and as I walked through the House I expected the meet President and Mrs. Truman coming down the steps. Visitors are allowed only on the first floor. Even after extensive renovations the upper floors of the home would not support the constant stress placed on it by such a high volume of visitors. Until her death in 2008, Margaret Truman Daniels retained access to second floors and it was closed to the public. I truly enjoyed my visit to the Truman Home and encourage anyone who is in the Independence area to make time to visit this historic home.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SneakinDeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry S Truman National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Harry S Truman National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing