We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comfort food”

Salvatore's Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 252 Restaurants in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good comfort food”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I've dined at this restaurant on many occassions and have never had a bad experience. Great place for Sunday brunch with friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FriendlyAdvisor44535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    12
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great Atmosphere, Service and Food! We eat here at least once a month for the past 12 years and almost always the same. Chicken Spendini and Gorozzo are the best. Used to eat down town at the Gorozzo's on Harrison starting in 93 but when they opened this one in Independence, we started coming here. They raised the prices downtown after the fire and they are too busy, plus the service does not compare to Salvatore's.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love Salvatorre's”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We visit Salvatorre's for our special occaisions, Birthdays, Anniversary, Bad day at work. The Spedini is fabulous, the steak modiga is great and the service is even better. Can't wait for the next event in our life to celebrate.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank krj0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, better service”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I went to dinner at Salvatore's Restuarant after looking over some of Tripadvisor's recommendations. We were quite pleased with our dinner. The waitress was very accomodating, and was able to customize our choices. My husband had pasta with vegetables with garlic and oil and delicous soup. I had fried cheese ravioli and a gigantic salad. The waitress and busboy were quite attentive throughout our meal. If you want authentic, good Italian food in Independence, go to Salvatore's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LyndaNorwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food still is good as I remember, but the service has declined”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had not been to Salvatore's in 8, perhaps 9 months. The welcoming smells and "just like home" look brought back good memories. Frank still plays on the music rotation in the background. And the food was spot on - just as good as it always was.

But our server was off the night we were there. Not refilling water glasses, or offering. Double charging for a beverage. Haphazard efforts to serve different people at the table first (instead of the ladies). Appetizer, salads and entree's that night (but no dessert, the portions are always filling).

I will go back because there is only so long I can go without the great food. But I will ask for someone else for my waiter.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvatore's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Salvatore's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing