We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Surprise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Higher Ground Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife discovered this great hotel when returning home from a trip to Colorado. What a wonderful hotel. Besides the bonus of being located across the street from Harry Truman's home, the neighborhood was quiet and peaceful. Room was comfortable and the garden just outside our window was lovely and relaxing. Delightful stay and would highly recommend for a getaway weekend for any couple.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a view of the garden. You'll be amazed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveandSandy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 257 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We took the train from St Louis to Independence for a weekend getaway. We arranged with the owners of the hotel to pick us up from the train station. A very nice couple own/run the hotel. It is very clean and brightly decorated. There are many restaurants, small shops and a movie theatre a short walk from the hotel. We plan on returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I discovered this jewel practically in our own backyard! It was our anniversary and we wanted a getaway at last notice. This place was on our Hotel Tonight Ap at a very affordable price. The hotel mgr. was SO very efficient and arranged for us a couples massage upon arrival. We loved it! The hotel was much more intimate than most, extremely clean (!) and fresh, tastefully decorated with interesting antique pieces, and arranged to meet anyone's comfort level. We will definetly recommend to others as well as return ourselves.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited this hotel for a romantic over night stay. The 'Time out for us ' package was a wonderful experience and very affordable. The package consisted of a beautiful room overlooking their garden, a one hour massage, a gift certificate to a local restaurant, and a late check out. During our stay there was a snowstorm, and the owner was so sweet to dust off our car, which was no easy task to accomplish considering it had snowed 10 inches and showed no signs of stopping. The breakfast was delicious and exceeded our expectations. Thanks for a lovely experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view or a skylight room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bre e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The staff were very friendly had helpful. The first snow of the season turned up on our first night, I look our the window and their is the guy from the front desk scrapping the ice off my hire car. A delightful conglomeration of older style furniture not normally seen in a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the Higher Ground for 2 nights and found in charming. The building was restored and attractively decorated. Very convenient for everything. I had the corner room over looking Truman House which was lovely. Only problem was street light which was on all nite and penetrated the thin curtains. Room could have been improved by having thicker curtains which were on other rooms at the hotel.

Owners were extremely nice and helpful and breakfast quite adequate. I would highly recommend staying at the HIgher Ground particularly if you are visiting INdependence for the Truman Museum and House.

Room Tip: Rooms on street side may be affected by the bright street light which did cause some problems in sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I will never stay anywhere else in Independence. The hosts are friendly, the reservations always correct, the public areas charming. Each room is just a little different (I have stayed here many times) and each is inviting with a different view of the historic neighborhood or hotel garden. One of my friends who travels extensively across the United States declared it the cleanest hotel he had ever visited. The historic sites of Independence are very close and downtown Kansas City less than 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElJ338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Independence hotels
4.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
3.2 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
521 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#6 of 18 in Independence
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
5.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
284 reviews
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Independence Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Ground Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Ground Hotel

Address: 200 N Delaware St, Independence, MO 64050-2633
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: $119 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Higher Ground Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Higher Ground Hotel is a boutique hotel located in a wonderful Historic District across the street from Harry S. Truman's home and close to his library and other attractions. We are within 3 blocks of Independence Square surrounding the Historic Courthouse. There are many restaurants and shops on the Square, plus a movie theater and a bowling alley. There are several museums in our area and many fun things to do like take a covered wagon ride around the area. The hotel has a beautiful garden where you can relax. We have a large selection of Blue Ray Movies that you can watch free in one of our 2 lounges. You can also order High Tea in the Afternoon served in our library or your room. There is much to enjoy at Higher Ground Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Higher Ground Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing