We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Stay for local Regional Meeting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

It's a nice hotel, food is good, close to shopping. When we returned to our room on the second day after 3:00 in the afternoon, our room still had not been cleaned and was finally accomplished close to 4:00. This happened to several people in our group of 125 or so registered for our event. The cleaning person told them she was "OCD" and so it took her longer. We were all ready for showers before our evening event and had no clean towels. We had to be out by 7:00 in the morning so they could get rooms cleaned for people checking in Sunday afternoon. They clearly need a new cleaning crew or more of them. Ah, but the rooms were very clean. We were close to the pool and the smell of chlorine was almost overpowering in our room. We probably wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the HIlton Garden Inn Independence. We apologize for the inconvenience of waiting for your room to be cleaned. Would you please contact the hotel General Manager directly at 816-350-3000 to discuss this situation further.
We appreciate your comments and thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 668 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

Clean and comfortable hotel, friendly staff and nice beds. However, for $149 per night you would think they would upgrade their old tube TVs to flat screens. It would not keep me from staying at the hotel but it would be nice to upgrade the tv.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIIndependenceGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Independence. We truly appreciate your comments! As for the TV's, we will be replacing them in the near future. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

On a recent visit to Kansas City to attend a Royals game we wanted a hotel in proximity to the game. The Hilton Garden Inn is about 6 minutes away on I-70. Easy access to the freeway and plenty of close by amenities make this a good spot. There is a mall close by, lots of well known restaurants of all styles and price range are within 2 minutes of the hotel. The facility was clean, the rooms were not too small and clean and the walls weren't too thin. My only complaint is they charge for breakfast and don't plan on checking in before 4 as there is a darn good bet your room won't be ready. Housekeeping is slow.....But other than that this is a decent location for shopping, restaurants and Royals or Chiefs games.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BorealForestDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIIndependenceGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

The Hilton Garden Inn in Independence would like to Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. We appreciate your kind comments. We apologize for the wait at check-in, this is a process we have worked to improve on. Also to let you know we do offer a Great Getaway bed and breakfast program that inlcudes breakfast. Please give that and us a try next time you are in the Independence area. We know there are many hotels to choose from and we are glad you chose us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Hotel is well kept and very well managed. The Hereford House Restaurant next door has great eats. Also, 2 mile drive to Greg Norman golf course - Stone Canyon is a gem to be discovered - well managed and kept ... did find the greens a bit slow ...

Room Tip: For a quite room, request a room with _30+ to be the farthest from the highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpaul1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIIndependenceGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn in Independence. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your positive comments. Hereford House is a great place to dine! Looking forward to seeing you again in Independence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Passing through the Midwest we opted to stay at this property while visiting the Truman home and museum and other sights which Independence offers

While the property does look out to the South onto I-70, its location on a side road (Jackson Dr) makes it a bit tricky to find upon your first arrival. That said, it does sit between two different exits and also offers good access to Rt 291 into the Independence sights so it is in a good location.

The rooms here were comfortable, well furnished and of decent size. Staff, as others have alluded too, were of average ability. While nothing really stood out to us in regard to being “overly friendly” we did find them professional and nice.

Breakfast, while at additional cost (as is standard for Hilton Garden Inns), was well stocked and had a very good selection. Our cooked to order omelets were some of the best omlets we have had. The seating area was spacious and provided ample room during the time we were there.

Our one disappointment with the hotel is that it does cater to large groups and weddings. There is a large conference center attached to the hotel which makes this property ideal to such group. These groups do appear to take preference over an individual guest.

The night we were there a large wedding was taking place which required us to park in the hinterlands while the wedding guests were welcomed into all the spaces close to the hotel.

For an individual guest paying full rate this was somewhat of a disappointment as the wedding party was simply holding the wedding there and not staying at the hotel - the lot was empty very early the next morning.

We would suspect that a full room rate + incidentals is probably more cost then the plated meals the wedding guests had received. As such it would have been nice to see a separate close in parking area for hotel guests vs. having all the spaces taken up by local residents there simply for a special dinner. Such preferential treatment to non guests was somewhat disappointing.

That said, the hotel did offer a comfortable spot to rest ones head and, given the other options in the area, might be a place we would consider again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for room on Back of Hotel facing Little Blue Trace Trail for a quieter more scenic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelnrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIIndependenceGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Independence. We truly value you as a guest in our hotel. Your experience with parking during the large wedding reception brings up a very valid point. We will look into your suggestion. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This hotel was okay. Not the best we've stayed in, not the worst. The service was sufficient, not what we are normally used to in a Hilton brand hotel.
We were disappointed in the breakfast offerings. We were looking forward to a hot breakfast, as we thought they offered cooked to order omelets, etc. When we got downstairs we were told by the staff that the cooked to order part of the kitchen was closed due to a large number of boys wrestling teams staying. I guess they were afraid of the amount of food that may have been consumed. We might have made a different choice on hotels had we known this.
We were up most of the night the first night due to excessive noise in the hallways & adjoining rooms, which was also disappointing.
Overall, the stay was just okay.
The staff was not overly friendly as in other Hilton brand hotels we've stayed in. That was also a bit unusual & disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0veSanDieg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIIndependenceGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

The Hilton Garden Inn in Independence would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your recent experience you had at our hotel. We pride ourselves in our excellent service and product. Unfortunately during your stay you did not receive what we are capable of providing. We understand your frustration level when traveling and the hotel not exceeding your expectations. We value your comments and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We hope to see you again if in the Indepednence area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Most of the reviews are correct, they do have the older model TV sets, and the day we were there the front desk people were not friendly, but the room was nice and spacious, The bed was comfortable, the AC though a bit noisy when on was controlled with a thermostat, so it wasn't on all the time. We had 1 king size bed, desk and chair plus an arm chair and ottoman, fridge and microwave. I don't know the cost as we were attending a meeting and the room was furnished. Was disappointed that the room didn't come with breakfast like a lot of the hotels do. Overall it was a very nice stay and would consider staying there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIIndependenceGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn in Independence. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us such valuable feedback on the hotel and your recent stay. You have our commitment that we take your information and use it to continue improving both our product and services. We sure hope to see you again if in the Independence area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
521 reviews
5.4 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#3 of 18 in Independence
256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Independence

Address: 19677 E Jackson Dr, Independence, MO 64057-1566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: $115 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Independence 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Independence hotel in Missouri is the perfect hotel for those visiting for business, a special event, Chiefs game, Royals game, or Midwest vacation. Relax in a spacious guest room or suite equipped with an adjustable bed, a flat-screen television, free WiFi, a microwave and refrigerator. Start your day right with our delicious, cooked-to-order breakfast available at the on-site Great American Grill®. Splash around in our heated indoor pool and whirlpool or unwind in our 24-hour fitness center. Enjoy 11,000 square feet of meeting and event space for up to 1400 guests. For dinner, enjoy a Kansas City dinner classic at Hereford House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Independence Hotel Independence
Hilton Independence
Independence Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing