We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Higher Ground Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Truman Inn(Independence)(Great Value!)
$78
$72
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Independence(Independence)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
My Place Hotel - Kansas City / Independence, MO(Independence)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$98
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
172
66
17
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
172
66
17
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstruman homeoffice buildingbeautiful gardenhistoric districttruman libraryboutique hotelkoi ponddirectly across the streetkansas cityno windowtown squarefox newsoff street parkingyogurtquiet neighborhoodbowling alleycoin laundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 260 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The staff were very friendly had helpful. The first snow of the season turned up on our first night, I look our the window and their is the guy from the front desk scrapping the ice off my hire car. A delightful conglomeration of older style furniture not normally seen in a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the Higher Ground for 2 nights and found in charming. The building was restored and attractively decorated. Very convenient for everything. I had the corner room over looking Truman House which was lovely. Only problem was street light which was on all nite and penetrated the thin curtains. Room could have been improved by having thicker curtains which were on other rooms at the hotel.

Owners were extremely nice and helpful and breakfast quite adequate. I would highly recommend staying at the HIgher Ground particularly if you are visiting INdependence for the Truman Museum and House.

Room Tip: Rooms on street side may be affected by the bright street light which did cause some problems in sleeping. However, this side also contain the best daytime views. Corner room was larger than only other room I saw there which was on the opposite side of hotel from the one I stayed in.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I will never stay anywhere else in Independence. The hosts are friendly, the reservations always correct, the public areas charming. Each room is just a little different (I have stayed here many times) and each is inviting with a different view of the historic neighborhood or hotel garden. One of my friends who travels extensively across the United States declared it the cleanest hotel he had ever visited. The historic sites of Independence are very close and downtown Kansas City less than 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElJ338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here because all the other Independence hotels looked like dives. Cost $91 for a simple queen room. Small and very hot. Couldn't get our AC to work. Had a difficult time sleeping because the bright lights from the hallway were coming through big cracks in the door. Staff was very friendly. Bfast wasn't as pictured in this review. Simple continental style bfast with yogurt, cereal, toast, fruit. We thought it was too pricey for the value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpencerClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a find in Independence, MO! Beautifully restored from a three story office building, my husband and I consider Higher Ground to be a real find. Across the street from President Truman's home, we found this hotel to be within walking distance of many other historical points of interest. The hotel's decorating was created by the proprietress with stunning colors, window dressings, furniture and all the amenities that were important to us. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. Books, DVD's and common sitting areas were also available in several areas around the hotel that boasts 31 rooms. A lovely large garden with a small fish pond provides a peaceful evening getaway. A simple, yet sufficient continental breakfast is available in the downstairs dining .
If coming into KC to work, I would definitely stay here again and make the drive into the city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews