We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, but not quite up to Aman standards”
Review of Amankila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amankila
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Amankila for 3 nights in May 2009. We've stayed at or visited 6-7 Aman properties, and it is by far the most amazing luxury hotel chain we know, not to be compared with the Four Seasons, Banyan Trees, or St. Regises of this world.

That said, this property did not live up to our other Aman experiences.

First, the pluses. The location is beautiful and relatively secluded, the three-tiered pools are dramatic, the green lap pool is equally wonderful, and the bales by the pool are elegant and fun to hang out in. The beach isn't the best, but not poor as some others claim. It has the benefit of complete seclusion, as do the well-appointed bales on the beach. Napping inside one of the bales with a gentle breeze wafting by the beach was one of my favorite Bali experiences. The service, as one would expect, is attentive and the staff eager to help.

Now, the negatives. The biggest disappointment for us were the rooms. We found them tired-looking and plain, not in the Aman minimalistic, zen kind of way, just plain and ordinary. Usually, I find the Aman aesthetic very appealing, and found the rooms at Amanbagh, Aman New Delhi, and Amanjiwo outstanding, breathtaking even. Here they were just... plain. The local staff manning the reception area tried to help us out with our touristy plans as best they could, but we were unable to communicate effectively because of their broken English. We found this to be a problem throughout Bali, but we expected more from Aman. There is no dedicated spa area to speak of; the spa is converted from a room. This seems to be true of far too many Amans.

Tips: Pick a room close to the pool area or else you'll have a LOT of stairs to climb and descend to get anywhere. Even if you're looking for total seclusion, you'll be able to find suitable rooms close to the pool area. We loved the snorkeling-sightseeing tour on the Aman boat.

BEST tip: If you're going to Bali, try to take out a few days to stay at Amanjiwo. Amanjiwo is by far the best Aman property in Indonesia, some would say the world, and it utterly magical. The Borobudur temple is really something worth seeing too.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank RishJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 443 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2009

What a place!

Unfortunately we were only staying one night at the Amankila before moving on, however, we were lucky enough to secure the Amankila Suite - last guests the Beckhams.

Private pool, private butler, amazing service and great view. We spent a beautiful night in the restaurant and I shared a couple of cocktails with the GM, she was amazing!

Upon returning to the suite we were met with candles leading the way and continuing around our pool! It was such a nice evening we decided to sleep on our day bed by candle lite.

Our butler organised a terrific breakfast for us by the pool, but what a shame we had to leave! And heres a nice touch, one of the staff had noticed that I was listening to Frank Sinatra on the ipod before we left. When we were transferred back to Ubud they set the same song in the car from the same point I'd stopped listening - attention to detail what?

Miss this resort at your peril!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daniel26smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

It was our honeymoon and this special place made our final days in Bali truly memorable. The service was wonderful, every detail was attended to in the background. The staff knew our names from the moment we entered the property and they were friendly, accommodating and extremely helpful. The ocean view from our room was amazing. The beach was beautiful and swimmable. We only stayed 3 days and wish we had the opportunity to spend another week there!
This is a truly special place and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caseytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We are allways a bit scared of returning to a place we really enjoyed, but our stay was even better than 10 years ago, especially with Tracy Atherton as General Manager : She was there at check in, at check out, and was crossing our path daily ,with charm and efficiency ,to ensure everything was ok, during our trip we also stayed at Bulgari and Como shambala, and we don't know how their general manager look like.
We stayed in Ocean view villa 37, which is the last villa on the cliff ,with amazing sea views , food was excellent (just avoid the pizza) , we took the Amankila boat tour with snorkeling and enjoyed every minute of it, as well as long walks on the beach and swimming in the ocean and the 45 meter pool.(no ocean swimming at Bulgari) . We will definitely return to Amankila, our favorite resort on this planet, and Tracy Atherton is the best GM we ever had.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Domperignon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

So far I have been an extensive free rider of tripadvisor reviews - before I book any hotel, I read the reviews on tripadvisor. But our truly perfect honeymoon at the Aman resorts in Bali convinced me to become a contributor to tripadvisor. We spent three nights at Amandari and three nights at Amankila, booked the pool suites and the package that includes a daily activity.

The Aman resorts really provide and deliver what they promise - luxury but low-key boutique atmosphere, authentic experience and top notch, very personal service.

At Amandari you not only have a lot of privacy and a beautiful setting, but the entire resort is built to reflect the Balinese culture and village experience, e.g. every morning a staff member places offerings at the respective sites of the resort - as you would see in the villages around the resort. Also, the personal guide took us to a wonderful temple ceremony in one of the surrounding villages - and while Ubud was crowded by tourists, this temple ceremony had about 4-5 tourists among the 200 participants from the village. On the next morning, he took us on a wonderful walk through the fresh green rice fields and facilitated discussions for us with local farmers and watermelon growers. A truly memorable experience.

At Amankila we got a very warm welcome from Tracy, the hotel manager, who gives the resort a very personal and at the same time very elegant touch. We were upgraded to the Indrakila suite, which was simply breathtaking - the beauty of the view from the private terrace, the level of privacy, the simple elegance of the suite and the generous private pool were amazing! Similar to Amandari, Amankila managed to provide luxury combined with a very authentic experience. We were particularly impressed by the employees - most of them have worked at the Aman resorts for more than 10-15 years and they are from the surrounding villages. They are more than happy to share insights from their daily lives, e.g. how they cook similar dishes at home and which ingredients are used for what. Overall, a perfect, luxury experience with a very personal touch.

If we could improve anything, we probably would ask for an even more local cuisine - the menu offers both, international and local dishes, but the local dishes could have been even more authentic.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elisabethnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We had the second part of honeymoon here in Feb '09 and it was just magical. The pool villa was perfect - you couldn't see another soul from it and the room was just beautiful. The views were great, food was amazing (top marks to the excellent head chef) and the trips they organised for us (sunrise boat trip, white water rafting, and dinner in a Bale in the hills overlooking the island) were all top-notch and form beatiful memories now. I mustn't forget to mention the massages too - excellent, whether you have them by your own pool or in the spa.
And the service, well this has been said before, but I'm going to say it again. The hotel staff were the best I've ever stayed with. they were discrete, polite and always anticipated your needs. From the moment they picked us up (before we had cleared customs), to be wisked away with cool drinks and towels, to the daily flowers and gifts on the bed pillows, to the amazing restaurant and room service, to the drop off at the airport, everything was just immaculate. Everone from the manager to the cleaners manages that difficult trick of being politely deferential, yet always friendly and approachable with afamily feel.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough! My (new) wife decided she couldn't imagine staying in any other hotel after this one - that she's been thoroughly spoiled. Well it might be expensive but it's definitely worth every penny!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OpulentChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We stayed in Amankila for the first three nights of our honeymoon and we really experienced this as paradise on earth. We have seen some nice places but this is absolutely the best! The service was absolutely unbeatable. It already started when we arrived. We had booked a pool suite and were upgraded to the pool suite with one of the best views of all the villas (it was the Kilasari suite) which really was amazing. If we did not stay in our villa and enjoyed it there we went to the beach which was amazing again. Everywere you went staff was awaiting you to serve you and on the private beach there are little Bali huts to relax in. Furthermore, the food is also amazing and fantastic.

In summary, our stay in Amankila was worth every penny. The only downside is that during the rest of our stay in Bali we kept comparing the hotels to Amankila but no hotel could win this comparison. We have already decided that we definitely have to come back here some day to enjoy this paradise once more!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reinier75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manggis
17.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
1,103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
860 reviews
17 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alila Manggis
Alila Manggis
#1 of 8 in Manggis
1,240 reviews
19.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
19.4 mi away
Amandari
Amandari
#5 of 6 in Kedewatan
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amankila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amankila

Address: Manggis | PO Box 33, Manggis 80871, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Manggis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Price Range: $629 - $1,179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amankila 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Agung provides a dramatic backdrop for Amankila (peaceful hill), a secluded seaside resort overlooking the Lombok Strait. Spacious stilted villas offer exceptional views from their hillside locations amongst frangipani and bougainvillea, and are connected to the resort's facilities by raised walkways. Guests can relax around the signature three-tiered pool or at the Beach Club on Amankila's beach. Amankila also offers easy access to untouched rural countryside, local crafts and the region's royal past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amankila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amankila Hotel Manggis
Amankila Hotel Karangasem
Amankila Manggis, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing