We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food, always a wait”
Review of Cheddar's

Cheddar's
Ranked #9 of 249 Restaurants in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
335 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, always a wait”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

They have excellent food and reasonable prices. There is always a wait but the food is worth it. The menu has many choices. In my opinion the food is better than similar restaurants in this category.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    42
    30
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Independence,MO
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Love to eat here. Food is very reasonable nothing over $15!Steaks are as good as any high priced steak house. Lots of variety something for everyone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pjladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was the first restaurant that we ate at during our stay. A couple people in our party had never been to Cheddar's at all so this was their first time. Others have been to other restaurants and was expecting the same service and quality. The restaurant was clean and has a nice environment. The waitress was nice and somewhat attentive. We ordered and it took a while to get our food. When the food finally arrive, it was not hot at all which didn't make me very happy. So we ended up sending 3 of the 5 dishes back due to them not being hot. It took some time for the order to be prepared for a 2nd time. Then when I received my order, once again the cheese was not melted and I didn't enjoy it. I just asked the waitress to take it away. Two in my party ordered the catfish and said that it tasted fake. One ordered the spasagna (or something like that) and it looked like a block of cheesy spaghetti topped with meat sauce. Didn't like it. I personally ordered the philly cheese steak and it was very bland and had not taste to it.

Overall, I would not eat at this Cheddar's again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Avalonchocl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The food here is pretty good and the prices are reasonable but there is nothing really special about it, that you can't get at any other similar place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boggs101_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
167 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Decent Food, Terrible Service”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

If you get a server that is a shorter guy with dark shaggy hair and a goatee, then just leave before you order. His service was so poor it ruined everything about the meal. Drinks were not kept refilled. We asked for extra sauce with our appetizer, and after having to ask again several times, he didn't bring it out until we were finishing the meal. He forgot to bring the salads that were supposed to come out before the entrees. I don't mean he brought them late, but rather the salads never came at all. Food came out on plates that had a lot of food stuck on the bottom of them. It's not hard to check to see if the plates are clean before delivering the food to the table. Overall it was just a really disappointing experience, and it was hard to enjoy the rest of what would have otherwise been a pretty good meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheHighwayWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheddar's also viewed

 

Been to Cheddar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing