We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recently updated - nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Roof Inn KC Sports Complex - Independence
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Recently updated - nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Rooms were inexpensively priced and the motel appeared to be recently updated. We stayed twice within two weeks - once on our trip out and once on our trip back. Nothing negative to report--everything worked and the front desk staff were very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    9
    18
    25
See reviews for
29
25
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton, KS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

My wife and I needed somewhere to stay on short notice for a Royals game, so we booked the last nonsmoking room at this motel the morning before our stay.
The motel looks fine from the outside, no big deal, and the check in went smoothly, but the room was unacceptable. There were splotches of color where some sort of paper had apparently been stuck and then pulled off, leaving some behind. The heat light in the bathroom was broken. The walls were bare, but you could tell from some of the torn wallpaper that there had been art that was stolen and not replaced.
But the real problem was the bed. It was worn so severely that it sagged several inches in the middle without any weight on it. With my wife and I on it sagged much further, and we were both sucked so far into the middle of the bed when trying to sleep that one couldn't move without disturbing the other -- not that either of us were sleeping, because we were too uncomfortable.
We didn't have any problems with noise, and the price for this Motel 6 were by far the lowest for any chain hotel in the KC area we could find. But if we can avoid booking a room at this hotel again we will.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side so you can watch your car and park on the well-lit side of the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molotschna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motel6eastindependen, Webmaster at Red Roof Inn KC Sports Complex - Independence, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Motel 6 Independence for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Management and maintenance were informed of the problem you experienced with the bed and maintenance was instructed to see to any needed repair or replacement.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Motel 6 Independence. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Overall, I had a very comfortable stay here at the Motel 6. For the affordable price and location, this motel definitely deserves some recognition. I just wanted to say thanks for making my stay pleasant and comfortable. It's hard to find good hotel customer service at an affordable price now in days.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucinaReen96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
independence
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Very clean and friendly staff. .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Missouri
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Booked this after waiting too long to book for a pre evening Chiefs game. Room was simple, adequate and clean. That is what I was expecting. Bed was comfortable, TV was good, refirgerator in room. Hotel was a bit noisy, but can be expected from a bunch of football fans around. Very close to I70, easy to get anywhere. Overall, I would give it a B-, and would consider again for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachinfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motel6eastindependen, Webmaster at Red Roof Inn KC Sports Complex - Independence, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Motel 6 Independence for your recent stay in our area. I hope you had a wonderful time at the pre evening Chiefs game.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Motel 6 Independence. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

The Toilet over flowed with nothing in the toilet, the air conditioner stopped working when the temperature reached 100+ degrees. Then of course the dude at the front desk didnt care. So we asked for another room, he claim the motel was booked solid, then we couldnt get our money back. So save yourself some time and go across to the Americ Inn right across the street, way better, and worth way more than the 39.99 they have posted, Never ever again Motel 6. Im done.

Room Tip: Go across to the Americ Inn, way better Price Room and Service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orlandobates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

This hotel clearly started its life as a higher-priced inn, and has the furnishings, finishes, and room sizes to go with that. It's fallen on harder times -- could use a fresh coat of paint -- but gave us one of the best night's sleep we've had in our several-week's road trip. Room was large, and included fridge and table for two. Beds were very comfortable. Check-in was friendly and accommodating. Easy access to the highway, near the Truman Library. A few steps from a decent barbecue joint, Bandana's. Among the nicest Motel6s we've stayed in on our many cross-country trips.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muckinabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Truman Inn
BEST WESTERN Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Independence
Days Inn Independence
#14 of 18 in Independence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Independence Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Kansas City I-70 East
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Independence-Kansas City
2.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn KC Sports Complex - Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn KC Sports Complex - Independence

Property: Red Roof Inn KC Sports Complex - Independence
Address: 4142 South Noland Road, I-70 at South Noland Road, Exit 12, Independence, MO 64055 (Formerly Super 6 Kansas City East in Independence Missouri)
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn KC Sports Complex - Independence 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn KC Sports Complex - Independence is newly renovated. All rooms include Free WiFi and Flat Screen TVs with Remotes, HBO, SHOWTIMES & 50+ Channels. Hotel has Outdoor Pool. The KC Chief arrowhead stadium and KC Royal's Kauffman's Baseball Stadiums BallPark Stadiums are 1.5 miles west to hotel and Independence Event Center, as well as the Independence Center Mall, are both located 1.5 miles east to the Hotel. Hotel is at Gateway exit to Historic Indep.MO President Truman downtown which is 1.5 miles north to the Hotel. KC Downtown & Sprint Center as well Worlds of Fun amusement park & Oceans of Fun water park are just 10 miles from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Red Roof Inn and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn KC Sports Complex - Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing