We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2011

When checking in,the young man behind the desk was courteous & helpful when we asked questions. Our room & bathroom was clean, neat & well stocked. The front desk was helpful with maps & directions to places of interest. There were many good restaurants across the street, plus fast food available. Breakfast was basic but o.k. If in the area again, we would stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doloe76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2011

Thank you for your business and for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here, and hope you understand that our breakfast products & selections are completely determined by our brand. Our location is so convenient to many restaurants, shopping and attractions, parking and traffic are never a hassle. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the Kansas City/Independence area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 408 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2011

We have had the opportunity to stay In Independence, Mo at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites many times over the past six months. Randy and the staff have always been helpful, professional and made us feel at home. They have recommended some wonderful restaurants and places of interest in the area, as well as providing a clean and restful hotel experience. This Holiday Inn is conveniently located to the Independence Events Center to watch the Missouri Mavericks and take in the historical places of interest, as well as close to attractions in Kansas City. I would recommend this hotel and it's wonderful staff to everyone.

Room Tip: Call and talk to any member of the staff directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mavmom57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2011

Thank you very much for your loyalty and for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel and in the area. Randy is terrific and inspires all of us to do our best every day. We look forward to your next visit when we can offer you more attractions and restaurants to try and enjoy. Please let us know when you will be back so we can welcome you in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

I've stayed at hundreds of hotels worldwide for both business and leisure travel over the years. This is the cleanest I've ever stayed at. (check where the carpet joins the walls... you won't see any dust or narrow trails of dust like is often seen when hallway carpets are vaccumed) The entire place felt clean -- like your house after you've cleaned it.

The lounge/breakfast area was equally clean... and neat! The lady who worked in that room took pride in what she did... that was obvious. She was also friendly and polite. Food available was way above average and what I expected.

Would I stay there again? As a Minnesotain, I'd say "Ya... you betcha!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank whitefish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

Minnesota, eh? Our GM is from Cass Lake, and our company HQ is in Duluth, so we are especially pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us; thanks for taking the time to write and post your comments. Our housekeeping team is quite competitive and are encouraged to inspect each other’s rooms - they all work to impress each other, so everyone benefits. Dottie, our breakfast hostess has been with us for almost a year now and inspires everyone start their day with a smile and do their best at all times. Please let us know when you will be back so we can welcome you in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This was the last stop on a week long road trip. We wished we would have stayed longer.
After a long drive from Hot Spring, AR, we checked into this hotel and were greeted by name. It turns out we were the last to check in that night.
The rooms were really nice, clean and comfortable. There were extra pillows and linens for the sleep sofa, which we didn't have at other places. The bathroom was very clean. We liked the sink outside the bathroom, as well as one inside.
Typical HIE fare, but the breakfast room was big, bright and really open. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. I usually stay with friends when I go to KC, but I consider staying here again, instead of with friends for free!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2011

Thanks so much for your great review of our hotel. We love what we do and want every guest to have a terrific stay, every time. We are honored that you will consider staying with your new friends, here at our hotel, the next time you come to visit, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We would have never found this hotel without a GPS. It’s located close to a mall and overall very busy, complicated (for someone unfamiliar with the town) area. It looked brand new, so I was surprised to read that it is really 6 years old. Our room was comfortable and clean and we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lojo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2011

Thanks for your posting your comments. We know you have many lodging choices and really appreciate your business. All Holiday Inn Express hotels will be adding pancakes to our breakfast menus – we hope you will like them, too. We are looking at additional signage to make us easier to find as there is a lot going on here. We are glad you were able to enjoy yourself while you were here and look forward to serving you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We enjoyed the hotel as a whole. the front desk was great! Our only issues were with the breakfast area. First the lady working there seemed to not like her job, she seemed very crabby. It is the "Hospitality Industry". Second, this seems to be an issue at some hotels that offer breakfast. People not wearing shoes while in the dining area. The properties should think about posting signs that require shoes & shirts (restaurants do). I would think the local health department feels the same.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rodeocwby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that our hostess did not give you the excellent service she generally does, and we will use your email in training sessions to point out that every guest contact is important. We agree that people should wear shoes and shirts in the breakfast area, and have ordered signed to that effect. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Stayed here for one night - nice location, lots of restaurants nearby, Independence mall about 5 min. away. Nice continental breakfast which includes biscuits & gravy and sausage and eggs on top of your usual continental breakfast items such as cereals. Had to call down to the front desk about 8:30 p.m. as we still didn't have the comforters for our beds - upon check-in (at 3:30) we were told they would be up in a little bit b/c they were being washed - not a huge deal just an inconvenience. Pool a little on the small size but at least they had one. Would stay here again for the price & free internet.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jlafrentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel. I apologize that you didn’t get the comforters for your beds – clearly we did not perform at our usual high standards in your case, and your experience will be used in training to avoid this occurring in the future. The new HIE hot breakfast is very popular, and we are glad you enjoyed that and found value for your money. Thanks for giving us another chance to earn your loyalty – we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#6 of 18 in Independence
668 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Independence
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence
3.8 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence

Address: 19901 E Valley View Pkwy, Independence, MO 64057-1597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: $113 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Independence-Kansas City, Missouri is conveniently located near the Arrowhead and Kauffman Stadiums, home of both the Kansas City Chiefs Football and the Royals Baseball teams. You will also be surrounded by a variety of dining establishments that are within walking distance. The hotel is located minutes away from the Independence Center shopping mall, which makes for an easy visit to the wide variety of stores lining the 39th Street Shopping District.The hotel is also located just a few blocks from the new Center Point Medical Center, as well as Bass Pro.The Holiday Inn Express is the best place to stay if you are visiting the Harry S. Truman Library and Museum which is now showing the Truman and Israel exhibit. Make sure to see the Truman Home, Truman Courthouse and Office, as well as the Truman Memorial. The hotel is also conveniently located to visitors of the National Frontier Trails Museum, launching point of the Oregon Trail, as well as the Santa Fe and California Trails.Be sure to visit the Bingham Waggoner Estate and the Historic Independence Square! The Mormon Visitors Center, Community of Christ Temple and Auditorium, Hidden Valley Sports Complex, and The Sports Lodge are also conveniently located. We are minutes from the Sprint Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Independence Hotel Independence
Holiday Inn Independence
Independence Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Independence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing