We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because of its proximity to Kaufman Stadium, where the Kansas city Royals play. The hotel was not dislike alot of other Hilton Garden Inns. The room was and in good shape and clean. The only thing that was disappointing was when I wanted to check out no one was at the front desk. The I saw the front desk clerk out smoking a cigarette in the hotel courtyard. Overall the service was less than stellar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamondHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your post concerning your recent stay at our hotel. At Hilton Garden Inn, we aim to ensure every guest feels cared for and valued. We regret this was not your experience. I’m sorry for the unfortunate experience at check out. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback as we take all of our reviews into consideration as we are constantly trying to better ourselves for our guests. We hope that the next time you’re in the area, you’ll stay with us again so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Independence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 635 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have stayed in this Hilton Garden Inn several times before, but it must be under new management. The woman at the desk, Savanah, acted like it was a royal pain to check us in (she had been talking on her cell phone and we evidently interrupted her). She gave us one key when we had asked for two and was rude to us when we pointed that out. She told me we had to pay for our complemetary water (I'm a Hilton Honors member and I have never been told to pay for water before). The heating system in the room had such a loud rattle in it that it kept us awake half the night, and if that wasn't enough, there was a false fire alarm at midnight that got everyone out of bed, and all they said at the front desk was "sorry!" We will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here--that's my advice.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

First of all, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience. We always try to do whatever we can to make sure that our guests feel cared for, valued, and respected, and I apologize that we fell short of our normally high standards. I have passed your comments along to the staff to make sure that your subpar experience is not replicated. Thank you again for your comments as they will help us to better the overall comfort and satisfaction of our guests for the future. We hope that the next time you're in town you'll give us another chance and stay with us again! Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss further at 816-350-3000 or email at marcy.yates@hilton.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My son and I recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Independence in late October 2013. When traveling with my family, I generally prefer HGI's because they are just a great value for traveling families. This particular property is no exception and offered great hospitality from all the staff from the front desk down to the restaurant staff.

The breakfast buffet was great and freshly cooked batches of eggs, sausage, bacon, hash browns, etc were offered up frequently.Our room was decently sized and offered the requisite flat-panel TV and free WiFI.

If you're visiting Kansas City area and want to stay outside of the city in a particularly nice suburb then the HGI Independence should be at the top of your list for consideration.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sojoerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience you and your son had at the Hilton Garden Inn Independence. We truly appreciate the positive comments. We sure hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Went here for a weekend. There were boys and girls there for sports that were running up and down the stairwells screaming and then down the halls. I called the front desk and they finally got them to quit after myself and other adults confronted the children. The beds were uncomfortable and the dust ruffle was dirty and had holes in it. When checking in there was no information given to us about breakfast and when we checked out we were not asked about our stay. The employees at the front desk were not friendly. We live 4 hours away and if this was the only hotel in town we would have driven home instead. Not a good hotel for anyone that wants peace and quiet. We have stayed at other Hilton Garden Inns around the country and this one doesn't even come close to them.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dancestudio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

I’m so sorry you had a bad experience at our hotel with the noise in the hallways, the condition of your guest room, and the service from our staff. The staff works diligently to provide outstanding service and I regret to hear you didn’t experience that. I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. I will be sharing your review with all departments to discuss ways to improve. Please consider staying with us again the next time you are in Independence. We’d love to make your stay with us the best hotel experience ever. If you wish to discuss further please feel free to contact me directly at 816-350-3000 or email at marcy.yates@gmail.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Excellent Hotel--great location--lots of shopping--movies, etc. nearby as well as restaurants. The pool is warm and comfortable (great for kids) and there is a hiking trail connected to the back of the hotel that is perfect for a very long walk or bicycle ride!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Independence. We truly appreciate the feedback and we will share with our staff. If you are in the area again please come stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This HGI is very clean. Staff is great. You cant go wrong here. The elevators can be too slow if there are large groups present. This palce is close enough to the stadiums, yet you really dont have to worry about having your vehicle stolen. Great Hereford House restaurant attached to hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We use your review to improve our guest services and facilities and are looking into the elevator issue. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly share your comments with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This property is on the outer outskirts of Kansas City, MO along I-70. Very easy access from the interstate. Conveniently located across the street from a big box strip shopping center and numerous restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank WmLynnSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We use your review to improve our guest services and facilities. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly share your positive comments with our team. We hope to see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
1.0 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Independence
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Independence

Address: 19677 E Jackson Dr, Independence, MO 64057-1566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: $115 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Independence 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Independence Hotel Independence
Hilton Independence
Independence Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing