We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing”

Salvatore's Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 249 Restaurants in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We are at a loss to know why this restaurant is rated so highly. My chicken in the Pollo Salerno dish was overcooked. Even the sauce didn't make up for the dryness. My husband's veal "Garrozo" had a breading that was very grainy, with meat so thin it was barely there. The sauce had no lemon flavor as described on the menu. When we first sat down, the air conditioner was blowing cold air on my back. The waitress said she would turn the fan off it kept blowing. even after changing our seats we both had to eat with our jackets on.
'

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank amom4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    12
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
1 review
“"Amazing food and service"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Salvatore's is by far, one of the best Italian restaurants we have ever been to! The food was very authentic and served in generous portions. Our server was very pleasant, prompt and knowledgeable about the menu. And the ambience was perfect! Very old world Italian setting!!!! A must try if you are in the area!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The spaghetti was great but the linguine with seafood in white sauce was unbelievable. I usually don't like white sauce but this was fantastic. The salads were great and the service was very good. Yes this was one of the best meals of my life. Restaurant was clean.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Goshawk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A "Must Eat Here" when we go to Kansas City!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Best Italian restaurant ever! Don't expect great ambiance - you won't find it. The only thing you will find is awesome food at moderate prices and busy but friendly wait staff. This restaurant is in our Garmin to stay!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BARB S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Who Knew?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

WOW! Best Italian food ever and we are Italian! Who knew that in Independence Missouri you could find Italian food like that? We travel extensively and my husband loves to cook his mother's recipes from the old country and this place blew us away! The owner was on site and very involved, the wait staff was friendly but most importantly the food was magnificent! We have no family in the area but we'll be back for the food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Well-Traveled123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvatore's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Salvatore's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing