We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful experience here! Very clean rooms. Smelled clean! Salt water pool was awesome! Thanks Scott for teaching my young boys about how it works! You were very nice! Front desk staff was very nice as well. Vee accommodating to our wishes! Continental breakfast was awesome! Staff kept everything full and warm with the amout of people they were serving! Excellent experience. DEFINETLY will stay here again when in town for our next Royals game!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aeblen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Aeblen,

Thank you for taking the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and I am glad we exceeded your expectations. We really appreciate your comments about our team and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Independence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 408 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

All the staff is always very friendly and knowledgeable about the hotel and the surrounding areas. Scott who takes care of the pool is very good at what he does, the pool and hot tub is very clean and well taken care of. The breakfast area is always well stocked with food and with a great variety of foods. The rooms are clean and have plenty of amenities in the rooms. I would recommend this hotel to any one. I stayed at many hotels in the KC area and I stay at this on 10 times more than the others, about 20 times a year for work and leisure. So go ahead and book your room at the Holiday Inn Express in Independence and enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Jeremy J,

Thanks so much for your loyalty and lovely review. I am so glad you know you can count on us for a comfortable stay, with the best in accommodations and service. We love welcoming you back and look forward to seeing you again soon.


Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Independence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stopped for a quick night stay on our way west. Check in was fine, but we were given the wrong room number and key.... To an already occupied room. Imagine their rude wake up at midnight to someone trying to break into their room.

The hotel hall was dark, the room too bright for sleeping. In the morning when we shared our concerns with the new staff, they were not at all helpful.

Breakfast was fine. The only positive.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Indianagogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Indianagirl,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. I really appreciate your taking the time to share your disappointment and discomfort . I want to personally apologize for the frustration you experienced when the actions of the staff did not meet your expectations, or our standards. We want our guests to be met with a well-trained staff that puts guest comfort and satisfaction before everything else. I am sorry if this was not your experience. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com. I hope you will give us a chance to regain your confidence the next time you are in our area.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Independence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was our second stay here in 2 weeks. Both times were last minute due to tournament schedule changes...the price could be a little better, but overall it works. The pool, laundry, and breakfast are all we require and they actually surpass in those areas from other comparable hotels we've stayed at. Breakfast...lets go there. Mariah, the breakfast attendant, she kills it every morning! If you want to see someone bust it, it won't take you long to notice her. She never stops, everything is hopping for 3 hours. Do you like bacon? Their bacon is awesome! The pancake maker is a kid favorite, and SO much better than the waffle maker that you get at other hotels. Deanna, at the front desk, is very accommodating, friendly and attentive to your stay. And to finish this up...the location is spot on. Kind of stuck on the back side of a hill and quiet, yet you are minutes away from anything you need. Mall, Quick Trip, many many restaurants, Costco, sporting complexes, Bass Pro Shop, I could go on and on. Glad we found this hotel...we'll return again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lotsasports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Lotsasports,

Thank you very much for sharing your remarks about your stay with us. Mariah and Deanna are wonderful and inspire all of us to do our best, with every guest, every day. I'll ensure they are properly acknowledged for being mentioned here by you. We are happy to be of service and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Independence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I were traveling with our daughter and her two children and her two dogs. We stayed in a room with a kng size bed and they stayed in a room with two double beds. We called late in the day and got 2 of the last three rooms. This place accepts dogs for a small extra fee. Everything went smoothly and we had a good, albeit short stay.

Room Tip: They all seam to be about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanttogotoall50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Wanttogotoall50,

Thanks for posting your review about our hotel. We're very happy you like us and what we do here. It’s fun for us too, when our guests travel with their four legged furry family member, and we get to meet and make friends with them. We appreciate your business and hope to see you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Independence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This Holiday Inn was fantastic. We stayed at the Holiday Inn with the water park on the way into Kansas and this one on the way out. We did not have a reservation ahead of time at either as we were on the road and not sure where we would be when we needed to find a room. The first one was overcrowded, rude, dirty, no free breakfast available or paper that we could find and hard to get out of at check out. THIS one was FANTASTIC!!! The pool was great, hot tub separate and wonderful, CLEAN, papers and breakfast available and good. The room was amazing with kitchenette. My husband was ill and Robert at the front desk helped me get the room situated and make sure he was doing alright. He even gave me a cookie and soda for us both :) Can not say enough good things about this place. Will stay here next time through as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ang E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thanks for posting your fantastic A++++ review about our hotel. We're very happy you like us and what we do here, and that you'll be coming back to stay with us. Robert is terrific, and I'll be sure he receives the positive recognition he deserves for being mentioned here by you. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had a problem with my phone and within two minutes a man named Scott was up to fix it. Ended up being just a plug so we laughed about it, and he was extra nice and friendly. Will stay again when in the KC area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbutler115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#6 of 18 in Independence
666 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Independence
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence
3.8 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence

Address: 19901 E Valley View Pkwy, Independence, MO 64057-1597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: $116 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Independence-Kansas City, Missouri is conveniently located near the Arrowhead and Kauffman Stadiums, home of both the Kansas City Chiefs Football and the Royals Baseball teams. You will also be surrounded by a variety of dining establishments that are within walking distance. The hotel is located minutes away from the Independence Center shopping mall, which makes for an easy visit to the wide variety of stores lining the 39th Street Shopping District.The hotel is also located just a few blocks from the new Center Point Medical Center, as well as Bass Pro.The Holiday Inn Express is the best place to stay if you are visiting the Harry S. Truman Library and Museum which is now showing the Truman and Israel exhibit. Make sure to see the Truman Home, Truman Courthouse and Office, as well as the Truman Memorial. The hotel is also conveniently located to visitors of the National Frontier Trails Museum, launching point of the Oregon Trail, as well as the Santa Fe and California Trails.Be sure to visit the Bingham Waggoner Estate and the Historic Independence Square! The Mormon Visitors Center, Community of Christ Temple and Auditorium, Hidden Valley Sports Complex, and The Sports Lodge are also conveniently located. We are minutes from the Sprint Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Independence Hotel Independence
Holiday Inn Independence
Independence Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Independence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing