We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to rest for the night.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Truman Inn
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I arrived at 9:30pm and was back on the road by 4:00 am so my time was limited here. It was very convenient to I-70 and the clerk was friendly and effecient. I made my reservation about 2 hours out on the smartphone and everything was ready to go when I arrived. The room was clean and the bed was a bit softer than I like but I was tired and slept soundly for my 6 hour stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hogride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 515 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

The tub and toilet drained very slowly. The toilet just swirled around uselessly and required flushing four or five times to do the trick. You have to turn the shower off and let it drain a few times before you finish showering, or else you're standing in ankle-deep dirty water with Lord knows what in it. Bring your own Drano. They over-authorized on credit/debit card over and above the $50 room deposit, even though the room was supposed to be free with Best Western Rewards points, and it took several days to get the hold released, so if you're on a tight budget, only pay with cash. The two armchairs were dirty and grimy with stuffing coming out of the armrests. You feel like you have to drape towels over the chairs before you sit on them.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeepakParmar, Manager at Best Western Truman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

I wanted to apologize for all the problems that you encountered with your stay with us. We take all feedbacks to heart and strive to improve our guest’s experience. Please provide me your phone number so I can call you and offer some kind of a resolution. We want every guest to have a delightful experience when they stay with us.
Once again we apologize for any inconvenience and looking for forward to speaking with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The motel is close to the interstate, and close to the Truman Home and Truman Library. It was quiet, comfortable and clean. Staff was helpful in showing us how to find the places were were looking for and also where to find a restaurant for dinner. Would go back there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Blacknite98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed 2 nights. First room key did not work, even after getting a second set. Gave us another room.. Got back to room at 5:30 the first day, key did not work. Desk said they only thought we were staying one night, even though the info in their system showed we were there for 2 nights. No maid service the first day. Went to desk again and was told we had a do not disturb sign on our door so no maid service.. We did get a late start that day leaving at 11:00 am, but we removed the do not disturb sign at that time. Desk made a number of excuses and we went down to the desk to get clean towels. I asked to speak to the manager the next day and left my cell phone number. At checkout the following day I again asked about why we did not have maid service and was told we had a do not disturb sign on the door. The person at the desk made all kinds of excuses when I told her the sign was removed when we left, she said we should have told them that we were leaving and it was basically our problem. Not a pleasant stay at all. Desk had more excuses than I have ever heard before. Have stayed at a number of BW, this was the worst. Still waiting to hear from the manager, that was 5 days ago

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is a very old motel with rooms opening outdoors, where you can drive up to your room (if on ground floor). It appears they added on to the original part. Very small rooms, tiny bathroom with sink outside. Very low sink counter & shower head.

The room was clean but when we arrived in our room, we found someone's smoothie on the floor next to the sofa - the housekeepers? The bolt locks worked but the safety door latch didn't fully close....and we could see light through the bottom of the door in the morning (glad we were upstairs).

The exterior corridors around the motel were gross. Everywhere we walked were cigarette butts and trash, both when we checked in and when we left. Maybe they're short on help? We noticed the (very nice) front desk manager doing double duty as breakfast hostess, including mopping the floor.

Maybe they can't change their age, so they should definitely clean it up. But the area's okay, its right off the highway, and we got a good deal through a BW promo. So its an okay place to stay if the rate is right, but you can likely find much better in independence or surrounding area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rocker_rep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This hotel was in a decent area, which felt safe to me. Overall, I had no complaints. The beds were comfy, the room was clean and the bathroom was clean and functional. The room I was in had a sofa, which was nice so I didn't have to sit on the bed. The man at the front desk was very friendly, and the housekeeper I spoke to was very helpful as well. Parking was plentiful and right outside your door. Overall, I was very impressed and have nothing bad to say about this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USRoadTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Was in town to visit family for one night and the price was wonderful. We couldn't pass it up. Location was perfect, make sure to stay on the north side so you won't be facing the interstate. Room was clean. The only problem we had was trying to find somewhere to eat. We traveled north and the farther north we traveled the more suspect it became. Try delivery or eat in Blue Springs!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank iowa_state_fan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Independence hotels
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Kansas City I-70 East
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Independence Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#3 of 18 in Independence
255 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#6 of 18 in Independence
663 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Truman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Truman Inn

Address: 4048 South Lynn Court, Independence, MO 64055
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: $69 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Truman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Truman Inn where the service is impeccable, the amenities top-notch and the accommodations are comfortable and affordable. This Missouri Best Western hotel offers guests convenient access to many area businesses, attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Independence. Guests staying at this Independence hotel will be treated to spacious guest rooms featuring cable satellite television, microwave, refrigerator and free high-speed Internet access. A complimentary continental breakfast is served every morning in the hotel's breakfast area. The Best Western Truman Inn is also equipped with an outdoor swimming pool for relaxing. The hospitable staff at the Best Western Truman Inn is ready to ensure a comfortable stay. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Truman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Truman Hotel Independence
Best Western Independence
Independence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing