We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel with Great Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Hotel with Great Restaurant”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Hotel is well kept and very well managed. The Hereford House Restaurant next door has great eats. Also, 2 mile drive to Greg Norman golf course - Stone Canyon is a gem to be discovered - well managed and kept ... did find the greens a bit slow ...

Room Tip: For a quite room, request a room with _30+ to be the farthest from the highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIIndependenceGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn in Independence. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your positive comments. Hereford House is a great place to dine! Looking forward to seeing you again in Independence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    160
    100
    59
    34
See reviews for
164
109
36
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Passing through the Midwest we opted to stay at this property while visiting the Truman home and museum and other sights which Independence offers

While the property does look out to the South onto I-70, its location on a side road (Jackson Dr) makes it a bit tricky to find upon your first arrival. That said, it does sit between two different exits and also offers good access to Rt 291 into the Independence sights so it is in a good location.

The rooms here were comfortable, well furnished and of decent size. Staff, as others have alluded too, were of average ability. While nothing really stood out to us in regard to being “overly friendly” we did find them professional and nice.

Breakfast, while at additional cost (as is standard for Hilton Garden Inns), was well stocked and had a very good selection. Our cooked to order omelets were some of the best omlets we have had. The seating area was spacious and provided ample room during the time we were there.

Our one disappointment with the hotel is that it does cater to large groups and weddings. There is a large conference center attached to the hotel which makes this property ideal to such group. These groups do appear to take preference over an individual guest.

The night we were there a large wedding was taking place which required us to park in the hinterlands while the wedding guests were welcomed into all the spaces close to the hotel.

For an individual guest paying full rate this was somewhat of a disappointment as the wedding party was simply holding the wedding there and not staying at the hotel - the lot was empty very early the next morning.

We would suspect that a full room rate + incidentals is probably more cost then the plated meals the wedding guests had received. As such it would have been nice to see a separate close in parking area for hotel guests vs. having all the spaces taken up by local residents there simply for a special dinner. Such preferential treatment to non guests was somewhat disappointing.

That said, the hotel did offer a comfortable spot to rest ones head and, given the other options in the area, might be a place we would consider again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for room on Back of Hotel facing Little Blue Trace Trail for a quieter more scenic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelnrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIIndependenceGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Independence. We truly value you as a guest in our hotel. Your experience with parking during the large wedding reception brings up a very valid point. We will look into your suggestion. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This hotel was okay. Not the best we've stayed in, not the worst. The service was sufficient, not what we are normally used to in a Hilton brand hotel.
We were disappointed in the breakfast offerings. We were looking forward to a hot breakfast, as we thought they offered cooked to order omelets, etc. When we got downstairs we were told by the staff that the cooked to order part of the kitchen was closed due to a large number of boys wrestling teams staying. I guess they were afraid of the amount of food that may have been consumed. We might have made a different choice on hotels had we known this.
We were up most of the night the first night due to excessive noise in the hallways & adjoining rooms, which was also disappointing.
Overall, the stay was just okay.
The staff was not overly friendly as in other Hilton brand hotels we've stayed in. That was also a bit unusual & disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0veSanDieg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIIndependenceGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
The Hilton Garden Inn in Independence would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your recent experience you had at our hotel. We pride ourselves in our excellent service and product. Unfortunately during your stay you did not receive what we are capable of providing. We understand your frustration level when traveling and the hotel not exceeding your expectations. We value your comments and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We hope to see you again if in the Indepednence area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Most of the reviews are correct, they do have the older model TV sets, and the day we were there the front desk people were not friendly, but the room was nice and spacious, The bed was comfortable, the AC though a bit noisy when on was controlled with a thermostat, so it wasn't on all the time. We had 1 king size bed, desk and chair plus an arm chair and ottoman, fridge and microwave. I don't know the cost as we were attending a meeting and the room was furnished. Was disappointed that the room didn't come with breakfast like a lot of the hotels do. Overall it was a very nice stay and would consider staying there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIIndependenceGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn in Independence. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us such valuable feedback on the hotel and your recent stay. You have our commitment that we take your information and use it to continue improving both our product and services. We sure hope to see you again if in the Independence area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
237 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Great location clean attractive rooms. Close to everything. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwotimesMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Rooms have 1990 style TV. 24 inch--poor reception. Needs update ASAP

Room Tip: Avoid H'way side--noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennisf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
272 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip and the room was comfy and clean. I wasn't thrilled with the bed as there is a big gap between the matress and the head board. My neck kept falling in the gap. I stuffed an extra pillow in there and made do. If you have neck issues like I do keep that in mind. Otherwise the room was clean and comforatble. The TV in the room is a relic. One of the few places I travel these days that doesn't have a HD TV in the room. The staff is very freindly and helpful, The breakfast is very good with a nice selection and made to order eggs and omeltes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppijacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
1.0 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Independence
5.4 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#2 of 18 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Independence

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Address: 19677 E Jackson Dr, Independence, MO 64057-1566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Independence 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Independence Hotel Independence
Hilton Independence
Independence Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing