We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Olathe, United States
1 review
“Great Anniversary”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Upon arrival the staff asked why we were visiting and when we told them it was out anniversary they sent a bottle of wine to our room and 2 wine glasses. We were disappointed that the only night we decided to relax in the hot tub we found it had broken down shortly before and they were working on it. Also our showerhead seemed to be not working properly. Otherwise great stay!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you for taking the time to share your experience . We use these reviews to improve our guest services and facilities. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly share your positive comments with our team. However, I do apologize that the whirlpool was down and you had an issue with your showerhead. This has been discussed with the relevant associates to ensure this was corrected . I do look forward to welcoming you back personally to the Hilton Garden Inn Independence when you travel plans call for you to be in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    165
    103
    62
    38
See reviews for
171
114
36
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lindstrom, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here 2 nights while attending an event at this hotel. The room was spacious and clean. There are several restaurants and lots of shopping nearby. Front desk and housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We sure appreciate you taking the time to give our hotel positive reviews. We strive to make your experience very memorable and hope that if you are in the area you will find your home away from home here at the Hilton Garden Inn Independence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Spent a weekend for a family function. The breakfast buffet was good and inexpensive compared to other places. Morning coffee is free. Rooms were nice, clean, bed were comfortable. I will stay there again. Good experience. Staff was very accomodating, and always with a smile. You are within 6 miles of Harry S. Truman house, library which you should not miss.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diablu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank for your choosing the Hilton Garden Inn in Independence. We value you as a guest and appreciate the nice comments. We hope that when in the area again you will continue your experience with us. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
172 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here overnight after attending a conference in one of the ballrooms. The hotel was very clean and the check in was smooth. The room was great and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was made to order and very tasty. Shopping areas that are very close to this property make it a nice getaway location that we will take advantage of in the furure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and will certainly share your positive comments with our team. We do look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area. See you next time at the Hilton Garden Inn Independence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great hotel and accomodations. The room was fresh and clean and the staff is very knowledgable. Nice variety of places to eat within walking distance of the hotel. The front desk staff is particulary good and made me feel like I was at home. Housekeeping did a good job as the room was spotless.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andre w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience which we use to review and improve our guest services and facilities. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly share your positive comments with our team. We hope to see you soon at the Hilton Garden Inn Independence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I'm sure it's just a matter of preference but we will never stay at this hotel again! The bed system the Garden Inns use is some kind of number system that goes from soft to firm but for my wife and I it's bad to worse. OMG they are lumpy and just terrible we both did not sleep either of the nights we stayed.Yes we have used this hotel before and didn't like the beds but it's close to where we we going to work and the hotel is very good. But it seems the beds have gotten worse, at least for us. I see other reviews that love them so your choice.
The hotel is very nice. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the furniture is in good shape and the lobby area as most Garden Inns is really nice with the fireplace. While my wife is in meetings and working it's a super relaxing place to sit and read or watch TV. The staff is always friendly and the two Ladies that take care of the breakfast area are just the best!
So bottom line we are finished with Garden Inns if possible and It's just the beds for us. We are Diamond with Hilton but will forgo the points when they are my only choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Hilton Garden Inn Independence. I’m so sorry you experienced some discomfort with the beds during your stay. Our maintenance staff works diligently to keep them in excellent condition and I regret to hear you didn’t experience that. Please consider staying with us again the next time you are in Independence and we can make sure the bed is as you prefer; firm or soft in advance of your arrival. We’d love to make your stay with us the best hotel experience ever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn and it has been my experience that you cant miss at these hotels. The beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. The maids did a great job and the lobby and staff are nice. parking is particularly good as it is at the end of a mall. It was a little noisy due to the fact that there was a cheer-leading competition the next day. I will stay again at the Garden Inn.

Room Tip: Don't go on the weekend of a cheer-leading competition
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigwave11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Independence. We appreciate the kind comments you posted about our hotel. We use these reviews to help improve our guest experience. We will look into how we can better address the noise issues with large groups of kids in the hotel. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
1.0 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#3 of 18 in Independence
232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Independence
0.4 mi away
My Place Hotel - Kansas City / Independence, MO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Independence

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Address: 19677 E Jackson Dr, Independence, MO 64057-1566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Independence 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Independence Hotel Independence
Hilton Independence
Independence Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing