We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, lovely people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Higher Ground Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, lovely people”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I am very glad i chose this hotel to stay at, my decision was based on other reviews and they were certainly not wrong. My room was very comfortable and quiet, with all the amenities you could need and an excellent bed. Common areas, especially the library area, were very nicely appointed and decorated and breakfast is a very good selection. Location could not have been better, opposite the Truman home in a lovely area and a few minutes walk from the town. Staff were very helpful indeed and i would not hesitate to recommend this great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    59
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
54
97
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, IA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Breakfast in the morning in the lower level, a reading library, comfortable rooms of various sizes! A quiet and wonderful place to stay especially if you want to visit the Truman Presidential Library. A wonderful place, quaint but redecorated. Gracious hosts and a beautiful garden. It has a wonderful personality and some decent restaurants within walking distance in Independence. Not for those who need a pool, sauna, or fitness room but a great and comfortable place to stay! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSM_Teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I was visiting Independence to do family genealogy at the Community of Christ national headquarters which was about two blocks from the hotel. Downtown was very close as well and Harry Truman's house is directly across the street. Very well located for dining and shopping. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was more than sufficient for my needs. I highly recommend it. I had a single queen room with plenty of space, good internet access and cable TV. It was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogateacher60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Louis mo.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife and I visited Independence with our 2teenage boys to visit our son and take in a Chiefs game.
Big rooms plenty of sleeping area and great staff make this unique hotel a great place to stay.
Saved over $200 for a 2night stay at a bigger hotel chain.
Great food and shops a short walk away.
Hope to be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillestrom, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We got a room with window facing the nice courtyard. The room was delightful with a comfortable bed. We missed the breakfast because we were 2 minutes late. The breakfastroom closed at 9:00 AM because some people needed the room for a meeting. The breakfast was included with the room so the staff should have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Be aware that some of the rooms do not have ordinary windows, only sky-light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 840Randi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moretajunehartman, Manager at Higher Ground Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hello:
We serve breakfast from 7:00 Am to 9:00 Am every morning and this is told to our guests when they check-in. We are sorry that you were a little late to breakfast, however we can not serve it any longer in the day, especially when meetings are scheduled in the same room. We might suggest a walkup call next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSAWATOMIE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel was clean, very attractive and most comfortable. Staff were friendly/personable and very helpful. Very nice breakfast was included with the room. Location is walking distance to town center and other activities we had planned. I highly recommend this facility and plan to use it again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VIRGINIA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Checked in for game day with three couples the rooms are delightful. It is an excellent location off the beaten path and convenient to the stadiums. Beautiful courtyard to enjoy the fall evening after a lovely dinner in Kansas City Missouri.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debilind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
4.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
3.2 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
475 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#7 of 18 in Independence
605 reviews
5.8 mi away
My Place Hotel - Kansas City / Independence, MO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Ground Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Ground Hotel

Property: Higher Ground Hotel
Address: 200 N Delaware St, Independence, MO 64050-2633
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Higher Ground Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Higher Ground Hotel is a boutique hotel located in a wonderful Historic District across the street from Harry S. Truman's home and close to his library and other attractions. We are within 3 blocks of Independence Square surrounding the Historic Courthouse. There are many restaurants and shops on the Square, plus a movie theater and a bowling alley. There are several museums in our area and many fun things to do like take a covered wagon ride around the area. The hotel has a beautiful garden where you can relax. We have a large selection of Blue Ray Movies that you can watch free in one of our 2 lounges. You can also order High Tea in the Afternoon served in our library or your room. There is much to enjoy at Higher Ground Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Higher Ground Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing