We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one stop weekend get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ophelia's Restaurant and Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Independence B&B and Inns
Holton, Kansas
Level Contributor
186 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“one stop weekend get away”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at the Inn and had supper in the restaurant. We were the only people staying and our room was very nice complete with snacks and beverages and a great view of old downtown. The manager apoligized to us for not 'warning' us that they had live music downstairs that might keep us up. We had supper which was 5 star and then we listened to the live music until they shut it down around 11:30. Slept great. It was such a great place to spend the evening and walk up stairs to our well appointed room. The food and service were well beyond what I expected even for fine dining.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    9
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
17
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed at Ophelia's while attending a trial in the local courthouse. They were extremely accomodating and friendly. The room was comfortable and clean. The decor was modern without being harsh.
I ate most of my meals at the restaurant to save time and each time was delighted by the chef's creativity.

Room Tip: If you need a desk for working, be sure to request in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

My husband booked a reservation for dinner at Ophelia's and a night in the suite upstairs as a surprise night out for our 16th wedding anniversary.
The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was upscale with live jazz playing in the background. All of the staff were very attentive to our needs, especially the manager who personally showed us up to our room after dinner. The suite is very tastefully decorated and I was really impressed with the high quality bedding, linens and drapes. The jetted tub was a nice addition and yes it is a bit small as another reviewer noted, but it was still big enough for two, and the atmosphere was romantic if you turned out the lights with a couple of tea light candles burning. ;-)
I was a little disappointed to find that there wasn't a beverage vending machine with the ice machine. It left me with the option of leaving in the middle of the night to find a gas station for a cold drink or tap water.
When we checked out the next morning the brunch buffet was included with our stay and it was absolutely wonderful. So many choices of yumminess that it left you kind of overwhelmed!
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a romantic night out that is unique.

Room Tip: The suite was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Ophelia's had every room available to us for a Saturday night stay in June, and we were the only guests there!

We stayed in the suite. Be aware that the "spa bathtub" they advertise is quite small (really only comfortable for one person) and right next to the toilet so there is no atmosphere.

However, the rest of the suite was spacious and had really nice furniture. Two TV's with a HUGE selection of channels. There were, like, six different HBO channels!

They are serious about their 11:00 a.m. check-out time. We got a phone call at 10:45 asking us if the tub was over-flowing. I said no, we were just taking a shower. She asked us to stop as it was leaking down on the kitchen below our room. Yikes!

And at 11:00-on-the-dot, the housekeeper knocked on our door, but was very gracious about giving us 5 more minutes to get ready. I thought this urgency a bit odd because, like I said, we were the only guests in the B&B and no one else was checking into our room that day. Oh well.

The location is great, and there is plenty to see and do within a short walk from the B&B.

We didn't order room service (it was REALLY expensive and nothing on the menu really appealed to me). I was glad we went out to dinner at the Italian restaurant on the Square instead. It was delish!

When you stay on Saturday night, you both get to eat at their Brunch Buffet, which begins at 11 a.m. I didn't eat much, just a couple breakfast items, but there was quite the spread! Prime rib, BBQ ribs, all the usual breakfast stuff including biscuits and gravy and (soggy) French toast, tons of desserts, etc. I would never have paid the exorbitant price for the brunch at Ophelia's, but since it was included with our overnight stay, it was great! Definitely one of the BEST parts of our stay there.

All in all, I enjoyed our stay, but we felt we had to hurry up and leave Sunday morning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claired13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We wanted to stay near relatives and Ophelia's was well located. We were the only guests for our three nights, and the historic square is pretty consistently quiet. It could have been creepy to be staying alone in an unattended inn, but it was not at all so, and in fact seemed very well figured out and accommodating. We parked free right by the entry door. We were served elegant hot breakfasts with various choices in the restaurant at the (early) hours we specified, and there were two formally attired staff members ready to serve us each morning at 7:30 even though the restaurant does not open til 11. (This was a pleasant surprise, since the info we had seen on-line indicated a basket of rolls would be delivered or we could have breakfast across the street.) We enjoyed the pleasant room with comfortable seating, nice flat screen tv, clean bathroom with nice amenities, and wi-fi. The only reason I rated less than perfect on "sleep quality" was that the mattress was a little "dippy" and not up to the standards of the high quality linens, pillows, and comforter used. I marked "trendy" more because of the restaurant than the room, which was tasteful but more traditional than "trendy." Check in and check out were pretty casual and friendly, which makes sense due to the low volume. (Basically, we arrived at the restaurant and were asked to wait briefly in the bar while the manager was called to take us up to the room.) We interacted briefly with staff members each day and were very well served. We expect to visit Independence occasionally in the future and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda37594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2009

I stayed here 1 night just to have some girl time . I could not believe in all years I've lived here that this hidden gem sat atop Ophelia's restaurant....it just added to the charm of downtown Independence. The room was decorated very tastefully, flat screen tv, very nice large bathroom. I loved the in-room furniture! the next morning as part of our stay, we got to enjoy a very large breakfast in the restaurant which was delicious! We did not eat at Ophelia's for our evening meal, but went to nearby Verona Italian restaurant, which is a favorite of mine. I have eaten at Opehlia's before and have ALWAYS had a top notch dinner and experience. I absolutely, totally, positively recommend this gorgeous place!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ackc1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2009

The restaurant is exquisite, absolutely the best meal and service I've ever experienced!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsGriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
0.5 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#2 of 18 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
4.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
5.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
3.2 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
5.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ophelia's Restaurant and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ophelia's Restaurant and Inn

Property: Ophelia's Restaurant and Inn
Address: 201 N Main St, Independence Square, Independence, MO 64050-2804
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly decorated rooms are conveniently located above our fine dining restaurant - Ophelia's. We invite you to come in for lunch or dinner and while you're here ask to see our rooms or book online now.The Square is alive with 175 years of history including Truman sites, shopping, playing and eating. You can spend hours discovering why President Truman & Bess loved their home town. And in particular, the Square. Forever the Heart Beat of Independence. Our Rooms: The Inn sits above Ophelia's Restaurant. All rooms sleep two guests. Your stay includes a freshly prepared breakfast of your choosing in our restaurant. AMENITIES: private bathrooms, HDTV flat screens, cable, down comforters, robes, hair dryers, refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, iron, ironing board, alarm clocks with Mp3 charger, free parking and elevator access. All of Ophelia's Restaurant & Inn has WiFi access. THE SUITE: includes all of the above amenities plus a Jacuzzi bathtub and a separate living room.Room service is available from 11:00am to 9:00pm from the restaurants full menu (excluding Sunday). We can also arrange Spa services for you with Salon 208, Pilates and Yoga at the Studio on Main, advance movie tickets from Pharaoh Theater, reserve a lane at Diamond Bowl and make reservation with any of the Square Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ophelia's Restaurant and Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing