We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Educational

We visited this museum today and were very impressed. It was well laid out and extremely... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
ssutt45
,
Dublin, Ohio
via mobile
Well Worth a Visit

This is a very well curated collection of WWII history and memorabilia. What we thought we knew... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
agatha56
,
Ellicott City, Maryland
Read all 1,345 reviews
  
Reviews (1,345)
Filter reviews
1,339 results
Traveler rating
1,116
197
21
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,116
197
21
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews presidential libraries his life cold war korean war replica of the oval office eternal flame grave site early life great man atomic bomb berlin airlift world war ii minute film marshall plan kansas city area history buff interactive exhibits
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,339 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We visited this museum today and were very impressed. It was well laid out and extremely interesting. Allow at least 2 hours to appreciate all it has to offer.

Thank ssutt45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

This is a very well curated collection of WWII history and memorabilia. What we thought we knew about President Truman was truly only the tip of the iceberg, from his start in life through his presidency. The world was a very treacherous place during the Truman years and it took someone with his wisdom and his courage and his forthrightness to navigate those years. For any student of WWII history or presidential, this museum is a treasure trove. We walked away from the library agreeing that we did not see eye to eye on a lot of his political positions but also agreeing that he was a moral man of honor.

(And it didn't hurt that when you enter the library you are facing a mural, roughly 19x32', by Thomas Hart Benton. He's a favorite and the mural is spectacular.)

Thank agatha56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Learned so much from the introductory film self-guided tour of the museum. Displays and artifacts captured the life of Truman, from his early years to his life after the presidency. We viewed the museum from start to finish and the display of the oval office in just over 3 hours. Staff was helpful and gift shop very nice.

Thank notcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Truman library is very informative and interesting. It is a self guided tour so take as much time as you need to learn all about Harry S. Truman, his Presidency and family. We particularly enjoyed the war years when Harry served in the military. The samples of his letter to Bess Truman were so enjoyable and interesting to read. There is a nice gift shop and don't forget to walk outside into the courtyard to view the burial site of Bess, Harry, their daughter Margaret and her husband. A must visit if in Missouri!

Thank 9Buffalolady20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We knew a little about President Truman before our visit, but learned so much more. I didn't realize he had only been Vice President a few months when Roosevelt died. Then another short turn around before he had to decide about The Bomb. Wow, tough opening act. And that there's still so much controversy surrounding the bomb. I enjoyed his before and after the White House story more, but I like backstory. We arrived one day less than an hour before closing, and we're able to come back the next day with the same tickets. Well worth it.

Thank J-9inIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent nearly one whole day going through all the exhibits. The displays where informative and inviting. We like history. And this was on our list to do and we were not disappointed.

Thank Curious25672975135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing museum with lots of documents and items from the life and presidency of Harry Truman, including the famous "The Buck Stops Here" sign that was on his desk in the Oval Office.

Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you're a Truman and or presidential history buff, plan on spending at least 2.5 hours at the Library and Museum. The facility does a fine job of telling the Truman story. Some films allow guests to choose how they would have confronted major decisions that confronted President Truman. Weather permitting, visitors should also see the Truman grave site and the office that Mr. Truman used at the museum/library. The museum is packed with items from throughout Mr. Truman's life. Unfortunately, the 45 minute orientation film is grainy with production values that are somewhat dated. Other areas of the museum are also showing wear and tear but this should not diminish the desire to visit this fine monument to one of our great presidents.

Thank 1101Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Harry S Truman, 33rd President (1945 -53), 1884 - 1972, Presidents Library and Museum, is located at 500 West US Highway 24, Independence, MO 64050, 816-268-8200, very minimal $8 entry fee. It’s the first Presidential Library built under the 1955 Library Act, and it’s managed by the National Archives & Records Administration (NARA). There is one word that fully describes this well done Presidential Library - Informative. It’s almost to the point of “information overload.” Truman accomplished so much such as implementing the Marshall Plan with the help of his friend Herbert Hoover, Truman Doctrine, NATO, Desegregated the US Military, supported the establishment of Israel, used nuclear weapons to end WWII, with the UN intervened in Korea to stop Communist expansion in the Far East, all supported by endless photographs, artifacts, extensive film clips, memorabilia, and on-and-on. The venue is both welcoming to the casual visitor and the history enthusiast. The museum originally cost $1.7 Million Dollars; it was upgraded in 2001 for $23 Million Dollars. President Truman and various family members are interred at the site. There is plenty of free parking, restrooms and a well stocked gift shop. This is one of the better Presidential Libraries we have seen. Plan a minimum of 4 hours. Enjoy.

Thank 977samd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Harry S. Truman Library and Museum is a fantastic slice of history. It highlight Truman's place in history. The library is located in a area that has seen some social decay surrounded by run down neighbourhoods, with the museum really standing out as a result.

Thank Barnycanbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews