We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel, very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Truman Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Nice motel right on the Interstate. We were put on the side away from the interstate and never heard any traffic noise at all. Staff was very nice and the room was very comfortable and clean. We stayed two nights (Sat & Sun) and slept well both nights. Convenient to Kauffman Stadium (Royals) and Arrowhead (Chiefs). Straight shot to both stadiums about 3 - 4 miles away.

Room Tip: Would probably want a room facing away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g3times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveParmar, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Truman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hello g3times,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Best Western Truman.

We are glad that we have sufficed you services and accommodation preference. Your reviews is an added motivation for our team to maintain and keep on working for improvement/s that we can offer to our valued guests for giving us your business.

we hope to have another opportunity of providing your next accommodation needs in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 525 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here cause it was close to Kaufman Stadium, very friendly and helpful staff, will stay here again on my returns to Kansas City. Perfect location for my trip close to the resturant for breakfastand not too far from the family

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisCurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveParmar, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Truman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Mr. Chris Curtis,

We are glad that you find our hotel convenient for your travel purpose and thank you for appreciating our staffs’ assistance during your stay. Thank you for taking time to share your experience in our hotel. Your satisfaction completes our goal.

we look forward to your next visit in Best Western Truman again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Comfortable hotel, nice amenities. Friendly, professional staff. Breakfast at the hotel had good food and a nice assortment. Nice that the hotel is so close to the Truman Library. Receptionist was right on with her dinner recommendations. Thanks for a nice introduction to Independence, MO.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveParmar, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Truman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hello Miss Diane R.,

We sincerely appreciate your very generous reviews for our services and accommodation provided for you during your stay in Best Western Truman. Your comments inspire our Team and we assure you that we will maintain the quality of service that we provide for all our guests.

Thank you for giving us your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very satisfied with our stay. Rooms are very clean, due to what looks like outstanding teamwork on behalf of housekeeping staff. Bathroom is very small, so big folks beware! They are pet-friendly as well. Great job, Best Western Truman Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendyneiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveParmar, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Truman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hello Miss Wendy,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Best Western Truman.

I apologize if our bathroom size has discomforts you. We will make certain to provide you a room with bigger bathroom on your next visit in our hotel. We are glad that we have provided you comfortable accommodation and our place convenient for your travel purpose. Your positive review indeed inspires our team to be more attentive and keen to provide our guests with the best, deserved, quality accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

check in was great. room was another story. upon entry noticed a smell in room from carpet . complained to front desk and they switched us to another room which also had a odor but not as bad . bed was good . 1st room had micro fridge. second room didnt.management was great thru it all took care to make sure we were satisfied.

Room Tip: always try to get room on back side away from hiway. much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveParmar, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Truman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Mr. Ron C.,

My sincerest apologies for the inconvenience on our carpet issue, we assure you we will implement corrective measures to address these concerns accordingly. Thank you for appreciating the effort of our staff in making certain that you will be comfortable in your room.

We hope to have another chance to provide your next accommodation needs in Best Western Truman soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel was very clean. Front desk staff very nice. Would stay there again, just not park in the front parking lot. It is so small and you can get stuck there till other people finish checking in. Park in the back and walk up to the front of the hotel to check in. Otherwise you may be waiting a while.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveParmar, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Truman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Miss Christine,

Thank you for your positive reviews on the cleanliness of our hotel and our staff’s responsiveness, it is an added motivation for our team to be able to be on top of our priority at work at all times. I appreciate your posting parking tips for other guests as well, grateful. I will evaluate that matter and implement corrective measures.

I sincerely hope we could have another opportunity of providing your next accommodation needs soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Though we usually stay in more upscale lodging, the Truman Inn was at the right location for us for a night's stay near a relative, and I'm glad we chose it. Our first impression was positive, as the exterior and lobby are very inviting, and the front desk manager was friendly and courteous.
The motel surely had been recently remodeled; with fresh paint and new bathroom fixtures and furniture, the room was quite pleasant. Sparkling white towels for the bath and clean smelling sheets on the comfortable bed were great.
Another reviewer commented on a loud air conditioner. Ours was so quiet we hardly noticed when it came on. A different reviewer commented on an odor they believed to be covering up the smell of smoke. There was a fairly strong, though pleasant, odor when we first arrived, but I didn't notice it later, even after leaving and returning. I never got the slightest hint of a cigarette smell. My suggestion would always be to ask for another room if you sense a problem; usually these things can be resolved. The real problem occurs when they are not taken care of.
I have nothing negative to say about this property. We definitely would choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank cliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveParmar, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Truman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hello cliving,

Thank you very much for the very inspiring, generous review for Best Western Truman.
Your comments indeed inspire us to be more productive in performing our responsibilities and be able to provide the best value service for all our guests. Indeed, things can be resolved with proper communications. Your reviews guide us to address our guests requirements and preferences accordingly.

I am sincerely grateful for appreciating our effort to implement a better, more inviting environment in our property.

We look forward to your next visit in our hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Independence hotels
3.2 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#3 of 18 in Independence
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Independence Kansas City
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence
2.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Kansas City I-70 East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Truman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Truman Inn

Address: 4048 South Lynn Court, Independence, MO 64055
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: $79 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Truman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Truman Inn where the service is impeccable, the amenities top-notch and the accommodations are comfortable and affordable. This Missouri Best Western hotel offers guests convenient access to many area businesses, attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Independence. Guests staying at this Independence hotel will be treated to spacious guest rooms featuring cable satellite television, microwave, refrigerator and free high-speed Internet access. A complimentary continental breakfast is served every morning in the hotel's breakfast area. The Best Western Truman Inn is also equipped with an outdoor swimming pool for relaxing. The hospitable staff at the Best Western Truman Inn is ready to ensure a comfortable stay. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Truman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Truman Hotel Independence
Best Western Independence
Independence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing