We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast worker..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I am so very impressed with Mariah. How wonderful yo start my morning being greeted by such a lovely, kind.young lady! Mariah has a sweet smile and such a lovely, helpful spirit...makes me look forward to breakfast tomorrow!!

Room Tip: We had A king suite..very relaxing and comfortable..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your remarks about your stay with us. Mariah is terrific and inspires all of us to do our best, with every guest, every day. I'll ensure she is properly acknowledged for being mentioned here by you. We are happy to be of service and appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 398 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Great location with great customer service. Room was clean and comfortable. Continental Breakfast was your usual for a holiday inn express, however the Breakfast attendant was extremely friendly and helpful. Perfect spot for a quick overnight on our way south.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you taking the time to write and submit your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we want all our guests to be happy they decided to stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope we can welcome you back and thank you in person soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had a wonderful experience. We arrived at 3:30 p.m. Unfortunately our room wasn't ready. It wasn't a big deal to us, but we were given bonus award points for our wait. That was very nice. We only waited about 20 minutes for our room. The room was spacious. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean. They even had our roll away bed ready when we entered the room. For the first time we didn't have to call back down. I really appreciated that. The hotel was completely filled that evening, but we wouldn't have known because the rooms were very quiet. You couldn't hear anyone in the hallway either. The breakfast was hot and kept up to speed. The wonderful lady at breakfast even told me that freshest coffee pot. Lots of good mornings and have a nice day from everyone. Made it pleasant.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcsmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and posting your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We arrived after a 15 hour drive with two boys and our therapy dog duke. Check in was easy and we were offered choice of drinks. There is a nice jogging trail a short walk from the hotel that goes past shopping and restaurant areas and into a pretty wooded area. The trail goes by a river and was a treat for us after long car ride. The trail also goes by nice playground area and coldstone creamery. The hotel is directly near bbq restaurant as well as many other nice restaurants and shopping, it was nice to not have to get back into the car. The hotel is clean, modern, and has a nice indoor pool area as well as workout room. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom was clean and modern. The next morning we enjoyed a fantastic breakfast that included fresh pancakes, bacon, eggs, biscuits, gravy, asst breads, and cinnamon rolls. They also offerred yogurts, asst cereals, and oatmeal. We left refreshed and happy. Oh yeah they loved duke and gave him a big milkbone.

1  Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thanks for choosing our hotel and sharing your comments. I'm glad you and your family were able to relax and unwind from your long trip while you were here. We take a great deal of pride in our people and operations and endeavor to deliver a terrific experience to every guest, including the four legged furry family members. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

A wonderful experience was had during our stay! Scott was remarkable, friendly, and fun. He is great! He went out of his way for us!
Tiffany at the desk was a real help also. She came to our aid in the night, issues with our TV Mariah had a great breakfast. Our room was clean and cheery. Loved our restful stay and your staff.We definitely will return!

Room Tip: check out the TV. make sure it works well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you very much for making your very first TA review about your recent stay with us. It is always our pleasure to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We really appreciate compliments to members of our team, and I'll be sure they receive the positive recognition they deserve for being mentioned here by you. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had three rooms for a family trip. The front desk lady was extremely nice as was the maintenance man. The hotel shows a little age, but was clean. They are still putting money into it as witnessed by a sidewalk repair and landscaping being done.

The rooms were clean and of average size. The amenties were on par with what one can expect from this star level.

One person in our party could hardly sleep due to the pillows. She stated that even their pillow marked as firm was not firm enough. Things like that are subjective though as I found the pillows fine because I like soft pillows. Another in our party lauded the hotel for being extremely quiet.

The breakfast was fine and consisted of the standard fare. If you can get this hotel at a good price, I am guessing you will find it suitable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your family and taking the time to share your comments. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide, and appreciate your understanding about the pillows. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you here in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Friendly folks here! Scott made me feel especially welcome with his great attitude and smile. The room was immaculate, the bed comfy and, as always, HI Express exceeded my expectations. Lot's of restaurants to choose from all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eurekasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post your comments and 5 star rating. It is always nice to receive guest feedback about the wonderful service they've received, and I'll be sure that Scott is recognized for being mentioned here by you. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#5 of 18 in Independence
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Independence
3.8 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#6 of 18 in Independence
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence

Address: 19901 E Valley View Pkwy, Independence, MO 64057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: $122 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Independence-Kansas City, Missouri is conveniently located near the Arrowhead and Kauffman Stadiums, home of both the Kansas City Chiefs Football and the Royals Baseball teams. You will also be surrounded by a variety of dining establishments that are within walking distance. The hotel is located minutes away from the Independence Center shopping mall, which makes for an easy visit to the wide variety of stores lining the 39th Street Shopping District.The hotel is also located just a few blocks from the new Center Point Medical Center, as well as Bass Pro.The Holiday Inn Express is the best place to stay if you are visiting the Harry S. Truman Library and Museum which is now showing the Truman and Israel exhibit. Make sure to see the Truman Home, Truman Courthouse and Office, as well as the Truman Memorial. The hotel is also conveniently located to visitors of the National Frontier Trails Museum, launching point of the Oregon Trail, as well as the Santa Fe and California Trails.Be sure to visit the Bingham Waggoner Estate and the Historic Independence Square! The Mormon Visitors Center, Community of Christ Temple and Auditorium, Hidden Valley Sports Complex, and The Sports Lodge are also conveniently located. We are minutes from the Sprint Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Independence Hotel Independence
Holiday Inn Independence
Independence Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Independence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing