We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harry S Truman National Historic Site
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Nice Truman book selections.

Visited 10/29/18. The visitors center was old and creaky but full of interesting stuff. See the... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Poudre1
,
Bellvue, Colorado
Truman Home a must see

Purchase your tour tickets at the Visitor's Center in Independence. There you will find a gift... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
9Buffalolady20
,
Depew NY
Read all 455 reviews
  
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveler rating
284
120
36
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
284
120
36
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visitor center park ranger park service simple life humble man secret service home life back porch tour tickets passed away short film presidential library humble beginnings parks pass buy tickets home tour personal life
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Visited 10/29/18. The visitors center was old and creaky but full of interesting stuff. See the short but informative movie. The staff was not very friendly or helpful and seemed as if they wanted to be some where besides there and this was at the very start of the day. There were no tickets to be had for that day's tours so I observed the houses from the outside on my own. The main house was nice to see. The visitors center did have some good books to purchase.

Thank Poudre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Purchase your tour tickets at the Visitor's Center in Independence. There you will find a gift shop, restrooms, and a brief introductory movie about Bess and Harry Truman. Tours of the house are timed. It is a short drive to the house. You wait for the parks department tour guide. The tour is guided. There are no photographs allowed in the home. Our tour guide was quite informative and we learned a lot about the Truman's. Don't miss the Nolan house across the street too. There is street parking only.

Thank 9Buffalolady20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First — you have to buy your tickets at the National Park office in downtown Independence, then go to the home for the tour. No tickets are sold at the home. Tours take place at designated times and there is a short video in the NPS office prior to the tour.
Well versed volunteers guide the tour and give you lots of history about the house and the family. Our guide included his own love of this family as he related the facts and helped the history “come alive”. I was disappointed not to be able to see any of the bedrooms or the former President’s car still in the garage. Still, a good tour with lots of facts and a chance to see how the Trumans lived before, during, and after the presidency. I would recommend this tour!

Thank WildwoodCorgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The humble kitchen in the back of the house, the living room where he received guests and the parlor are just as the Trumans left it. Definitely worth seeing. Because it is a National Historic Site, seniors with a National Parks pass get in free.

Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed every minute of our tour of the Truman Home on Delaware Avenue in Independence. The U.S. Park Service has done a fine job preserving the home as it was when President and Mrs. Truman lived there. A knowledgeable park ranger led us on an informative tour through the first floor of the home. (The upper floor is closed to tours.) Tickets must be obtained from the Park Service Visitor Center in downtown Independence where doors open at 8:30a.m CT. Note: No more than eight people are allowed on each tour so it is advisable to obtain tickets early and watch the orientation movie in the Visitor Center.

Thank 1101Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a wonderful privilege to walk inside the home of President and Mrs. Truman where they lived throughout their marriage and up to their deaths. It stands exactly as they left it!

However, as fantastic as the Truman House was, our mandatory advance visit to the Historic Fire Station on the square to purchase our tickets in advance was extremely unpleasant. I am being generous by not mentioning the name of the young female Park Ranger who "sold" us the tickets. She should definitely should not be dealing with the public, as we have never been treated so rudely (and that's saying something as I am 66 years old)! You can imagine our excitement when she showed up at the home to lead our group tour!

I definitely highly recommend the house tour, and you should get your tickets early in the day, as they do sell out! However, hopefully you will have a better Park Ranger without an attitude who actually cares that you are visiting their city!

Thank vshultsTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We didn't know how to rate this attraction since we didn't get in. You had to find the US Park Service Office downtown in Independence and make a reservation to join a tour. The only openings were 1-2 days later. We didn't know this and could only complete a drive by to see the home exterior. The short film in the Park Service Office was informative, but since the group tour size were limited they filled up quickly. Make a reservation and register for a firm time or you won't get in.

Thank Win_Hanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You need to go to a site about 6 blocks away to buy a ticket to go into this house. There is a short movie there that is definitely worth seeing. You get a ticket telling you what time your tour will start. It begins at the gate of the house when a National Park employee comes out to greet you. You walk in the back door of the house into the kitchen. Then into a hallway where you can peak into the living room and study. Then out the front door. That's it!! The guide is interesting but be prepared to not see much of the house. The cost for us was $7.00 each.

Thank MJVT57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

When we planned our trip, we did not know about the Truman home at first. We later discovered it is close to the Truman Library that we were going to see. We were so glad that we found out about this and added it to our trip. You go to the Visitor Center on Main Street in Independence to see a short film and get your timed tour ticket. If you have a National Park Pass, you can get free admission. You drive about 5 blocks from the Visitor Center to go to the Truman Home. It has an iron fence around it and is marked. Park on the street and a National Park ranger will take you on your tour at the appropriate time. The gentleman that led our tour, named Jeff, told some interesting things and we so enjoyed seeing the home. It has been left as it was when the Trumans lived there — which they did for a very long time! On the tour, you only see the downstairs because all the traffic of tours on steps as old as those would make the place deteriorate. There is a website that the ranger mentioned that allows you to see the upstairs. The Truman Library is just down the street from the home but you will want to drive there from the house. While at the Truman home, you can also visit the Noland home across the street. That is where Harry Truman’s cousins lived that he would visit and that is how he met Bess. Nice find and certainly a great addition to your visit to Independence, Missouri!

Thank 2doglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

This is an average tour given by the national park service. It's a definite to do if visiting Independence. The only problem is knowing that you need to get the tour tickets 1/2 mile away.

Thank cppptravel11125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews