We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff & Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Staff & Accomodations”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The staff is excellent, friendly and accomodating. The hotel and rooms very clean and full of amenities and comfortable. The location very convenient and in a very nice area. We took a large group for a soccer tournament and with that many people it's easy for something to go wrong, but nothing did. Everything was made easy for us from check in to check out, including extra towels, early breakfast for our group, suggestions on dining in the area, directions to our events. We will be back the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Pool is on the first floor so upper levels are quieter I'm sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thanks so much for your great review and recommendation, we really appreciate it. We take a lot of pride in making sure everyone has a problem free stay, and work especially hard to make sure that our groups happy they chose to stay with us. We look forward to having you all back here the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    72
    16
    11
    12
See reviews for
150
52
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This Holiday Inn Express is very clean, and the staff is very helpful. But, that being said. I was extremely disappointed to find out that the pool, and hot tub was shut down for construction.
We were told we could "use the pool and hot tub next door at the Comfort Inn". When I asked. "Why wasn't this listed so we would know ahead of time". I was told, "It just came up"!
If you are planning to stay here anytime soon, and want to use a pool, and hot tub. You better call first, or you could get surprised.

Now after planning a weekend get-a-way, this didn't start things off well.
Next, we had to change rooms, because the bed was as hard as the floor! The next room was better, but not much.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trans4med
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am truly sorry that the pool was down during your visit - it was one of those things that started as a very small repair that lead to another unknown problem and repair and on and on for two days. We hadn't intended to close the pool for the initial cosmetic repair, and determined the other repairs were necessary at that time, resulting a big disappointment for you and many others. If you would like to discuss this further and give me the opportunity to make it right for you, please contact me privately. I hope you will consider giving us another chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

My brother and his girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel the weekend of the Kenny Chesney concert and it was a very good experience. The staff was friendly and we got checked in and out very quickly and they were very good at accomidating our needs. The rooms are nice and clean. I would recommend staying at this hotel if your in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thanks so much for staying with us and rating your experience here. I'm glad you were pleased with the accommodations & service we provided. There's always something going on here, and we hope you will stay with us again the next time you come for a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Staff was friendly, funny, and accommodating! Had a great night's rest and a wonderful breakfast in the morning! Would recommend anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eggy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thanks for the super review and recommendation! Holiday Inn's Motto is "Great Hotels - Guests Love" and we're so glad you agree. Must be because you have such good taste! We're looking forward to our next opportunity to serve you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We always stay here when visiting the Kansas City area. The staff is friendly, the rooms nice, and the breakfast is status quo HIE. One real plus is that the hotel is within walking distance of several good restaurants. In fact, Rib Crib is right across the parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bear7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you very much for your loyalty and comments. We agree that the Rib Crib serves terrific food, and are lucky to have them (and others) so close. We work hard to keep our returning guests happy they chose us, and we really appreciate your recognition of our efforts, which I will share with the entire team. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur D Alene
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We arrived to find that our reservation had a"glitch" - the front desk staff (Deanna & Mathew) solved our situation in a friendly, professional and prompt fashion. This set the tone for a pleasant stay - we will be back! Parker Woodall

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parker1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thanks so much for sharing your experience. Deanna & Matthew are terrific & inspire all of us to do our best at all times, I'll be sure to give them the positive recognition they deserve for being mentioned here. We look forward to our next opportunity to be your hotel of choice in Independence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Central Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Following a brief business stop south of the KC area, I used this property as a layover before flying home out of KC International the next day. I think this HI Express has the potential to be a great hotel, but I experienced too many negatives during my short stay to give it higher marks. Situated just off of I-70 and in the midst of several shopping and dining establishments, this hotel's location is one thing in its favor. Unfortunately, the great location didn't carry over to great service. Perhaps I caught them on a bad day, but I found the reception at both check-in and checkout to be lukewarm at best. My room was clean, spacious and nicely furnished, but the AC unit was having a difficult time keeping up with the hot summertime temperatures outside, so it wasn't the most comfortable night's sleep I've ever had. I had an early morning flight, so I wasn't able to stick around for their complimentary breakfast, but they did set out muffins and coffee for early departers, which I thought was a nice touch. Perhaps a longer stay would have given his hotel a chance to live up to its potential, or it could have just unearthed more flaws? It's difficult to say and with so many other hotels in the area I'm not sure I'd stay again to find out.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RotzAndFrotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. I am very sorry that you did not receive better service, please accept my sincere apology. I will use your comments in discussions and training to improve our delivery of great service and to emphasize the need for everyone to really connect in a positive way with our guests. I do hope you will give another chance to earn your loyalty in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#7 of 18 in Independence
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Independence
3.8 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
474 reviews
5.7 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#3 of 18 in Independence
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Address: 19901 E Valley View Pkwy, Independence, MO 64057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Independence-Kansas City, Missouri is conveniently located near the Arrowhead and Kauffman Stadiums, home of both the Kansas City Chiefs Football and the Royals Baseball teams. You will also be surrounded by a variety of dining establishments that are within walking distance. The hotel is located minutes away from the Independence Center shopping mall, which makes for an easy visit to the wide variety of stores lining the 39th Street Shopping District.The hotel is also located just a few blocks from the new Center Point Medical Center, as well as Bass Pro.The Holiday Inn Express is the best place to stay if you are visiting the Harry S. Truman Library and Museum which is now showing the Truman and Israel exhibit. Make sure to see the Truman Home, Truman Courthouse and Office, as well as the Truman Memorial. The hotel is also conveniently located to visitors of the National Frontier Trails Museum, launching point of the Oregon Trail, as well as the Santa Fe and California Trails.Be sure to visit the Bingham Waggoner Estate and the Historic Independence Square! The Mormon Visitors Center, Community of Christ Temple and Auditorium, Hidden Valley Sports Complex, and The Sports Lodge are also conveniently located. We are minutes from the Sprint Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Independence Hotel Independence
Holiday Inn Independence
Independence Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Independence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing