We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clinton's phosphates”

Clinton's Soda Fountain
Ranked #1 of 8 Dessert in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
austin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Clinton's phosphates”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The phosphate syrup had a good flavor but they didn't have enough of the fizziness in them. There were lots of ice cream and sundae choices that we didn't try.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    38
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holton, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“nice addition downtown”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

it was cute but i thought it was an old fashioned soda fountain and it is just a new soda place. my malt was good.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Blast from the Past Soda Shop”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Authentic soda shop. Yummy Hot Fudge Sundaes. Quant and fun shop gives you feeling of being in the past.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Woodstock Inn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,310 helpful votes
“Nothing Special, But You Go For the Nostalgia”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

While visiting Independence, Missouri with my family and learning all about Harry Truman, we decided to stop here because it is where Harry worked his first job in that building at what used to be a drugstore and ice cream parlor. It is now just an ice cream shop. The old-time counter is still there and now retro chairs and tables occupy the back portion of the store. They also have a wall of retro candy and souvenirs and map to place a tack in the city of your hometown.

The place is definitely a trip down memory lane. They offer phosphates, ice cream, candy, pastries, coffee and milkshakes.

After placing our orders for some old fashioned milkshakes with the not-so-friendly nor helpful staff, they were delicious and definitely hit the spot on a very hot August afternoon.

If you are in the neighborhood, I would recommend just checking it out and maybe sitting down for shake or sundae just to say you were there and cool off. Other than that, you can go elsewhere for better.
I would recommend trips to Clinton's for the nostalgia of being in a place that Harry Truman actually

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynderella43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clinton's Soda Fountain also viewed

 

Been to Clinton's Soda Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing