We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THe biscuit and gravy are very good. room was small but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Independence
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    55
    55
    39
    30
See reviews for
81
50
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The one and only reason to stay here is it's close to the baseball stadium. I was in KC for business and this place was terrible. There were only 9 rooms booked and the room they gave me had to be the worst in the place--why they would give this terrible room when I had a reservation is a mystery. I opened the door to the room and there were about a dozen flies in the room. I was really tired after a long drive so all I wanted to do was watch a little tv and sleep. Lights off and within 10 minutes a moth the size of a bat started flying around. Shut off the tv opened the door to scoot the moth/bat out--next morning bugs on the bathroom floor. Then I realized that there was a gap all around the door for the bugs to come in--looked like the door was pried open and the door did not fit. I could see daylight all the way around the door. I asked the new owner to do something about the bugs before I returned--he assured me he would call the bug guy and it would be taken care of. LIE!! Returned and the same bugs were on the bathroom floor. Terrible housekeeping. Glad I only had to stay 1 more night and I will never be there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CamMc627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed recently for 1 night. Upon check in, we were pleasantly greeted, and offered cookies. Got to our room and we were pleasantly surprised. Decorated in a contemporary style. Everything looked in very good condition, very clean. Very comfortable bed. Nice sink area. Bathroom a little on the small side. Nice flat screen tv, unfortunately the actual tv signal was not too good, kind of fuzzy/grainy picture at times. Only real room issue we had was the shower head was a little tricky to get a strong stream of water from it.
The breakfast in the morning was good. In addition to the usual hotel breakfast items, they also had biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, and sausage patties. Only knock would be that the juice machine was not working when we were there. Very friendly staffers during breakfast.
Very close to the interstate, only a few miles from the KC Royals stadium. We stayed at three similar places on this trip, both cost more, yet this one was definitely better than one and on a par with the other.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel looks like it was completely redone. The beds are comfy and mattress are new, clean, and comfortable. Bathroom was very small but clean with a full tub. The carpet was clean and new looking. They have direct tv but it is small.

The check in was quick and they switched our rooms when we showed up before check in time so we could get in our rooms early. Breakfast included waffles, cereal, danishes, and bagels. Coffee was good but orange juice tasted watered down.

I traveled with my daughter and felt safe in the area. The hotel room opens to the outdoors but there are several in the area. There is also may places to eat close to the hotel.

Great stay at a quiet hotel with an affordable price. I will be staying again. Rooms look exactly like shown on the hotel website.

Room Tip: There are stairs but if you stay on the first floor you may have to deal with cars pulling in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildcatksu94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Everyone was friendly and the stay was great. it was queit and i got a great sleep. The hotel was also close to the historical sites I wanted to see as well. I was one exit away from the truman sports complex and the rooms were clean. I was also served a nice breakfast in the morning. I recomend the econo lodge

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Started off when we got there at 7pm and there was one car in the lot. All the other hotels in the area were full. Our room was like an icebox and after an hour maybe warmed up to 60 degrees in the room. The deadbolt didn't work and the security chain on the door was missing. The carpet had stains all over it and we actually put down towels to walk on after showering in the barely warm water. The area outside was horrible. There were cop cars in the parking lot and lots of guys walking around the hotel but no one was staying there. After an hour and a half we decided it was just better to get back on the road and drive the remaining 10 hours home. The desk clerk was very friendly though and would have probably got us a room with heat, but the neighborhood just seemed too unsafe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Independence Kansas City
0.2 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Kansas City I-70 East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Independence-Kansas City
3.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
2.7 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Independence

Property: Days Inn Independence
Address: 13712 E 42nd Ter S, Independence, MO 64055-4748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Independence 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Inn Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing