We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place - A Salt Water Pool and Spa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Jewell, Kansas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Place - A Salt Water Pool and Spa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We again enjoyed our stay! The staff is so friendly, welcoming and helpful. We were glad Scott told us about the new salt water pool and spa! It was great but we are really looking forward to the lifts to get into and out of the pool and spa. Our daughter is handicapped and we are very appreciative of this addition to your facility. Thanks again to everyone and especially Scott for the Milk Bone for our dog and telling us about the changes in the pool. See you next time we are in Independence!

Room Tip: If you or a companion are handicapped, we like room 128.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerma1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that your entire family enjoyed your stay, and ook forward to welcoming you back and serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    71
    16
    11
    11
See reviews for
139
51
15
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel is very clean, spacious rooms that include a mini-fridge and microwave, and a nice big flat-screen TV. The breakfast is good, and the staff is very friendly. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post your comments and 5 star rating. It is always our pleasure to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a nice Holiday Inn Express. The front desk clerk was very friendly, fast and efficient. The room was nice and spacious. Nice flat screen TV with a good selection of channels. The bed was nice and firm. There was little noise from the hallway or other rooms. Good hot water and plenty of water pressure in the shower. They have a nice fitness room although I wasn't crazy about being on display for everyone walking down the hallway. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choices with some good hot food. I highly recommend this restaurant and will go back when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusymanMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your visit and good review. It's always nice to receive positive guest feedback and we really value your recognition of jobs well done by our team. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to serving you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I am in the process of relocating to the Kansas City area for a military move. Upon arrival I did not know the area and how long I would need to stay in a hotel for house hunting. I ended up checking into this hotel and it was the best choice I made. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodated me throughout my lengthy stay. Scott Johnson the chief engineer provided top notch service and was very courteous. The staff from the front desk, breakfast, and domestic workers were A+.
Thank you for everything
Latoya Williams

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank latoya w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your service to our country and for choosing our hotel as your temporary home till you got a more permanent one here. We know you had a lot of hotels to choose from and really appreciate your business and nice comments. You know you are always welcome here and we hope we can serve you again should the need arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent one night stay experience. Richard made us feel like family and went out of his way to make our stay nice. Breakfast was great. Entire hotel staff was very cordial, courteous, and friendly. Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene66-71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your remarks about your stay with us. Richard is terrific and inspires all of us to do our best, with every guest, every day. I'll ensure he is properly acknowledged for being mentioned here by you. We are happy to be of service and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

From the time we arrived and throughout our visit my husband and myself felt at home. Upon arrival the staff accomadated us even though we were somewhat earlg. They were very patiwnt with ohr young grandchilxrsn who were very excited. The staff greeted us and were very accommoxating. They were alwayz courteous and willing to assist us. The general engineer Scott is exemplary. He always grsets us and has assisted us with many things. He truly lo ves his job and isan azset for his company. He takes much prixe in his work and it shows.next time we come to Independence we will stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlk1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and posting your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team, and will make sure they are rewarded for their efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and serving you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Excellent overall experience. Scott makes you feel like family. They respond to your needs even before you ask. Breakfast was better than any other hotel I ever stayed at. They're commitment to making you feel at home definitely ranks above other hotels we stayed at before. This hotel will always remain our only choice of hotels when we return again. Great work Holiday Inn Express. You will always have our business.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PCK1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and I am glad we exceeded your expectations. We really appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
1.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#3 of 18 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#6 of 18 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Truman Inn
BEST WESTERN Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Independence
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Address: 19901 E Valley View Pkwy, Independence, MO 64057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Independence-Kansas City, Missouri is conveniently located near the Arrowhead and Kauffman Stadiums, home of both the Kansas City Chiefs Football and the Royals Baseball teams. You will also be surrounded by a variety of dining establishments that are within walking distance. The hotel is located minutes away from the Independence Center shopping mall, which makes for an easy visit to the wide variety of stores lining the 39th Street Shopping District.The hotel is also located just a few blocks from the new Center Point Medical Center, as well as Bass Pro.The Holiday Inn Express is the best place to stay if you are visiting the Harry S. Truman Library and Museum which is now showing the Truman and Israel exhibit. Make sure to see the Truman Home, Truman Courthouse and Office, as well as the Truman Memorial. The hotel is also conveniently located to visitors of the National Frontier Trails Museum, launching point of the Oregon Trail, as well as the Santa Fe and California Trails.Be sure to visit the Bingham Waggoner Estate and the Historic Independence Square! The Mormon Visitors Center, Community of Christ Temple and Auditorium, Hidden Valley Sports Complex, and The Sports Lodge are also conveniently located. We are minutes from the Sprint Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Independence Hotel Independence
Holiday Inn Independence
Independence Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Independence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing